Research Guides: Scholarly Communications: EBSCO

Use EBSCO to Track Research

EBSCO (pronounced Eb-sco) is the University of Memphis' most commonly used vendor platform for our library databases and search tools. The main search bar on the library website searches the EBSCO Discovery Service, and many of the databases you find under Database Search are EBSCO databases.

EBSCO Discovery Service
EBSCO Discovery Service provides users with an easy, yet powerful means of accessing all of an institution's information resources through a single search. This is achieved by harvesting metadata from both internal (library) and external (database vendors) sources, and creating a pre-indexed service of unprecedented size and speed. (All federated databases are listed individually in Databases Search as well.)

Database Search
Find EBSCO databases by name or by subject.
Journal Search
Search all of the University of Memphis's journals or browse by subject area with the EBSCO Publication Finder.

Get Started with a MyEBSCO Account

You will need a personal account for MyEBSCO to create and manage your alerts. Your MyEBSCO account will work across all EBSCO tools and platforms. Manage your alerts in My Dashboard, which is in the left-hand side column of any EBSCO database.

Track Journals in EBSCO

Use the Publication Finder, which is labeled "Journal Search" on our website, to search for a journal title. It will tell you which databases we have access to the journal in. If you select an EBSCO database, it will open up a record page for that journal, allowing you to browse issues and search within the journal. That page will also have three vertical dots labeled "Publication tools." This lets you create an alert for when new articles are available.

Track Searches in EBSCO

Creating search alerts is a really good option if you are researching in EBSCO Discovery Service or an EBSCO database. Create a search in EDS or an individual EBSCO database. On the search results page, select the three vertical dots ("search actions") menu and select to save searches and create alerts for new search results. You can choose whether you get results daily, weekly, or monthly and if you get a notification if there are no results. You can manage your alert in the database you created it in.

Track Researchers/Authors in EBSCO

Use the Advanced Search and search for the author's name using the author field; best practice is to input (with quotation marks) "Last Name, First Name" (for example: "Einstein, Albert").
You can also click linked author names in the search results or document records.
From there, you can create an alert for this search and then manage it like any other search alert.
Be advised that there can be mistakes if the author has used variations of their name, or if there is another researcher with the same name.

Track Citations in EBSCO

EBSCO records for sources like journal articles will now include a "Cited by" tab that tracks citations to that source identified in EBSCO databases. This tool can be found in EDS and every EBSCO database. Unfortunately, at this time there is no way to get an alert when a new citation is identified, so you will have to check manually.