Check for existing U number for vendor
1. Login into Banner INB
2. Drill down through folders: Banner>Financial>Accounts Payable>Accounts Payable Table Maintenance>Vendor Maintenance [*FTMVEND]
3. This is the resulting screen. Click the drop down arrow on the vendor box
4.
|
Execute Query |
This is the resulting screen. Enter a search string for the vendor name in the “Last Name” field. Usually the format is percent sign, first word, percent sign (as a wildcard). The search is case-sensitive. Press the Execute Query Button.
5. If the search returns a U number, you can double click the name of the publisher to get this screen:
6. Use the drop down arrow in the Address Defaults>Accounts Payable>Type Code to select code AP from the resulting dialog box:
7. This will return the address on file to compare with the vendor you are entering. If the information matches, then AP has this vendor already entered into the system and you should include the U number when creating the vendor in Millennium.
Creating the Vendor in Millennium
1. Search for the Vendor in Millennium to ensure that there is not already a vendor record (see Millennium documentation for process).
2. When you have determined that it does not exist, create the new vendor, selecting the vendor default for your template. Use the following guides:
i. Create the Vendor Code:
1. If vendor has a known brief name, use this, such as Wiley for John Wiley and Sons
2. Try to use the first three letters of the vendor in sequence for abbreviations of five letters or less.
3. For a State University Press, Use Vendor Code UXX where XX is the U.S. Postal Abbreviation for the state.
4. For an individual use XXXYY, where XXX are the first three letters of their last name and YY are the first two letters of their first name
ii. Enter the U number from Banner in the Alternate Code field
iii. When entering the addresses for the vendor, in ADDRESS 1 for ordering (AKA “send orders to”), ADDRESS 2 for billing (AKA “pay to”), if they are different. As there are only provisions for two addresses, other addresses such as different returns address may need to be included in a note field.
iv. ALSO in entering address, repeat the vendor name on the first line (there is a bug in printing which does not at this date include the name with the address)
Importing records for orders from Connexion
a. Search in Connexion by ISBN. (Search by ISBN, because we now want to find this exact edition.)
i. If searching by ISBN produces insufficient or incorrect results, use the the advanced "Keyword/Numeric" search fields, expanded indexes, and limiters.
[Derived searches ("ii.") are no longer practicable or recommended]
ii. [Deprecated?] format: auth,titl/bks/(date)- For example, a 1992 edition of The Shining by Stephen King could be searched like this: king,shin/bks/1992-
This search will give you all of the editions of a book that starts with the letters “shin” by an author whose last name starts with “king” from 1992 to present, so be careful that the record you select is a match.
b. Sometimes you may get a single result, but if you get a list, scan it for the best match.
Look at the year, publisher, etc. Is there DLC copy? Is there a record that has been used more times than another?
(None of these guarantee that this is the best record, but it’s often a good place to start.)
c. Open the record that you believe is the best match. Check the title, author, copyright date, publisher, ISBN on
copyright page, LCCN number if available, page numbers, etc.
(Checking as many identifiers as you can helps to ensure that you have a match.)
i. If something doesn’t match, go back and try to find a better record.
(Pressing Ctrl+F6 from a record page will take you back to the search results.)
d. Once you have the best match that you can find, you are ready to export the record.
Click this icon in the Connexion toolbar. 
e. You will see a pop-up telling you that the record was exported and providing you with the
b # created.
i. It may be helpful to write this number down for future reference.
f. In Sierra, search by title again. This time, you should see a result with a b # that matches the one you just created.
Open that record.
g. From the icons on the top right, select Edit. This will take you to the MARC record.
i. Delete any 029 fields. (They will be in red.)
ii. Delete the Cat. Date from the top, center of the record.
iii. From the icons in the top right, select Insert (or type Ctrl+I).
1. Insert a "Classification No." 012 field that says:
For example:
iv. From the icons in the top right, select Save (or type Ctrl+S).
Importing records for orders via Remote searching
1. In the Place Orders mode, select “Remote” next to the search box
2. This brings up the dialog box for selecting remote databases.
We use Z39.50 Access to UMEM database, which checks our own catalog for the item, and OCLC – UM Libraries only, which searches OCLC.
3. While searching remotely, there is a progress box which shows the status of what is, in effect, a federated search. The status changes from “in progress” to “Done” or “No records found.” Close the search progress dialog box to bring up the search results.
4. If there is only one record, the record will open for review. If there is more than one, you will see the browse list and summary panel for you to review the records before selecting one by using the “select” button.
5. Modify the location code and press save, this will save the item to our database.
NOTE: If Sierra indicates that there is already a matching record, you can Use Bib if it is a match or close if it is not.
1. When no suitable record can be either through Connexion or through Remote searching in Millennium, one may need to create a brief bib record. Depending on your settings, clicking on the “New” record button will either ask you to select a template, or open with the pre-selected template to begin record creation. (Use the appropriate template: there are many templates created with defaults for different material types, order types, and locations) Notice that there is no bibliographic record number, but that the panel is labeled “New BIBLIOGRAPHIC” until the record is saved and the record number is created:
2. Enter the appropriate information per the prompts
The following site may be helpful in determining how to enter information into appropriate fields: LOC MARC Bibliographic Data
3. If a duplicate record is found during record creation, review the record(s) to ensure that you are not creating a new bib record that duplicates an existing record :
4. Use the existing record, cancel the new record creation process entirely, or simply close the “Duplicate Record(s) Found” dialog box to return to the record you are creating.
5. After completing the prompts, you can add, delete, or edit field values with the appropriate menus and buttons.
6. During the record creation process, the b-number will be “New BIBLIOGRAPHIC.” Saving the record will assign a b-number.
Creating an order record on a bib record
Open the appropriate bibliographic record and go to the Summary tab.
Select the "Order" view.
There may already be orders on the record, or there may be “no records of this type.”
Click on “Attach New Order” button.
Depending on your settings, Sierra may prompt you to select an order template, it may start with your default order template, or it may start with the last template you used.
Select the appropriate template if necessary.
Work through the prompts to create the order. Be sure to include the appropriate Identity and any applicaple Internal Note(s).
After completing prompts, review the record to ensure all fields are correct.
For Firm Orders:
Use the following fields for notes (read about Variable-length fields in order records):
Identity: Binding and ISBN, e.g., "Hbk i=97890123456789"
Internal Note:
Note: Various other notes
Requestor: Librarian who selected/requested the item
If the order is correct, you can save the order record by pressing the save button. Trying to navigate away from the order will prompt you to save or reject the new record.
After selecting save, the dialog will alert you to the actions about to take place and ask for confirmation. The actions are generally a change to the fund (an encumbrance to be posted), and if the “Queue P.O.” box was checked, it will tell you that the order will be queued (queued in the print queue to be printed, emailed, or FTP’d depending on the vendor settings).
Notice that “new ORDER” has now been replaced with a proper order number.
You may now close the record.
1. Go to Print/Send Orders (NOTE: It sometimes takes this queue a moment to load, if you are unable to click anything else in Sierra, the module is still loading)
2. Make sure you are in the queue for Orders to Print. Click the orange “Limit by Vendors” button in the top middle
3. Enter the code for the appropriate vendor
4. The list should now show only orders from that vendor. Select all that you wish to have on this purchase order. (It should be all of them, unless you placed separate orders for anything.)
5. Click the orange “PO Print” button on the top left.
6. Choose “Print Selected” and click Print
7. Choose POtemplate and click Select
8. Sierra will now ask you if the printout was okay – DON’T CLICK YES YET
9. Go to your desktop; there should be a PO file there with a generic name. Open the file to confirm that it was created correctly and rename it with the appropriate PO name, i.e. Alibris 04-25-2014
10. Save the file to the PO folder in the shared drive
11. If everything printed and saved correctly, you can tell Sierra that the printout was okay and it will remove these orders from the queue
Periodically, ILL will send a request for us to purchase an item that would be difficult for them to borrow.
EXAMPLE:
The Collection Development Librarian will decide whether or not to purchase the item and instruct you on how to proceed. If the CD librarian decides to order the item, he/she will also provide the appropriate fund code.
Search Sierra to confirm that we do not own this item.
Because these are typically time-sensitive requests, we prefer to purchase from a vendor that offers expedited shipping (Alibris, Baker & Taylor, Amazon, etc.)
Search these vendors for an acceptable copy. If you can only find a copy from a third-party vendor, see instructions on how to proceed HERE. Be sure to include the appropriate notes in the instructions below, though.
If you can not find an acceptable copy from any source (condition, NYP, etc.), reply to the ILL purchase request with this information.
If you find an acceptable copy, find and import the appropriate bib record and create an order record.
On your order record, be sure to include Recv Action "! Rush Notify" and Internal Note "Notify [patron name] ([patron e-mail]) - ILL purchase request" and "Notify ILL_Borrowing@memphis.edu"
EXAMPLE: Notify William Fakename (wfakename1@memphis.edu) - ILL purchase request
Complete your order per the instructions for whatever vendor you are purchasing from. Rember to choose the expedited shipping option and include that fee in your estimated price.
See vendor records for any contact or log-in information.
Order via website: Baker & Taylor, California News Reel, Insight Media, Media Education Foundation (also accept e-mail PO)
Order via PO e-mail: Eleventh Day Entertainment, FMG, Health Portal, Icarus Films, New Day Films, Tamalpais, Video Project
We have also ordered DVDs from our traditional vendors (Midwest, Alibris, Amazon, etc.) in the past, as well as via third-party ordering.
Use for feature films and others as available.
=960 \\$gv$o1$tlb$u5lama$vbandt$s24.99
=961 \\$fDorcas Davis$aDVD UPC: 00883476145945
Send e-mail to pbspo@pbs.org (e-mail link includes subject and sample email text) with the following attached:
Per Kerry C., (PBS Purchase Order Specialist, 5/19/2015):
"We actually need an actual purchase order submitted with a billing and shipping address displayed as well as the words "TBR Consortium Member TBRMC" prominently displayed. All of these titles are home viewing items so the discount is 10% per the agreement with Gifford. I have attached a quote with the prices as they would be with the discount. Please send us a purchase order with the information listed above and we will place the order. If you do not have an official University of Memphis purchase order, you can submit the order via University of Memphis letterhead or use the form I have attached."
Below are some of the vendors that we order music from and notes on some of the intricacies involed with each. See vendor records for any log in information or contact info. When sending a purchase order via e-mail, it is best to quote our account number (if we have one), the number of items being purchased, and the fund code being used.
Arkiv Music - Arkiv Music sells CDs and DVDs. You can shop by searching their website or send a list of the desired items to our customer service rep, who will confirm whether or not they can be provided. Orders were previously placed by creating a purchase order and sending it via e-mail to our customer service rep; this method must still be used if we are purchasing something not listed on the Arkiv website, i.e. a CD from a third-party vendor. We can now order and be invoiced via their website, using a "gift certificate" code. See vendor record for code.
Broude - Broude will periodically send reply messages suggesting we purchase items, i.e. volumes in a series that we do not yet own. For purchases from Broude, we create a purchase order in Sierra and send to Broude via e-mail.
Theodore Front - Send purchase order via e-mail or online (see vendor record "tfml" for login info). Group orders by shipping time, i.e. order all items that "Usually ship in 1-2 weeks" into one order and items that "Usually ship in 4-6 weeks" in another.
Hal Leonard - Send purchase order via e-mail.
Harrassowitz - Orders can be placed via FTP or via website. Harrassowitz is an excellent source for European items; if you are having difficulty sourcing a European item, contact our Harrassowitz representative and ask if they can purchase it.