The scholarly communications and publishing ecosystem, including formats of academic literature (journals, monographs, edited collections), research impact, grants, copyright, Open Access, Open Educational Resources, and non-academic publishing.
There are also predatory journals that pose as legitimate OA journals but lack any real quality control.
The Directory of Open Access Journals can help you sort through all of these issues and identify where to submit your research.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJDOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.
The DOAJ lets you search over 16,500 peer-reviewed global OA journals covering all academic disciplines.
The DOAJ will include any journal that meets its inclusion guidelines, which include that the publication is a research journal, that it is peer reviewed, that it is Open Access, and that it is actively publishing.
It will also certify journals that meet its standards for best practices in OA publishing with the DOAJ Seal. These standards include preservation of the journal's contents, data quality, use and display of open licenses, preservation of author's rights, and permissions to self-archive.
Search the DOAJ
Start by keyword searching for a journal. The search will look at a journal's title, ISSN, subject, or publisher, and you can limit your result to any one of these.
The results page will display a list of journals with condensed information about each result. You can limit to journals with the DOAJ seal or those without APCs as well as by subject, language, license, publisher, publisher's country, type of peer review, and year added to the DOAJ.
Clicking a result title will take you to its record page. This includes its ISSN; links to its website; information on publishing with the journal such as estimated APCs, links to the journal's scope and editorial policies, and estimated publication timeframe; best practices such as open licenses, author rights, digital preservation, and self-archiving policies; and journal data such as publisher, language of publication, and subjects covered.