“Once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return"
- Leonardo Da Vinci
Join us celebrating National Aviation Day!!
Information Security and Cybersecurity at the Federal Aviation Administration by
While the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has taken steps to protect its air traffic control systems from cyber-based and other threats, significant security control weaknesses remain, threatening the agency's ability to ensure the safe and uninterrupted operation of the national airspace system (NAS). These include weaknesses in controls intended to prevent, limit, and detect unauthorized access to computer resources, such as controls for protecting system boundaries, identifying and authenticating users, authorizing users to access systems, encrypting sensitive data, and auditing and monitoring activity on FAA's systems. Additionally, shortcomings in boundary protection controls between less-secure systems and the operational NAS environment increase the risk from these weaknesses. The objective of this book is to evaluate the extent to which FAA has effectively implemented information security controls to protect its air traffic control systems. This book also identifies the cybersecurity challenges facing FAA as it shifts to the NextGen ATC system and how FAA has begun addressing those challenges; and assesses the extent to which FAA and its contractors, in the acquisition of NextGen programs, have followed federal guidelines for incorporating cybersecurity controls.
Aviation Weather by
This FAA Advisory Circular includes contributions from the National Weather Service (NWS). This important Federal Aviation Administration Advisory Circular (AC) has been in circulation under a variety of titles for more than 70 years. All pilots and dispatchers must learn to deal with weather: to appreciate good weather, to recognize and respect marginal or hazardous weather, and to avoid violent weather. Recognition of this and sound weather decisions are critical to the successful outcome of all flights. This book discusses each aspect of weather as it relates to aircraft operation and flight safety. The information in Aviation Weather is applicable to students, instructors, and experienced pilots alike. It is a comprehensive resource for what you need to know about weather in order to fly safely in both visual (VMC) and instrument (IMC) meteorological conditions. Subjects covered include the Earth's atmosphere, temperatures, atmospheric pressure and altimetry, weather charts, wind, global circulation and jet streams, moisture, precipitation, clouds, air masses and fronts, stability, turbulence, icing, thunderstorms, common IFR producers, weather radar, high altitude weather, arctic, tropical, and space weather. Aviation Weather is a key reference in the FAA Airman Certification Standards (ACS) and FAA Knowledge Exams. Illustrated throughout with detailed, full-color drawings and photographs.
General Aviation Aircraft Design by
Find the right answer the first time with this useful handbook of preliminary aircraft design. Written by an engineer with close to 20 years of design experience, General Aviation Aircraft Design: Applied Methods and Procedures provides the practicing engineer with a versatile handbook that serves as the first source for finding answers to realistic aircraft design questions. The book is structured in an "equation/derivation/solved example" format for easy access to content. Readers will find it a valuable guide to topics such as sizing of horizontal and vertical tails to minimize drag, sizing of lifting surfaces to ensure proper dynamic stability, numerical performance methods, and common faults and fixes in aircraft design. In most cases, numerical examples involve actual aircraft specs. Concepts are visually depicted by a number of useful black-and-white figures, photos, and graphs (with full-color images included in the eBook only). Broad and deep in coverage, it is intended for practicing engineers, aerospace engineering students, mathematically astute amateur aircraft designers, and anyone interested in aircraft design. Organized by articles and structured in an "equation/derivation/solved example" format for easy access to the content you need Numerical examples involve actual aircraft specs Contains high-interest topics not found in other texts, including sizing of horizontal and vertical tails to minimize drag, sizing of lifting surfaces to ensure proper dynamic stability, numerical performance methods, and common faults and fixes in aircraft design Provides a unique safety-oriented design checklist based on industry experience Discusses advantages and disadvantages of using computational tools during the design process Features detailed summaries of design options detailing the pros and cons of each aerodynamic solution Includes three case studies showing applications to business jets, general aviation aircraft, and UAVs Numerous high-quality graphics clearly illustrate the book's concepts (note: images are full-color in eBook only)
Naval Aviation in the Second World War by
The first aircraft carriers made their appearance in the early years of World War I. These first flattops were improvised affairs built on hulls that had been laid down with other purposes in mind, and it was not until the 1920s that the first purpose-built carriers were launched, but no-one was as yet clear about the role of the carriers and they were largely unloved by the 'battleship admirals' who still believed that their great dreadnoughts were the ultimate capital ships.World War II changed all that, At Taranto, Pearl Harbour, and in the North Atlantic, the carrier, the ugly duckling of the world's navies, proved itself to be the dreadnought nemesis. As the tide of war turned, the fast attack carriers of the U.S. Navy spearheaded the counter-attack in the Pacific while the makeshift escort carriers helped to seal the fate of the German U-boats in the Atlantic. The carrier, and naval aviation, thus emerged into the post-war world as the primary symbol and instrument of seapower; it would play a crucial role in the strategic encirclement of the Soviet Union and enabled western airpower to be rapidly and effectively deployed in areas of conflict as remote as Korea, Vietnam, the Falklands and the Gulf.Kaplan describes the adventure of the young American, British, and Japanese naval aviators in the Second World War. It is an account of their experiences based on archives, diaries, published and unpublished memoirs, and personal interviews with veteran naval airmen of WWII, providing a vivid and often hair-raising picture of the dangers they encountered in combat and of everyday life aboard an aircraft carrier. It considers some of the key aspects of the WWII naval aviator's combat career, such as why it was that only a tiny minority of these pilots those in whom the desire for aerial combat overrode everything accounted for such a large proportion of the victories.In the major carrier actions of that conflict, from the Royal Navy's attack on Taranto which crippled the Italian fleet in 1940, to the Japanese carrier-launched surprise attack on U.S. Navy battleships and facilities at Pearl Harbour in 1941, to the carrier battle of Midway in 1942, and the Great Marianas Turkey Shoot of 1944, through the Japanese Kamikaze campaign against the U.S. Carriers in the final stages of the Pacific war, this book takes the reader back to one of the most exciting and significant times in modern history.
Practical Aviation Security by
The second edition of Practical Aviation Security is a complete guide to the aviation security system, from crucial historical events to the policies, policymakers, and major terrorist and criminal acts that have shaped the procedures in use today. The tip-of-the-spear technologies that are shaping the future are also addressed. This text equips readers in airport security or other aviation management roles with the knowledge to implement the effective security programs, to meet international guidelines, and to responsibly protect facilities or organizations of any size. Using case studies and practical security measures now in use at airports worldwide, readers learn the effective methods and the fundamental principles involved in designing and implementing a security system. The aviation security system is comprehensive and requires continual focus and attention to stay a step ahead of the next attack. Practical Aviation Security, Second Edition helps prepare practitioners to enter the industry, and helps seasoned professionals prepare for new threats and prevent new tragedies. Covers commercial airport security, general aviation and cargo operations, threats, and threat detection and response systems, as well as international security issues Lays out the security fundamentals that can ensure the future of global travel and commerce Applies real-world aviation experience to the task of anticipating and deflecting threats
Labor Relations in the Aviation and Aerospace Industries by
This Study Guide is designed to be used with the textbook Labor Relations in the Aviation and Aerospace Industries. It is intended to assist students in comprehending basic terminology and principles of labor relations and the law, to relate those principles to unique features of the aviation and aerospace industry, and to prepare for the kinds of labor relations-related decisions students will soon be making as aviation professionals, whether in private or public sector employment. It includes review questions, online assignments, supplemental readings, and exercises.
Managing Aviation Projects from Concept to Completion by
Triant Flouris is a prominent academic and administrator in aviation management education; Dennis Lock has more than forty years experience in practising, lecturing and writing about project management. When these two experts combined their considerable talents to write their earlier book Aviation Project Management, it was little wonder that distinguished reviewers gave generous praise and acclaimed it as a welcome addition to what, until then, had been a neglected field. That first title was structured as an essential primer for managers and students. The authors have now written this more in-depth book for managers and students who need to study aviation project management in much greater detail, as well as critically connect project management within an aviation context to prudent business decision-making. Aviation project management is described in considerable detail throughout all stages of a lifecycle that begins when the project is only a vague concept and does not end until the project has been successfully completed, fully documented, and put into operational service. Aviation projects have commonly failed to deliver their expected outcomes on time and have greatly exceeded their intended budgets. Many of those failures would have been prevented if the project managers had adhered to the sound principles of project management, as described and demonstrated throughout this book.
British Navel Aviation by
Taking a broadly chronological approach, this collection explores key events and issues of British naval aviation, from the Admiralty's first order for an airship in 1909 through to debates concerning replacement aircraft carriers in the early twenty-first century. In so doing, the volume offers fascinating insights into one of the most important aspects of defence policy and Britain's military history, which is sure to stimulate further scholarly debate.
Taking Flight by
Taking Flight explores the emergence of commercial aviation between the world wars--and in the midst of the Great Depression--to show that the industry's dramatic growth resulted from a unique combination of federal policy, technological innovations, and public interest in air travel. Historian M. Houston Johnson V traces the evolution of commercial flying from the US Army's trial airmail service in the spring of 1918 to the passage of the pivotal Air Commerce Act of 1938. Johnson emphasizes the role of federal policy--particularly as guided by both Herbert Hoover and Franklin Roosevelt--to reveal the close working relationship between federal officials and industry leaders, as well as an increasing dependence on federal assistance by airline, airframe, and engine manufacturers. Taking Flight highlights the federal government's successful efforts to foster a nascent industry in the midst of an economic crisis without resorting to nationalization, a path taken by virtually all European countries during the same era. It also underscores an important point of continuity between Hoover's policies and Roosevelt's New Deal (a sharp departure from many interpretations of Depression-era business history) and shows how both governmental and corporate actors were able to harness America's ongoing fascination with flying to further a larger economic agenda and facilitate the creation of the world's largest and most efficient commercial aviation industry. This glimpse into the golden age of flight contributes not only to the history of aviation but also to the larger history of the United States during the Great Depression and the period between the world wars.
Flying Man by
Hugo Junkers (1859-1935) was a German engineer and aircraft designer generally credited as the pioneer of all-metal airplanes. His company, Junkers Flugzeug- und Motorenwerke AG, more commonly referred to simply as "Junkers," became a major German aircraft manufacturer based in Dessau. From humble beginnings producing boilers and radiators, by World War II the company was producing some of the most successful Luftwaffe planes, including the Ju 88, the primary bomber of the German air force. Hugo Junkers himself, however, was a socialist pacifist who saw aviation as a way to unify the world. Soon after the Nazi party came to power in 1933, Junkers was forced to surrender his patents, found his holdings seized by the state, and was placed under house arrest. He died in 1935, a "tortured genius" exiled from his life's work but, perhaps fortunately, spared from seeing his inventions destructively unleashed across Europe. No biography of Junkers has been published to date. Author Richard Byers now fills that void with this compelling narrative of a man and his machines. Flying Man is a contribution not only to the history of aviation but also adds to our understanding of the consolidation of power in Germany's march toward World War II.
In Their Own Words by
Amelia Earhart's prominence in American aviation during the 1930s obscures a crucial point: she was but one of a closely knit community of women pilots. Although the women were well known in the profession and widely publicized in the press at the time, they are largely overlooked today. Like Earhart, they wrote extensively about aviation and women's causes, producing an absorbing record of the life of women fliers during the emergence and peak of the Golden Age of Aviation (1925-1940). Earhart and her contemporaries, however, were only the most recent in a long line of women pilots whose activities reached back to the earliest days of aviation. These women, too, wrote about aviation, speaking out for new and progressive technology and its potential for the advancement of the status of women. With those of their more recent counterparts, their writings form a long, sustained text that documents the maturation of the airplane, aviation, and women's growing desire for equality in American society. In Their Own Words takes up the writings of eight women pilots as evidence of the ties between the growth of American aviation and the changing role of women. Harriet Quimby (1875-1912), Ruth Law (1887-1970), and the sisters Katherine and Marjorie Stinson (1893-1977; 1896-1975) came to prominence in the years between the Wright brothers and World War I. Earhart (1897-1937), Louise Thaden (1905-1979), and Ruth Nichols (1901-1960) were the voices of women in aviation during the Golden Age of Aviation. Anne Morrow Lindbergh (1906-2001), the only one of the eight who legitimately can be called an artist, bridges the time from her husband's 1927 flight through the World War II years and the coming of the Space Age. Each of them confronts issues relating to the developing technology and possibilities of aviation. Each speaks to the importance of assimilating aviation into daily life. Each details the part that women might--and should--play in advancing aviation. Each talks about how aviation may enhance women's participation in contemporary American society, making their works significant documents in the history of American culture.
Flight Through the Ages by
Flight Through the Ages was the title of the first annual exhibition of the Guild of Aviation Artists in 1971. This book celebrates 50 years of exhibitions and includes paintings by almost one hundred Guild artists, past and present, depicting aircraft from the earliest airborne activities through to the present day. There are balloons and airships, fighters and bombers from both world wars, including Spitfires and Lancasters, airliners from the early years of air travel through Concorde and on to the present day. There are also gliders and helicopters and the current generation of advanced aircraft among some 200 illustrations, most in full color.Artists include some of the most well-known British artists of their day and the works display imagination and creativity in a variety of different styles and treatments that bring flying machines to life. There are historical scenes and aircraft in their natural environment, showing action and some of the aviators and others from the world of aviation. There is a short history of the Guild and a step-by-step guide to one artist's approach to the subject.
An Aviator's Field Guide to Tailwheel Flying by
In "An Aviator's Field Guide to Tailwheel Flying," author Jason Blair shares his experience in a variety of tailwheel-equipped aircraft. This book describes major phases of flight and considerations that transitioning or tailwheel pilots may find useful as they look to increase their proficiency. The discussion goes beyond the physical flying skills into other tailwheel aspects, such as operational differences in makes and models and ages of aircraft. Pilots of aircraft such as Cessna 180s, Cubs, Champs, Maules or other aircraft of similar type and size will find this content helpful. This book is the author's result of years of instructing and taking notes previously passed on to his own students, now compiled and shared with the broader aviation community.
An Aviator's Field Guide to Middle-Altitude Flying by
In An Aviator's Field Guide to Middle-Altitude Flying, author Jason Blair shares his experience in a variety of piston, twin-engine aircraft commonly used to fly at altitudes between 10,000 and 25,000 feet MSL. This book covers the major phases of flight and the specific considerations for pilots who operate aircraft at these altitudes, including performance and fuel planning, emergencies, descent planning, navigation, weather, aircraft modifications, oxygen use, weight and balance, pilot qualifications, and insurance. With insight not found in other training manuals or part of typical flight training operations, and gained through his many years instructing and giving checkrides, Blair's book will help the pilot owner or operator evaluate the risks and challenges unique to middle-altitude flying, develop effective flight-planning practices, and take advantage of the increased efficiencies and opportunities offered through these higher operations.
Beyond Flight Training by
Earning the FAA Private Pilot license is a great achievement--now, expand your initial training to go Beyond Flight Training. The real excitement begins when the flight instructor lets go of your hand and you're left to set your own goals and create your own motivations. This book, Beyond Flight Training, is packed with new ways to sharpen your skills and make every flying hour a rewarding experience. Veteran pilot and instructor LeRoy Cook shows you what lies beyond flight school. In these pages, he'll guide you into areas of aviation your instructors might not have mentioned. Things like planning your first cross-country flying vacation...or sharpening your weather forecasting skills...or pursuing advanced endorsements and ratings. Beyond Flight Training will show you how to: Grow as a pilot, beyond the checkride Purchase your first airplane Test-hop a new or rebuilt plane Organize or join a flying club Handle unfamiliar airports and airspace, not seen in training Take care of family and first-time passengers Cope with the changing seasons and marginal weather Upgrade to specialized flying, like high-performance, complex, tailwheel and aerobatic aircraft. Prepare for advanced pilot certifications In print for more than 30 years, this 4th Edition of Beyond Flight Training (previously published as "101 Things To Do With Your Private License") is packed with new ways to sharpen your skills and make every flying hour rewarding.
The Motion Picture Stunt Pilots and Hollywood's Classic Aviation Movies by 
Aviation Year by Year by
Fully updated for the new millenium and presented in a lively journalistic style, Aviation Year by Year contains a wealth of fascinating information. Thousands of contemporary photos, illustrations, facts and figures bring the history of aviation to life.
The U. S. Naval Institute on Marine Corps Aviation by
The U.S. Naval Institute Chronicles series focuses on the relevance of history by exploring topics like significant battles, personalities, and service components. Tapping into the U.S. Naval Institute's robust archives, these carefully selected volumes help readers understand nuanced subjects by providing unique perspectives and some of the best contributions that have helped shape naval thinking over the many decades since the Institute's founding in 1873. Famous as "boots on the ground," U.S. Marines have long played a vital role in the air as well. In these pages, readers will find both history and analysis as Naval Institute authors record and assess this lesser-known but significant aspect of "Leatherneck" combat over the last century.
Flight by
From the early pioneers to the latest spaceflight technology, this groundbreaking book charts the inspirational story behind humankind's conquest of the skies. In the 100 years since the Wright brothers' first powered flight, aviation has witnessed many memorable events. From record-breaking flights and aerial warfare, to advances in aircraft design and the race for space, Flight covers the most memorable moments in the history of aviation. Describing the feats of the brave men and women who piloted the early flying machines, to the pioneers of long-distance flight and the test pilots who ushered in the jet age, Flight is a gripping narrative of humankind's quest to conquer the skies and explore space. Loaded with spectacular full-color photographs, dramatic first-hand accounts, and fact-filled profiles on a huge range of aircraft, this is an enthralling account of a century of innovation and adventure.
Innovation and the Development of Flight by
Perhaps no technological development in the century has more fundamentally transformed human life than the airplane and its support apparatus. The nature of flight, and the activities that it has engendered throughout the world, makes the development of aviation technology an important area of investigation. Why did aeronautical technology take the shape it did? Which individuals and organizations were involved in driving it? What factors influenced particular choices of technologies to be used? More importantly, how has innovation affected this technology? Innovation and the Development of Flight, a first strike at the "new aviation history," represents a significant transformation of the field by relating the subject to larger issues of society, politics, and culture, taking a more sophisticated view of the technology that few historians have previously attempted. This volume moves beyond a focus on the artifact to emphasize the broader role of the airplane and, more importantly, the entire technological system. This suggests that many unanswered questions are present in the development of modern aviation and that inquisitive historians seek to know the relationships of technological systems to the human mind. Some of the subjects discussed are early aeronautical innovation and government patronage; the evolution of relationships among airports, cities, and industry; the relationship of engine development to the entire aviation industry; the Department of Commerce's influence on light plane development; pressure in the Air Force for the development of jet engines; and lessons of the National Aerospace Plane Program. Aviation historians and historians of technology will find Innovation and the Development of Flight a valuable examination of aeronautical innovation providing foundations for continued explorations of this field.
Gear up, Mishaps Down by
Less than five years after Naval Aviation led the forces that defeated Imperial Japan that very organization was in serious trouble. The force had been drastically reduced and, despite the Korean War, growing sentiment supported by no less than the chairman of the Joint Chiefs argued that the new Air Force could do anything Naval Aviation might be required to do. Meanwhile, the Naval Aviation mishap rate soared. The very survival of Naval Aviation was at stake. It took fifty years to turn this around. Today, in spite of hot wars, cold wars, contingencies, and peacetime operations in support of friends and allies, the Navy and Marine Corps accident rate is at least as good as that of the Air Force, and it approaches that of commercial aviation. Gear Up, Mishaps Down explains that this accomplishment was achieved through dedicated and professional leadership, a focus on lessons learned from mishaps and near-mishaps, a willingness to learn from other enterprises, and by training, maintenance, supply and more.
One Hundred Years of U. S. Navy Air Power by
Published to coincide with the centennial celebration of U.S. Navy Aviation, this book chronicles Navy aviation from its earliest days, before the Navy's first aircraft carrier joined the fleet, through the modern jet era marked by the introduction of the F-18 Hornet. It tells how naval aviation got its start, profiles its pioneers, and explains the early bureaucracy that fostered and sometimes inhibited its growth. The book then turns to the refinement of carrier aviation doctrine and tactics and the rapid development of aircraft and carriers, highlighting the transition from propeller-driven aircraft to swept wing jets in the period after WW II. Land-based Navy aircraft, rotary-wing aircraft and rigid airships, and balloons are also considered in this sweeping tribute.
Great Flights and Air Adventures by
From Ballons to Spacecrafts
Aviation 2010 by
"Journal of the Transportation Research Board."
"A peer-reviewed publication.
Aviation 2011 by
Journal of the Transportation Research Board, No. 2214 includes 18 papers that explore critical factors for development of airport cities, heterogeneity in preferences of air travel itinerary in a low-frequency market, addressing and benchmarking variations in airport demand in the U.S. domestic market, using Smeeds Law to estimate number of bird strikes in Utah, and the effect of disruptions on U.S. domestic airline industry service quality and market share.
Aviation 2012 by
TRB's Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board, No. 2300 contains 18 papers that explore airport surface safety; infection-spreading links in an air traffic network; intercity passenger rail access to airports; reducing aviation's carbon dioxide emissions; valuing aviation noise with the contingent valuation method, characterization of surface and aloft winds for advanced parallel runway operations; minimization of potential air conflicts through speed regulation, and load transfer efficiency of rigid airfield pavement. This issue of the TRR also examines the effect of pavement damping and aircraft speed on stress-based load transfer efficiency; managing centralized taxi dispatching at high-volume airports; efficient taxi pickup operations at airports; public transit access planning at major airports; empirical and risk-based revenue forecasting; landing fees at Portuguese airports; surface alternatives for short-haul passenger air travel; leveraging fuel cost differences in aircraft routing; systematic influences on preference heterogeneity in air travel; and the importance of a resilient air services network to remote, rural, and regional communities."--TRR v. 2300 Blurb.