“If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.”
― Albert Einstein
World mythology : from indigenous tales to classical legends by
Myths, legends, and folklore -- Creation myths -- Great floods -- Cosmology -- Stories of gods and men -- Legendary heroes and fantastical creatures and events -- Tricksters -- Mythological epics -- Death and the afterlife -- Blurring history, legend and mythology -- Customs and popular religions.
Haboo by
The stories and legends of the Lushootseed-speaking people of Puget Sound represent an important part of the oral tradition by which one generation hands down beliefs, values, and customs to another. Vi Hilbert grew up when many of the old social patterns survived and everyone spoke the ancestral language. Haboo, Hilbert?s collection of thirty-three stories, features tales mostly set in the Myth Age, before the world transformed. Animals, plants, trees, and even rocks had human attributes. Prominent characters like Wolf, Salmon, and Changer and tricksters like Mink, Raven, and Coyote populate humorous, earthy stories that reflect foibles of human nature, convey serious moral instruction, and comically detail the unfortunate, even disastrous consequences of breaking taboos. Beautifully redesigned and with a new foreword by Jill La Pointe, Haboo offers a vivid and invaluable resource for linguists, anthropologists, folklorists, future generations of Lushootseed-speaking people, and others interested in Native languages and cultures.
The Moon-Eyed People by
A lone man wanders from swamp to swamp searching for himself, a wolf-girl visits Wales and eats the sheep, a Welsh criminal marries an 'Indian Princess', Lakota men re-enact the Wounded Knee Massacre in Cardiff and, all the while, mountain women practise Appalachian hoodoo, native healing and Welsh witchcraft. These stories are a mixture of true tales, tall tales and folk tales, that tell of the lives of migrants who left Wales and settled in America, of the native and enslaved people who had long been living there, and those curious travellers who returned to find their roots in the old country. They were explorers, miners, dreamers, hobos, tourists, farmers, radicals, showmen, sailors, soldiers, witches, warriors, poets, preachers, prospectors, political dissidents, social reformers, and wayfaring strangers. The Cherokee called them: 'the Moon-Eyed People.'
The Nuosu Book of Origins by
Open-access edition: DOI 10.6069/9780295745701 The Nuosu people, who were once overlords of vast tracts of farmland and forest in the uplands of southern Sichuan and neighboring provinces, are the largest division of the Yi ethnic group in southwest China. Their creation epic plots the origins of the cosmos, the sky and earth, and the living beings of land and water. This translation is a rare example in English of Indigenous ethnic literature from China. Transmitted in oral and written forms for centuries among the Nuosu, The Book of Origins is performed by bimo priests and other tradition-bearers. Poetic in form, the narrative provides insights into how a clan- and caste-based society organizes itself, dictates ethics, relates to other ethnic groups, and adapts to a harsh environment. A comprehensive introduction to the translation describes the land and people, summarizes the work?s themes, and discusses the significance of The Book of Origins for the understanding of folk epics, ethnoecology, and ethnic relations.
Ukrainian Epic and Historical Song by
Natalie Kononenko's expert translation and analysis of Ukrainian epics provides a sweeping social history of folklore that is vital to Ukrainian identity.
Shapeshifters in Medieval North Atlantic Literature by
Representations of shapeshifters are prominent in medieval culture and they are particularly abundant in the vernacular literatures of the societies around the North Sea. Some of the figures in these stories remain well known in later folklore and often even in modern media, such as werewolves, dragons, berserkir and bird-maidens. Incorporating studies about Old English, Norse, Latin, Irish, and Welsh literature, this collection of essays marks an important new contribution to the study of medieval shapeshifters. Each essay highlights how shapeshifting cannot be studied in isolation, but intersects with many other topics, such as the supernatural, monstrosity, animality, gender and identity. Contributors to Shapeshifters in Medieval North Atlantic Literature come from different intellectual traditions, embracing a multidisciplinary approach combining influences from literary criticism, history, philology, and anthropology.
Folksongs from the Mountains of Iran by
In Iran, folksongs are part of folklore and offer an intimate portrait of a vanishing era. They are also 'the voice' of ordinary people, providing a medium to express emotions, opinions and concerns. This book is based on folksongs collected over a 50-year period among the Boir Ahmad tribal people in the Zagros Mountains of West Iran. Erika Friedl has recorded, transcribed and translated more than 600 lyrics from a Lur community, and her analysis of the folksongs provides an intimate portrait of local people's attitudes, attachments, fears and desires. From songs of love, sex and mourning, to lyrics discussing beauty, infatuation and the community's violent tribal history, Friedl's solid understanding of the cultural background, lifestyle and worldview of these people lets her add ethnographic details that illuminate the deep meaning of the texts. In this way, Friedl goes far beyond a translation of words: she sheds light on a culture where beliefs, critical evaluation of circumstances and philosophical tenets are shown to be integral to each song's message.Based on fieldwork that began in 1965, Erika Friedl's research on the folklore in Boir Ahmad represents the best-documented modern folklore compendium on an Iranian tribe. This new book will be important for future generations of scholars, including ethnographers, Iranists, linguists, ethnomusicologists and those researching Persian literature and cultures of the Middle East.
Moroccan Folktales by
Drawing on stories he heard as a boy from female relatives, Jilali El Koudia presents a cross section of utterly bewitching narratives. Filled with ghouls and fools, kind magic and wicked, eternal bonds and earthly wishes, these are mesmerizing stories to be savored, studied, or simply treasured. Varied genres include anecdotes, legends, and animal fables, and some tales bear strong resemblance to European counterparts, for example Aamar and his Sister (Hansel and Gretel) and Nunja and the White Dove (Cinderella). All capture the heart of Morroco and the soul of its people. In an enlightening introduction, El Koudia mourns the loss of the teller of tales in the marketplace, and he makes it clear that storytelling, born of memory and oral tradition, could vanish in the face of mass and electronic media.
The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm by
The original vision of Grimms' tales in English for the first time When Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm published their Children's and Household Tales in 1812, followed by a second volume in 1815, they had no idea that such stories as "Rapunzel," "Hansel and Gretel," and "Cinderella" would become the most celebrated in the world. Yet few people today are familiar with the majority of tales from the two early volumes, since in the next four decades the Grimms would publish six other editions, each extensively revised in content and style. For the very first time, The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm makes available in English all 156 stories from the 1812 and 1815 editions. These narrative gems, newly translated and brought together in one beautiful book, are accompanied by sumptuous new illustrations from award-winning artist Andrea Dezsö. From "The Frog King" to "The Golden Key," wondrous worlds unfold--heroes and heroines are rewarded, weaker animals triumph over the strong, and simple bumpkins prove themselves not so simple after all. Esteemed fairy tale scholar Jack Zipes offers accessible translations that retain the spare description and engaging storytelling style of the originals. Indeed, this is what makes the tales from the 1812 and 1815 editions unique--they reflect diverse voices, rooted in oral traditions, that are absent from the Grimms' later, more embellished collections of tales. Zipes's introduction gives important historical context, and the book includes the Grimms' prefaces and notes. A delight to read, The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm presents these peerless stories to a whole new generation of readers.
Celtic Fairy Tales by
This collection of Celtic Fairy tales was put together by noted Celtic expert Joseph Jacobs in the late 19th and early 20th Century. Including famous legends such as 'Conal Hammerclaw' and 'The Sea Maiden', this book will excite and delight fans...
Indian Fairy Tales by
Although most Western readers associate the term "fairy tales" with the Teutonic and English folk tale tradition, such as is evidenced in the works collected by the Brothers Grimm, Eastern countries like India have their own body of fairy tales, as well. Although infused with local flavor, many of these tales bear a striking structural and thematic similarity to those with which Western readers are familiar. Take a literary tour through India's rich folk tale tradition in this comprehensive volume by historian and folklorist Joseph Jacobs.
Cavan Folk Tales by
The history of Cavan, affectionately known as 'The Lakeland County', is made up of a rich tapestry of folk tales, myths and legends. It is said to be the home of the wailing banshee of the McCabes, the site of Finn MacCool's last resting place (where his fingers can still be seen) and where, legend has, it a young girl came perilously close to marrying the devil. In this book Gary Branigan will take you on a journey through Cavan's past, recalling the myths and legends that shaped the area's history from the early exploits of heroes such as Cúchulainn and the Gobán Saor to the more recent stories of the last highwayman 'Captain' Mooney and the tragedy of the Great Hunger. Also featuring tales of cursing stones, fairy gold, mermaids, pookas and dragons, it will take you into a remarkable world where you can let your imagination run wild.
Stories from Ancient Egypt by
Some of the most interesting and entertaining myths and legends from Ancient Egypt are given a lively re-telling by Joyce Tyldesley. These include stories about the gods, such as The Creation of the World, Hathor and the Red Beer, and the myths about Osiris, Isis and Horus. Fairy stories and incredible adventures are represented by The Story of the Shipwrecked Sailor, The Adventures of Sinuhe and The Prince, the Dog, the Snake and the Crocodile, while good and bad behaviour are to be found in Three Magical Stories and The Story of Truth and Falsehood. King Ramesses II himself tells us about The Battle of Kadesh. The book is illustrated with imaginative and amusing line-drawings by Julian Heath, and each of the stories has a question and answer section for budding young Egyptologists. STORIES FROM ANCIENT EGYPT is aimed at children between the ages of 7-11, but this book is an entertaining and informative introduction to the literature of Ancient Egypt for all ages. It is a new edition of a title previously published by Rutherford Press
Aux sources du merveilleux : une exploration de l'univers des contes by
Présenté à l'origine par l'auteure comme thèse (de maîtrise--Université du Québec à Montréal), 2009 sous le titre: Le règne du merveilleux.
Publié dans le cadre de la Bibliothèque numérique canadienne, la Collection des éditeurs canadiens.
The Cloak of Dreams by
Intriguing fairy tales by the librettist of Béla Bartók's opera Bluebeard's Castle A man is changed into a flea and must bring his future parents together in order to become human again. A woman convinces a river god to cure her sick son, but the remedy has mixed consequences. A young man must choose whether to be close to his wife's soul or body. And two deaf mutes transcend their physical existence in the garden of dreams. Strange and fantastical, these fairy tales of Béla Balázs (1884-1949), Hungarian writer, film critic, and famous librettist of Bluebeard's Castle, reflect his profound interest in friendship, alienation, and Taoist philosophy. Translated and introduced by Jack Zipes, one of the world's leading authorities on fairy tales, The Cloak of Dreams brings together sixteen of Balázs's unique and haunting stories. Written in 1921, these fairy tales were originally published with twenty images drawn in the Chinese style by painter Mariette Lydis, and this new edition includes a selection of Lydis's brilliant illustrations. Together, the tales and pictures accentuate the motifs and themes that run throughout Balázs's work: wandering protagonists, mysterious woods and mountains, solitude, and magical transformation. His fairy tales express our deepest desires and the hope that, even in the midst of tragedy, we can transcend our difficulties and forge our own destinies. Unusual, wondrous fairy tales that examine the world's cruelties and twists of fate, The Cloak of Dreams will entertain, startle, and intrigue.
Arabian Nights by
The Stories contained in Arabian Nights have been handed down from generation to generation and are just as compelling today as they were when first told. This collection, specially selected and edited by Andrew Lang is a wonderful anthology, and will delight readers young and old. This version has been specially formatted for today's e-readers. Source of summary unknown (vendor record).
The Robber with a Witch's Head by
The Robber with the Witch's Head presents almost fifty new stories about demons and clever maidens and princes. Bursting with life, this is a storyteller's dream, full of adventure and magic, translated by Jack Zipes.
Elijah's Violin and Other Jewish Fairy Tales by
Tales of magic and wonder can be found in every phase of Jewish literature, from the sacred to the secular. The fairy tale in particular--set in enchanted lands and populated with a variety of human and supernatural beings, both good and evil--holds a very special place in the Jewishtradition. For in the fairy tale, where good and evil engage in a timeless struggle, we have a clear reflection of the Jewish world view, where faith in God can defeat the evil impulse.In Elijah's Violin, Howard Schwartz offers a sumptuous collection of thirty-six Jewish fairy tales from virtually every corner of the world. At once otherworldy and earthy, pious and playful, these celebrated tales from Morocco and India, Spain and Eastern Europe, Babylon and Egypt, illustratenot only their Jewish character but also their universality of themes. Invoking the biblical tale of David and Goliath, we read as King David defeats the giant by hovering above its spear in King David and the Giant. In the romantic tale of The Princess in the Tower, a variant of Rapunzel, we watchas the cautious King Solomon recognizes the vanity in trying to prevent Providence from taking place. And we see the religious nature of the quest for Elijah's violin in the title story. The successful completion of the king's quest enables the violin's imprisoned melodies, emblematic of the Jewishspirit, to be set free.Throughout this richly illustrated collection, one can find the quests and riddles of the traditional fairy tale along with the divine intervention that characterizes the Jewish fairy tale. Skillfully translated, these stories will captivate children and adults alike in which romance and magicbecome enchantingly entwined with faith, duty, and wisdom.
Chinese Folklore Tales by
Taoism, Confucianism and Buddhism have been major influences on Chinese folklore tales. Events of legend and history, romance and human nature, explanations of nature and landscape, and themes of the supernatural; these are some of the explorations of Chinese myths, legends and fables. This compilation contains the following eleven stories: The Widow Ho Kwang-Jui and the God of the River The Beautiful Daughter of Liu-Kung The Fairy Bonze The Mysterious Buddhist Robe The Vengeance of the Goddess "The Wonderful Man" The God of the City The Tragedy of the Yin Family Sam-Chung and the Water Demon The Reward of a Benevolent Life
Native American myths and legends by
More than 160 tales from eighty tribal groups gives us a rich and lively panorama of the Native American mythic heritage. From across the continent comes tales of creation and love; heroes and war; animals, tricksters, and the end of the world. In addition to mining the best folkloric sources of the nineteenth century, the editors have also included a broad selection of contemporary Native American voices. Themes include tales of human creation, monsters and monster slayers, tales of world creation, war and the warriors code, trickster tales, and much more.
Kamala by
In this second volume of reissued classic folktales, a Punjabi woman outwits seven ruthless thieves, an Incan girl restores harmony to the empire, and a mischievous Norwegian lass thwarts her entitled landowner. Spanning centuries and continents, the stories in Kamala recall how the dazzling courage, cleverness, and power of women hold our world together.
Tales, Tunes, and Tassa Drums by
Today's popular tassa drumming emerged from the fragments of transplanted Indian music traditions half-forgotten and creatively recombined, rearticulated, and elaborated into a dynamic musical genre. A uniquely Indo-Trinidadian form, tassa drumming invites exploration of how the distinctive nature of the Indian diaspora and its relationship to its ancestral homeland influenced Indo-Caribbean music culture. Music scholar Peter Manuel traces the roots of neotraditional music genres like tassa drumming to North India and reveals the ways these genres represent survivals, departures, or innovative elaborations of transplanted music forms. Drawing on ethnographic work and a rich archive of field recordings, he contemplates the music carried to Trinidad by Bhojpuri-speaking and other immigrants, including forms that died out in India but continued to thrive in the Caribbean. His reassessment of ideas of creolization, retention, and cultural survival defies suggestions that the diaspora experience inevitably leads to the loss of the original culture, while also providing avenues to broader applications for work being done in other ethnic contexts.
Sky Loom by
Sky Loom offers a dazzling introduction to Native American myths, stories, and songs drawn from previous collections by acclaimed translator and poet Brian Swann. With a general introduction by Swann, Sky Loom is a stunning collection that provides a glimpse into the intricacies and beauties of story and myth, placing them in their cultural, historical, and linguistic contexts. Each of the twenty-six selections is translated and introduced by a well-known expert on Native oral literatures and offers entry into the cultures and traditions of several different tribes and bands, including the Yupiit and the Tlingits of the polar North; the Coast Salish and the Kwakwaka'wakw of the Pacific Northwest; the Navajos, the Pimas, and the Yaquis of the Southwest; the Lakota Sioux and the Plains Crees of the Great Plains; the Ojibwes of the Great Lakes; the Naskapis and the Eastern Crees of the Hudson Bay area in Canada; and the Munsees of the Northeast. Sky Loom takes the reader on a wide-ranging journey through literary traditions older than the "discovery" of the New World.
Classical Arabic Stories by
Short fiction was an immensely innovative art in the medieval Arab world, providing the perfect vehicle for transmitting dazzling images of life and experiences as early as pre-Islamic times. These works also speak to the urbanization of the Arab domain after Islam, mirroring the bustling life of the Muslim Arabs and Islamized Persians and reflecting the sure stamp of an urbanity that had settled very staunchly after big conquests. All the noises and voices of the Umayyads and Abbasids are here. One can taste the flavor of Abbasid food, witness the rise of slave girls and singers, and experience the pride of state. Reading these texts today illuminates the wide spectrum of early Arab life and suggests the influences and innovations that flourished so vibrantly in medieval Arab society. The only resource of its kind, Salma Khadra Jayyusi's Classical Arabic Stories selects from an impressive corpus, including excerpts from seven seminal works: Ibn Tufail's novel, Hayy ibn Yaqzan; Kalila wa Dimna by Ibn al-Muqaffa; The Misers by al-Jahiz; The Brethren of Purity's The Protest of Animals Against Man; Al-Maqamat (The Assemblies) by al-Hamadhani and al-Hariri; Epistle of Forgiveness by al-Ma'arri; and the epic romance, Sayf Bin Dhi Yazan. Jayyusi organizes her anthology thematically, beginning with a presentation of pre-Islamic tales, stories of rulers and other notables, and thrilling narratives of danger and warfare. She follows with tales of love, religion, comedy, and the strange and the supernatural. Long assumed to be the lesser achievement when compared to Arabic literature's most celebrated genre-poetry-classical Arabic fiction, under Jayyusi's careful eye, finally receives a proper debut in English, demonstrating its unparalleled contribution to the evolution of medieval literature and its sophisticated representation of Arabic culture and life.
American Folktales by
This two-volume collection of folktales represents some of the finest examples of American oral tradition. Drawn from the largest archive of American folk culture, the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress, this set comprises magic tales, legends, jokes, tall tales and personal narratives, many of which have never been transcribed before, much less published, in a sweeping survey. Eminent folklorist and award-winning author Carl Lindahl selected and transcribed over 200 recording sessions - many from the 1920s and 1930s - that span the 20th century, including recent material drawn from the September 11 Project. Included in this varied collection are over 200 tales organized in chapters by storyteller, tale type or region, and representing diverse American cultures, from Appalachia and the Midwest to Native American and Latino traditions. Each chapter begins by discussing the storytellers and their oral traditions before presenting and introducing each tale, making this collection accessible to high school students, general readers or scholars.
Voices from Four Directions by
Storytelling and singing continue to be a vital part of community life for Native peoples today. Voices from Four Directions gathers stories and songs from thirty-one Native groups in North Americaincluding the Inupiaqs in the frigid North, the Lushootseeds along the forested coastline of the far West, the Catawbas in the humid South, and the Maliseets of the rugged woods of the East. Vivid stories of cosmological origins and transformation, historical events remembered and retold, as well as legendary fables can be found in these pages. Well-known Trickster figures like Raven, Rabbit, and Coyote figure prominently in several tales as do heroes of local fame such as Tom Laporte of the Maliseets. The stories and songs entertain, instruct, and recall rich legacies as well as obligations. Many are retellings and reinventions of classic narratives, while others are more recent creations."
Jasmine and Coconuts by
Lush tropical lands, exotic flora and fauna, colorful clothing, and the spirit and influence of Hinduism are some of the wonders to be seen in Southern India. Among the many lively sounds are the those of traditional and contemporary stories as found in this collection. Tales of tricksters, heroes, and sages as well as modern jokes, true stories, and teaching stories 42 tales total, balanced in length, mood, and age appeal can be found in this unique anthology. With the stories, the authors give a historical overview of the region and detailed storytelling notes. Color photos and elegant line drawings complement the text, as does a resource listing of books, centers, Web sites, and a calendar of South Indian festivals. A beautiful introduction to a fascinating culture and people.
Wise Women by
Strong women who prevail and triumph using their intelligence, courage, or resourcefulness are celebrated in this gathering of stories for all ages. It features legends, folklore, and fairy tales from such far-flung places as the Punjab, Africa, China, Japan, the Middle East, and Europe and from places close at hand-Hawaii, New England, and the Ozarks. Some of the tales are reprinted from their original telling, others are completely retold. All are excellent for read-alouds, story time, or reading programs. Also of interest to students of literature, storytelling, or women's studies.
Russian Folk Belief by
"Fascinating ... a valuable introduction to the Russian version of a very important topic". -- The New York Times Book Review
Ancient Egyptian Myths and Legends by
This superb in-depth survey explores animism, totemism, fetishism, creation myths, Egyptian priesthood, cult of Osiris, numerous deities, Book of the Dead, alchemy, Egyptian art and magic, legends, and a host of other fascinating topics. An erudite, clearly written work, enhanced with over 50 photographs and illustrations.
Tales from the Taiwanese by
Although there are many collections of Chinese folktales, few if any focus specifically on the tales of Taiwan, which have evolved in a tradition separate and distinct from that of mainland China. This wonderful sampling of more than 20 Taiwanese tales will appeal to all ages, illuminating Taiwanese culture and demonstrating Taiwanese values and ethics. In addition, readers will find a brief history of the island, discussion questions, and activity ideas to extend learning and enjoyment, as well as simple Taiwanese recipes, color photos, and traditional drawings. Stories can be read aloud to younger students, while older children will enjoy reading and performing them on their own. This delightful introduction to Taiwanese traditions is a superb educational tool, and a great addition to the storytelling shelf. Grades K-12.
African Folktales in the New World by
"These essays . . . are of immense importance to anyone interested in the issues of origins and folklore texts." --Choice " . . . this is Bascom at his best. . . . an attractive and full-bodied book." --Fabula These essays, devoted to traditional narratives found in Africa and in the New World, represent the last major research project of William Bascom (1912-1981), eminent authority on African art and folklore--his intention was to demonstrate the African roots of African American folktales.
Brazilian Folktales by
A rich brew of more than 40 traditional Brazilian tales--from creation stories and stories of enchantment to animal and trickster tales--draws on the varied cultural traditions of indigenous peoples, people of African descent, those of European (and particularly Portuguese) descent, and mixtures of these groups. The stories are retold by today's accomplished Brazilian storytellers. Also includes background information on the country and the tales, color photographs, traditional recipes, and children's games. Brazil, the largest country in South America, covers a vast terrain that ranges from the tropical rain forests of the Amazon basin and upland farms, to towering mountains and sandy beaches; from highly populated urban centers to virtually inaccessible interior jungle regions. Its population is composed of indigenous peoples (e.g., Tupy, Kaxinawa, Taulipang), people of African descent, those of European (mostly Portuguese) descent, and mixtures of these groups. Drawing on the varied cultural traditions and ethnic diversity of the country, this collection offers readers a rich brew of traditional Brazilian tales--from creation stories and stories of enchantment to animal and trickster tales. More than 40 stories are included, along with background information, color photographs, recipes, and games. There are very few collections of Brazilian folktales currently available in English, and none with this depth and range. This is a wonderful treasury for storytellers, folklorists, and educators. Also a great resource for educators planning units on the Amazon rain forest! All grade levels.
Indonesian Folktales by
The world's largest archipelago, Indonesia is home to hundreds of ethnic groups with diverse cultures and languages. Focusing on the rich heritage of the country, this latest addition to the highly acclaimed World Folklore Series presents 29 stories from across Indonesia, most of which have never been published in the English language. Build your multicultural collection or expand your repertoire with tales that provide a moving and colorful image of the diversity and richness of the people and lands of Indonesia. Six thematic groups are presented: Jealous and Envious Brothers and Sisters; Stories of Independent Princesses; Stories of Ungrateful Children; Stories about Rice; Stories of Place Legends; and Stories of How Things Come to Be. All Levels
Dragon Tales by
In China, there are many fantastic stories and legends about the dragon, and this collection contains 35 of the finest classical and modern examples. The Rakshas and the Sea Market and The Princess of the West Lake, both by the well-known Qing Dynasty writer, Pu Songling, tell of the wonders of a dragon palace and of love between dragons and human beings. These intriguing tales reflect the rich imagination and long history of the Chinese people.
Behind Closed Doors by
Tunis has a long history of city life reaching back to ancient times. The Arabic language is firmly rooted among its inhabitants and most embrace the morals and culture of Islam. Behind Closed Doors presents forty-seven tales told by three Beldi women, members of a historic and highly civilized community, the city's traditional elite. Tale-telling is important to all Beldi women, and the book examines its role in their shared world and its significance in the lives of the three tellers. Tales are told at communal gatherings to share and pass on Beldi women's secret lore of love, marriage and destiny. Ghaya Sa'diyya and Kheira tell stories which echo their life experience and have deep meanings for them. Their tales reflect accepted moral codes, and yet many depict attitudes, relationships, and practices that contradict established norms. Whereas Kheira presents a conservative and moralistic view of the role of women, Sa'diyya's heroines are alive with sexual energy, and Ghaya's stories also offer racy and rebellious comments on a woman's lot. These contradictory visions offer a kaleidoscopic view of the position of women in the rich life of a historic North African city.
The Turnip Princess and Other Newly Discovered Fairy Tales by
A rare discovery in the world of fairy tales--now for the first time in English Move over, Cinderella: Make way for the Turnip Princess! And for the "Cinderfellas" in these stories, which turn our understanding of gender in fairy tales on its head. With this volume, the holy trinity of fairy tales--the Brothers Grimm, Charles Perrault, and Hans Christian Andersen--becomes a quartet. In the 1850s, Franz Xaver von Schönwerth traversed the forests, lowlands, and mountains of northern Bavaria to record fairy tales, gaining the admiration of even the Brothers Grimm. Most of Schönwerth's work was lost--until a few years ago, when thirty boxes of manuscripts were uncovered in a German municipal archive. Now, for the first time, Schönwerth's lost fairy tales are available in English. Violent, dark, and full of action, and upending the relationship between damsels in distress and their dragon-slaying heroes, these more than seventy stories bring us closer than ever to the unadorned oral tradition in which fairy tales are rooted, revolutionizing our understanding of a hallowed genre. For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,500 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.
Fairy Tale as Myth, Myth as Fairy Tale by
" Explores the historical rise of the literary fairy tale as genre in the late seventeenth century. In his examinations of key classical fairy tales, Zipes traces their unique metamorphoses in history with stunning discoveries that reveal their ideological relationship to domination and oppression. Tales such as Beauty and the Beast, Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, and Rumplestiltskin have become part of our everyday culture and shapers of our identities. In this lively work, Jack Zipes explores the historical rise of the literary fairy tale as genre in the late seventeenth century and examines the ideological relationship of classic fairy tales to domination and oppression in Western society. The fairy tale received its most "mythic" articulation in America. Consequently, Zipes sees Walt Disney's Snow White as an expression of American male individualism, film and literary interpretations of L. Frank Baum's The Wizard of Oz as critiques of American myths, and Robert Bly's Iron John as a misunderstanding of folklore and traditional fairy tales. This book will change forever the way we look at the fairy tales of our youth.
Beyond the Hero by
These classic stories portray that part of the male psyche that is normally buried under conventional male roles, heroic ideals, and patriarchal ambitions, breaking dramatically with traditional masculine values and typical stereotypes.
Egyptian Legends and Stories by
A "collection of legends, fables, songs, and prayers" from ancient Egyptian texts.
Werewolves, Witches, and Wandering Spirits by
Bringing together scholars from Europe, America, and Australia, this volume explores the more fantastic elements of popular religious belief: ghosts, werewolves, spiritualism, animism, and of course, witchcraft. These traditional religious belief and practices are frequently treated as marginal in more synthetic studies of witchcraft and popular religion, yet Protestants and Catholics alike saw ghosts, imps, werewolves, and other supernatural entities as populating their world. Embedded within notarial and trial records are accounts that reveal the integration of folkloric and theological elements in early modern spirituality. Drawing from extensive archival research, the contributors argue for the integration of such beliefs into our understanding of late medieval and early modern Europe.
The Egyptian Myths by
This survey of Egyptian mythology explores how the ancient Nile-dwellers explained the world around them. It delves into the creation and evolution of the world and the reigns of the gods on earth, before introducing us to the manifestations of Egypt's deities in the natural environment; the inventive ways in which the Egyptians dealt with the invisible forces all around them; and their beliefs about life after death. Through his engaging narrative, Garry Shaw guides us through the mythic adventures of such famous deities as Osiris, the god murdered by his jealous brother Seth; the magical and sometimes devious Isis, who plotted to gain the power of the sun god Re; and Horus, who defeated his uncle Seth to become king of Egypt. He also introduces us to lesser known myths, such as the rebellions against Re; Geb's quest for Re's magical wig; and the flaying of the unfortunate god Nemty. From stars and heavenly bodies sailing on boats, to the wind as manifestation of the god Shu, to gods, goddesses, ghosts, and demons--beings that could be aggressive, helpful, wise, or dangerous--Shaw goes on to explain how the Egyptians encountered the mythological in their everyday lives.
Tales from Within the Clouds by
South of the clouds, in the land of the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, dwell the descendants of a once pastoral people, the Nakhi. In ancient times, family names were passed from mother to child, there were no marriages, and women alone raised children. (In the Nakhi language, there is no word for "father.") Today there are still Nakhi who follow these traditions, and Nakhi folktales reflect these beliefs. In the legends presented here we are introduced to a fantastic cast of characters: plants, insects, animals-all of them female! We discover why the Sun, hot-tempered and impetuous, is unpleasant to look at, while the graceful Moon attracts us with her silvery light; why the goat complains and her sister, the sheep, only murmurs "ba-ba"; why the azalea, for all her beauty, lives the shortest and saddest of lives. The ten stories, each illustrated with delightful paintings by celebrated artist Li Ji, welcome us into the unique and little-known world of the Nakhi.
Rapunzel by
Surely among the most original and gifted of children's book illustrators, Paul O. Zelinsky has once again with unmatched emotional authority, control of space, and narrativecapability brought forth a unique vision for an age-old tale. Few artists at work today can touch the level at which his paintings tell a story and exert their hold.Zelinsky's retelling of Rapunzel reaches back beyond the Grimms to a late-seventeenth-century French tale by Mlle. la Force, who based hers on the Neapolitan tale Petrosinella in a collection popular at the time. The artist understands the story's fundamentals to be about possessiveness, confinement, and separation, rather than about punishment and deprivation. Thus the tower the sorceress gives Rapunzel here is not a desolate, barren structure of denial but one of esoteric beauty on the outside and physical luxury within. And the world the artist creates through the elements in his paintings the palette, control of light, landscape, characters, architecture,interiors, costumes speaks to us not of an ugly witch who cruelly imprisons a beautiful young girl, but of a mother figure who powerfully resists her child's inevitable growth, and of a young woman and man who must struggle in the wilderness for the self-reliance that is the true beginningof their adulthood.As ever, and yet always somehow in newly arresting fashion, Paul O. Zelinsky's work thrillingly shows us the events of the story while guiding us beyond them to the truths that have made it endure.
The Talking Eggs by
The author of such delights as The Christmas Ark and The Enchanted Tapestry joins forces with illustrator Pinkney to resurrect a colorful folktale that captures the unique flavor of the American South. A 1989 Caldecott Honor Book.
The Dial Book of Animal Tales from Around the World by
Animal tales, such as "The Musicians of Bremen," are retold with attractive illustrations.
Annotated Hans Christian Andersen by
In her most ambitious annotated work to date, Maria Tatar celebrates the stories told by Denmark's "perfect wizard" and re-envisions Hans Christian Andersen as a writer who casts his spell on both children and adults. Andersen's most beloved tales, such as "The Emperor's New Clothes," "The Ugly Duckling," and "The Little Mermaid," are now joined by "The Shadow" and "Story of a Mother," mature stories that reveal his literary range and depth. Tatar captures the tales' unrivaled dramatic and visual power, showing exactly how Andersen became one of the world's ten most translated authors, along with Shakespeare, Dickens, and Marx. Lushly illustrated with more than one hundred fifty rare images, many in full color, by artists such as Arthur Rackham and Edmund Dulac, The Annotated Hans Christian Andersen will captivate readers with annotations that explore the rich social and cultural dimensions of the nineteenth century and construct a compelling portrait of a writer whose stories still fascinate us today.
The Magic Fish by
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR by the New York Public Library * Kirkus Reviews * Booklist * Publishers Weekly Tiến loves his family and his friends...but Tiến has a secret he's been keeping from them, and it might change everything. An amazing YA graphic novel that deals with the complexity of family and how stories can bring us together. Real life isn't a fairytale. But Tiến still enjoys reading his favorite stories with his parents from the books he borrows from the local library. It's hard enough trying to communicate with your parents as a kid, but for Tiến, he doesn't even have the right words because his parents are struggling with their English. Is there a Vietnamese word for what he's going through? Is there a way to tell them he's gay? A beautifully illustrated story by Trung Le Nguyen that follows a young boy as he tries to navigate life through fairytales, an instant classic that shows us how we are all connected. The Magic Fish tackles tough subjects in a way that accessible with readers of all ages, and teaches us that no matter what--we can all have our own happy endings.
Fables Vol. 8: Wolves by
Collecting issues #48-51 of writer and creator Bill Willingham's award-winning Vertigo series, WOLVES also includes newly-created maps of Fabletown and the Homelands illustrated by Willingham and, as a special bonus, Willingham's complete script to the double-sized issue #50.
Fables Vol. 7: Arabian Nights (and Days) by
Collecting issues #42-47 of writer Bill Willingham's Eisner Award-winning creation, FABLES: ARABIAN NIGHTS (AND DAYS) opens a new front in the struggle between the Fables and the Adversary as the worlds of the Arabian Fables are invaded -- leading to an unprecedented diplomatic mission to Fabletown and a bad case of culture shock! This seventh volume of the popular Vertigo series also includes "The Ballad of Rodney and June," the 2-part story of forbidden love among the Adversary's wooden soldiers, and features stellar Art by Mark Buckingham, Steve Leialoha, Jim Fern, Jimmy Palmiotti and Andrew Pepoy.
The Graphic Canon, Vol. 1 by
A gorgeous, one-of-a-kind trilogy brings classic literature of the world together with legendary graphic artists and illustrators. Volume 1 whirls from eye-popping renditions of the great epics like The Odyssey and The Canterbury Tales; to Robert Crumb's rarely seen adaptation of Boswell's London Journal; from the Book of Esther from the Old Testament to Hinduism's Bhagavad Gita; from three of Shakespeare's greatest plays (including a manga Macbeth) to Gulliver's Travels; all the way to the decadent French classic Dangerous Liasons. And much, much, much more.
The Day It Snowed Tortillas / El Día que Nevaron Tortillas by
A Joe Hayes' classic, revealing the wit and wisdom of Hispanic New Mexico folklore. Kids of all ages are always asking Joe Hayes, "How can it snow tortillas?" Well, now they can find the answer in the bilingual edition of Joe's signature book The Day It Snowed Tortillas. Bloomsbury Review listed the original English-only edition as one of their fifteen all-time favorite children's books. This bilingual edition has all the original stories as they have evolved in the last twenty years of Joe's storytelling. It also has new illustrations by award-winning artist Antonio Castro L. Storytellers have been telling these stories in the villages of New Mexico since the Spanish first came to the New World over four hundred years ago, but Joe always adds his own nuances for modern audiences. The tales are full of magic and fun. In the title story, for instance, a very clever woman saves her silly husband from a band of robbers--by making the old man believe it snowed tortillas during the night! In another story, a young boy gladly gives up all of his wages for good advice. His parents think he is a fool, but the good advice leads to wealth and a royal marriage. The enchantment continues in story after story--a clever thief tricks a king for his kingdom and a prince finds his beloved in a house full of wicked step-sisters. And of course, we listen to the ancient tale of the weeping woman, La Llorona, who still searches for her drowned children along the riverbanks.*** Lectores de todas las edades siempre le preguntan a Joe Hayes: "¿Cómo puede nevar tortillas?" Pues ahora pueden encontrar la respuesta en esta versión bilingüe de este libro clásico de Joe Hayes. El Bloomsbury Review nombro la versión original de inglés como uno de sus quince libros infantiles favoritos de cualquier época. Esta versión bilingüe incluye todos los cuentos originales, con todos los nuevos trucos de cuentista que Joe les ha añadido después de veinte años de contarlos. Las historias también están acompañados por ilustraciones por el premiado artista Antonio Castro Lopez. Cuentistas han contado estas historias en los pueblos de Nuevo Mexico desde hace más que 400 años, pero Joe siempre les añade toques modernos para los lectores. Los cuentos están llenos de magia y diversión. Por ejemplo, en la historia titular, una mujer muy astuta salva a su tonto esposo de una banda de rateros. ¡Le hace creer al hombre que durante la noche nevaron tortillas! En otra historia, un niño intercambia todo su salario por un buen consejo. Sus padres creen que fue un tonto, pero el consejo lo lleva a tener riquezas y un matrimonio real. El encanto continua cuento a cuento: un ingenioso ratero engaña a un rey por su reino y un príncipe encuentra a su amada en una casa llena de hermanastras malvadas. Y claro, volvemos a escuchar la antigua historia de La Llorona, que sigue buscando a sus hijos a la orilla del río.
Spellbound by
In examining the relationship between fairy tales and Victorian culture, Molly Clark Hillard concludes that the Victorians were "spellbound": novelists, poets, and playwrights were self-avowedly enchanted by these tales. At the same time, Spellbound: The Fairy Tale and the Victorians shows that literary genres were bound to the fairy tale and dependent on its forms and figures to make meaning. But these "spellbound" literary artists also feared that fairy tales exuded an originative power that pervaded and precluded authored work. In part to dispel the fairy tale's potency, Victorians resolved this tension by treating the form as a nostalgic refuge from an industrial age, a quaint remnant of the pre-literacy of childhood and peasantry, and a form fit not for modern gentlemen but rather for old wives. Through close readings of the novels of Dickens, Eliot, and Charlotte Brontë; the poetry of Tennyson and Christina Rossetti; the visual artistry of Burne-Jones and Punch; and the popular theatricals of dramatists like Planche and Buckingham, Spellbound opens fresh territory into well-traversed titles of the Victorian canon. Hillard demonstrates that these literary forms were all cross-pollenated by the fairy tale and that their authors were--however reluctantly--purveyors of disruptive fairy tale matter over which they had but imperfect control.
The Djinn in the Nightingale's Eye by
A stunning collection of fairy tales for grown-ups from the Booker Prize-winning author of Possession, a "storyteller who could keep a sultan on the edge of his throne for a thousand and one nights" (The New York Times Book Review). Includes the story "The Djinn in the Nightingale's Eye"--the basis for the George Miller film Three Thousand Years of Longing starring Idris Elba and Tilda Swinton A.S. Byatt portrays the strange relationship between an intelligent heroine--a world-renowned scholar of the art of storytelling--and the marvelous being that lives in a bottle, found in a dusty shop in an Istanbul bazaar. As Byatt renders the relationship between the woman and the being with a powerful combination of erudition and passion, she makes the interaction of the natural and the supernatural seem not only convincing, but inevitable. The companion stories in this collection each display different facets of Byatt's remarkable gift for enchantment. They range from fables of sexual obsession to allegories of political tragedy; they draw us into narratives that are as mesmerizing as dreams and as bracing as philosophical meditations; and they all inhabit an imaginative universe astonishing in the precision of its detail, its intellectual consistency, and its splendor.
Aesop's Fables by
'The story goes that a sow who had delivered a whole litter of piglets loudly accosted a lioness. "How many children do you breed?" asked the sow. "I breed only one", said the lioness, "but it is very well bred!"'The fables of Aesop have become one of the most enduring traditions of European culture, ever since they were first written down nearly two millennia ago. Aesop was reputedly a tongue-tied slave who miraculously received the power of speech; from his legendary storytelling came the collections ofprose and verse fables scattered throughout Greek and Roman literature. First published in English by Caxton in 1484, the fables and their morals continue to charm modern readers: who does not know the story of the tortoise and the hare, or the boy who cried wolf?This new translation is the first to represent all the main fable collections in ancient Latin and Greek, arranged according to the fables' contents and themes. It includes 600 fables, many of which come from sources never before translated into English.
The Annotated Brothers Grimm by
Of all of the rich fairy-tale collections that exist in countries throughout the world, few are better known than those gathered almost two centuries ago by a pair of German brothers--Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm--in their Children's Stories and Household Tales, first published in 1812. Endlessly recast and reimagined in poetry and prose, on the screen and onstage, these stories are forever etched in our imagination. Here, in this bicentennial edition of The Annotated Brothers Grimm, Maria Tatar presents these timeless stories in a sumptuous and visually powerful format that helps reshape our understanding of the Brothers Grimm. Drawing from the final authoritative version in the mid-nineteenth century, Tatar, an internationally recognized scholar in the field of folklore and children's literature, has translated and provided commentary for more than fifty Grimm stories, judiciously selecting tales that resonate with modern audiences and reveal the broad thematic range of the Grimm canon. Readers young and old will encounter popular classics, including "Little Red Riding Hood," "Cinderella," "Snow White," and "Rapunzel," while discovering some of the lesser known yet equally captivating stories such as "Four Artful Brothers," "The Water of Life," and "The White Snake," all new to this edition. Perhaps most noteworthy is Tatar's decision to include tales excised from later editions, including a number of "adult" stories that were removed once the Grimms realized that parents were reading the stories to children. Tatar's own translations are accompanied by insightful annotations that search for origins, uncover cultural complexities, and explore psychological effects. Nearly two hundred images of exquisite beauty, many of them new to this edition--by artists such as George Cruikshank, Gustave Doré, Kay Nielsen, and Arthur Rackham--are reproduced alongside the stories. With a brilliant introductory essay by A. S. Byatt, along with the Grimms' original prefaces to their editions, a collection of reminiscences about "The Magic of Fairy Tales," and essays on the lives of the Brothers Grimm and the cultural impact of their tales, The Annotated Brothers Grimm captures the magical appeal of the tales while also unlocking their potent mysteries. In the tradition of Bruno Bettelheim's The Uses of Enchantment, this volume shows how the Grimms' fairy tales animate our imaginations and remain with us long after we have put them aside. The Bicentennial Edition of The Annotated Brothers Grimm offers a treasury of cultural lore and wisdom that has been passed on from one generation to the next.
Cerberus, the dog of hades by
Maurice Bloomfield was an American philologist and Sanskrit scholar. Cerberus, The Dog of Hades discusses Cerberus in Greek and Roman literature, Cerberus in classical art, Veda, the two dogs of Yama, the two dogs of heaven, Cerberi in Norse and Persian myths, and other topics. In Greek and Roman mythology Cerberus is a multi-headed hound (usually three-headed, who guards the gates of Hades to prevent those who have crossed the river Styx from ever escaping.
The Jealous Potter by
As Lévi-Strauss freely explores the mythologies of the Americas, with occasional incursions into European and Japanese folklore, tales of sloths and squirrels interweave with discussions of Freud, Saussure, "signification," and plays by Sophocles and Labiche. Lévi-Strauss critiques psychoanalytic interpretation and defends the interpretive powers of structuralism. "Electrifying. . . . A brilliant demonstration of structural analysis in action. . . . Can be read with pleasure and profit by anyone interested in that aspect of self-discovery that comes through knowledge of the universal and timeless myths that live on in all of us."--Jonathan Sharp, San Francisco Examiner-Chronicle "A characteristic tour de force. . . . One remains awed by him."--Colin Thubron, Sunday Times "With all its epistemological depth, the book reads at times like a Simenon or a Lewis Carroll, fusing concise methodology with mastery of style."--Bernadette Bucher, American Ethnologist "[An] engagingly provocative exploration of mythology in the Americas. . . . Always a good read."--Choice "A playful, highly entertaining book, fluently and elegantly translated by Bénédicte Chorier."--Wendy Doniger O'Flaherty, New York Times Book Review
Beijing Legends by
Compiled by Jin Shoushen, a gentleman whose family lived for many generations in Beijing. These folktales, with their genuine Chinese flavor, carry the reader back to the building of Beijing as the Ming Dynasty capital in 1421. Dealing with the city's layout, some of its chief monuments, place names and different legends, the tales give the reader a fascinating glimpse of the life of rulers as well as of ordinary people.
Pitch Woman and Other Stories by
The rich oral traditions of the Athabaskan Indians from southwestern Oregon are showcased in these pages for the first time. This volume features vivid and humorous tales of familiar Tricksters: Coyote, known for his unusual sexual prowess and escapades that often go awry; the vain and gullible Grizzly Bear; and Raccoon, often greedy and ever elusive. The collection also includes the less familiar but all-too-human stories of Pitch Woman, Little Man, the unicorn-like Hollering-Like-a-Person, and other local figures, all of which add to the wealth of Native oral literature in the Pacific Northwest. nbsp; In 1935 Elizabeth D. Jacobs conducted ethnographic fieldwork with survivors of several Athabaskan cultures living on the Siletz Reservation. Her work preserves the forty-seven stories recorded here as recounted by Upper Coquille consultant Coquelle Thompson Sr., an accomplished storyteller who lived through the Rogue River Wars of 1855–56. His tribal community was evicted from its homeland and resettled with other Athabaskan groups on the Siletz Reservation, where he lived for ninety years. nbsp; This volume offers a behind-the-scenes look at the collection of oral accounts, a sketch of Upper Coquille Athabaskan culture, an examination of Thompson’s storytelling, and extended analyses of four stories, including “Pitch Woman.” The reader is encouraged to “listen” to the stories with an ear attuned both to the storyteller himself and to the stories’ own cultural context.
Africa by
Many of the stories in this extraordinary collection of myths and legends from all corners of southern Africa have similarities to Western tales. This is no accident since the stories of Uncle Remus, Brer Rabbit and Aesop's Fables are thought to have originated in Africa.
Myth and deity in Japan : the interplay of Kami and Buddhas by
"Shinto is a tradition native to Japan that arose naturally on the eastern fringe of the Eurasian continent and was woven over many years into the fabric of people's everyday lives. When Buddhism entered the country in the sixth century, the two religions--rather than competing with or seeking to marginalize the other--coalesced, embracing many other folk deities as well to create a singular combinatory religious culture that continues to permeate Japan's cultural life today. This English translation of a book originally written in Japanese by one of the country's most knowledgeable, penetrating, and eclectic scholars of Japanese religion and spirituality presents an engaging overview of the country's religious legacy, as well as offering insights into how religion can become a force for peaceful coexistence, rather than violent extremism"
Women Who Run with the Wolves by
"WOMEN WHO RUN WITH THE WOLVES isn't just another book. It is a gift of profound insight, wisdom, and love. An oracle from one who knows." Alice Walker Within every woman there is a wild and natural creature, a powerful force, filled with good instincts, passionate creativity, and ageless knowing. Her name is Wild Woman, but she is an endangered species. Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Ph.D., Jungian analyst and cantadora storyteller shows how women's vitality can be restored through what she calls "psychic archeological digs" into the ruins of the female unconsious. Using multicultural myths, fairy tales, folk tales, and stories, Dr. Estes helps women reconnect with the healthy, instinctual, visionary attributes of the Wild Woman archetype. Dr. Estes has created a new lexicon for describing the female psyche. Fertile and life-giving, it is a psychology of women in the truest sense, a knowing of the soul.
The folklore of fairy-tale by
Originally published in 1924, this is a fascinating book for those who have an interest in fairy tales and the influence they have upon us. Many common beliefs and superstitions have arisen due to fairy tales. Fairy tales are often taken at face value, as children we accept enchantment, monsters, talking inanimate objects. As adults, it is possible to look far deeper into these tales to find hidden meanings. This book enables anyone with a curiosity in these hidden meanings to decipher what they may be for themselves. Contents Include: Fairies, Fairy-Land and Fairy-Tales - Primitive Customs Occurring in Fairy-Tale - Primitive Beliefs Occurring in Fairy-Tale - Cinderella and the Outcast Child - Bluebeard and the Forbidden Chamber - The Separable Soul and The Life-Token - Tom Tit Tot and Rumpelstiltsken - The Swan- Maidens - Heroes, Historical and Hypothetical - Some Miscellaneous Tales
The Grimms' German folk tales by
"A complete and entirely new and independent translation of the two hundred Kinder- und Hausmärchen, together with the appended Kinderlegenden ('Religious tales concerning children')."
Indian Fairy Tales by
A leading British folklorist presents this now-classic compilation of 29 traditional tales from India. Nine full-page plates and 37 other drawings illustrate "The Lion and the Crane," "Sun, Moon, and Wind Go Out to Dinner," "The Prince and the Fakir," "The Talkative Tortoise," "Why the Fish Laughed," and other fables.
Portuguese folk-tales by
This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it.
This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work.
Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. To ensure a quality reading experience, this work has been proofread and republished using a format that seamlessly blends the original graphical elements with text in an easy-to-read typeface.
We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.
Legends of the city of Mexico by
Legends of the City of Mexico is a classic Mexican history text by Thomas A. Janvier. Mexico City is one of the oldest cities in the new world, and its long history has endowed it with numerous legends. Many of fascinating legends are related in these pages, including: Legend of Don Juan Manuel, Legend of the Obedient Dead Nun, and many others.
Folklore of American weather by
In preparing this unusual book of American weather sayings and beliefs, Eric Sloane has made a painstaking effort to separate the true from the false, investigating the origins and separating the many truly valuable pieces of weather lore from superstition, or what he calls "jackass jingles." As Mr. Sloane makes clear, folklore can be a very loose term used to cover a lack of knowledge of the very thing that folklore means: many things are passed off as folklore that are plain mistakes or inventions.
Cradle tales of Hinduism by
Our most popular introduction to Hindu mythology. Includes selections from the Ramayana and Mahabharata.
Tales of old Japan by
The member of a distinguished British literary family, A. B. Mitford traveled widely with his parents as a youth and lived in various European countries. From 1866-70, he served as an attaché with the British legation at Edo (Tokyo) — one of the first foreign diplomats to do so. During his brief stay there, Mitford lived through a period of dramatic and tumultuous change in Japanese history. A feudal nation on his arrival, Japan had entered the era of “Westernization” before he left some three years later. During that time, however, he quickly and thoroughly mastered the Japanese language and acted as an interpreter between the young Japanese Emperor and British royalty.
Mitford’s famous collection of classic tales (the first to appear in English) covers an engrossing array of subjects: grisly accounts of revenge, knightly exploits, ghost stories, fairy tales, folklore, a fascinating eyewitness account of a hara-kiri ceremony, gripping narratives of vampires and samurai, Buddhist sermons, and the plots of four Noh plays.
A treasury, as well, of information on most aspects of Japanese life, with information on locales, customs, and characters, the illustrated volume delights as it entertains, chronicling acts of heroism, devotion, ruthlessness, and chivalry that illuminate the island nation's culture.
Indian myth and legend by
The mystique of India is revealed in “India Myths and Legends,” as the author explores the ancient myths, and legends that continue to be passed down from generation to generation of Indians.
Starting from the deep ancient beginnings of India, Donald MacKenzie explores the stories that have survived thousands of years, and remain part of this great nations culture.
Speak, Bird, Speak Again by
Were it simply a collection of fascinating, previously unpublished folktales, Speak, Bird, Speak Again: Palestinian Arab Folktales would merit praise and attention because of its cultural rather than political approach to Palestinian studies. But it is much more than this. By combining their respective expertise in English literature and anthropology, Ibrahim Muhawi and Sharif Kanaana bring to these tales an integral method of study that unites a sensitivity to language with a deep appreciation for culture. As native Palestinians, the authors are well-suited to their task. Over the course of several years they collected tales in the regions of the Galilee, Gaza, and the West Bank, determining which were the most widely known and appreciated and selecting the ones that best represented the Palestinian Arab folk narrative tradition. Great care has been taken with the translations to maintain the original flavor, humor, and cultural nuances of tales that are at once earthy and whimsical. The authors have also provided footnotes, an international typology, a comprehensive motif index, and a thorough analytic guide to parallel tales in the larger Arab tradition in folk narrative. Speak, Bird, Speak Again is an essential guide to Palestinian culture and a must for those who want to deepen their understanding of a troubled, enduring people.
Land of seagull and fox; folk tales of Vietnam by
A collection of poetic legends which reveal the basic beliefs and quality of the Vietnamese people.
Tanaina Tales from Alaska by
A young Chippewa Indian from Minnesota collected these legends and stories told by the Tanaina Indians of southwestern Alaska. Called suk-tus ("legend-stories") and stemming from the seventeenth century, they are anecdotal narratives centered on a particular animal or animals common to the Tanaina country. Thus the tales are peopled with foxes, beavers, wolverines, porcupines, and other animals, some of which disguise themselves in human form for sinister purposes and all of which have human desires and weaknesses. According to the author, some embellishments in the stories certainly resulted from contact with Western civilization, particularly during the Russian and early fur-trading periods, but basically they are aboriginal Tanaina and are told as they have been handed down through oral tradition. Originally, suk-tus were related to entertain and instruct, and they are as apt to do so for today's audiences as for yesterday's, reflecting both the outlook of their originators and the nature of the environment in which they lived.
Bad medicine & good; tales of the Kiowas by
One of the great tribes of the Southwest Plains, the Kiowas were militantly defiant toward white intruders in their territory and killed more during seventy-five years of raiding than any other tribe. Now settled in southwestern Oklahoma, they are today one of the most progressive Indian groups in the area. In Bad Medicine and Good, Wilbur Sturtevant Nye collects forty-four stories covering Kiowa history from the 1700s through the 1940s, all gleaned from interviews with Kiowas (who actually took part in the events or recalled them from the accounts of their elders), and from the notes of Captain Hugh L Scott at Fort Sill. They cover such topics as the organization and conduct of a raiding party, the brave deeds of war chiefs, the treatment of white captives, the Grandmother gods, the Kiowa sun dance, and the problems of adjusting to white society.
Spider Woman Stories by
"This is a fine introduction to Hopi mythology and values. It recreates an authentic poetic spirit and makes the reader eager to read more Hopi tales." --New Mexico Humanities Review
Polynesian mythology and ancient traditional history of the New Zealand race, as furnished by their priests and chiefs by 
Clothed-in-Fur and Other Tales by
A selection of twenty-two narratives reprinted from William Jones' Ojibwa Texts.
Kwakiutl Legends by
Legends from Kwakiutl Peoples. The stories in this book relate the traditional tales which Mr. James Wallas has learned from his elders, who lived in Quatsino Sound and on Hope Island. Mr. Wallas's forefathers are members of a people known generally as the Kwakiutl, although the term is misleading because it originally referred to a sub-group living at Fort Rupert. The Kwakiutl inhabit an area which at present includes Campbell River at the southern extreme, Quatsino Sound at the western extreme, various inlets of mainland B.C. at the eastern extreme, and Smiths Inlet at the northern extreme. Traditionally, the Kwakiutl lived in villages located in this general area (excluding Campbell River an Cape Mudge) which were organized into tribes. Today, most of them live on reserves near towns, maintaining some remote villages for food preparation and preserving during the spring, summer and fall.
Forest folklore, mythology, and romance by
Originally published in 1928, this is a fascinating and extremely comprehensive guide to forest folklore. It is not only concerned with English lore and mythology, but also that of Asia and Europe. A thoroughly interesting and informative book for anyone interested in where some of our beliefs and customs originate.
Hawaiian Folk Tales by
This is an anthology of Hawaiian folklore, including pieces by Thomas Thrum and other writers. This includes many articles which were originally published in difficult to obtain journals and now-rare books. All were written in the late 19th or early 20th century, and are mostly based on first-hand oral traditions. Chapters cover topics such as resemblances to Biblical stories, myths of the gods and goddesses such as Maui and Pele, historical legends, topographical folklore, and the folklore of fishing. Of interest to the general reader will be the tales of the Menehune, the 'little people' of Hawaii, who resemble in some aspects the fairies of Europe. The Menehune are credited with numerous earth-works such as fish ponds and stone platforms. This is reminiscent of European folklore which attributes the construction of megalithic monuments to the fairies. Could the Menehune be based on a short-statured pre-Polynesian indigenous Hawaiian culture? Or, could this be a post-contact European folklore import, as some recent researchers have suggested? Hawaiian Folk Tales is one of a number of excellent period books available on this subject, and with a few exceptions, does not attempt to overly romanticize or impose western narrative structure. It makes entertaining reading both for visitors and residents of the Hawaiian islands.
Scottish Fairy and Folk Tales by
The product of a long-established oral tradition, Scottish fairy tales are full of unexpected twists and turns, delicious humor, and a rich assortment of fanciful creatures. These include brownies, kelpies, trolls, mermen, and other beings from the unseen world that pop up again and again to assist, annoy, and otherwise meddle in the lives of simple country folk.
This treasury was assembled by a noted folklorist who heard these picturesque traditional tales over a century ago while visiting in rural homes throughout Scotland. Recounted in their native vernacular, they include nursery tales and animal fables, stories of fairies, accounts of witchcraft, comic and literary lore, and more.
Shamrock and spear; tales and legends from Ireland by
Pilkington gathers here 23 folktales which she considers "purely Irish." This edition features Caldecott-winning Leo and Diane Dillon's pen and ink line drawings in an art nouveau style.
Pecos Bill by
Incidents from the life of Pecos Bill, from his childhood among the coyotes to his unusual wedding day.
And in the Beginning. . . by
Describes how Mahtmi created the first man from the dark rich earth of Mount Kilimanjaro and gave him a gift marking him as special.
The Story of Light by
A Native American folk tale which explains how the animals brought light into their world.
Sir Gawain and the Green Knight by
A retelling of the Arthurian tale of young Gawain's testing by the Green Knight. Sir Gawain and the Loathly Lady (1985), a companion volume, won the Kate Greenaway Medal for its illustrations by Juan Wijngaard, 1985. Recommended.
The Faber Book of Northern Folk-Tales by
The Pleiades (Denmark) -- How some wild animals became tame ones (Lapland) -- The three heads of the well (England) -- Why the sea is salt (Norway) -- The Bremen Town musicians (Germany) -- The wizards of the Vestmanna Isles (Iceland) -- The old troll of big mountain (Sweden) -- Jorinde and Joringel (Germany) -- A story is not always a stork (Denmark) -- Tom Tit Tot (England) -- Snipp, snapp, snorium (Sweden) -- The enchanted apple-tree (Flanders) -- True and untrue (Norway) -- The elf maiden (Lapland) -- The king o' the cats (England) -- Little Annie the goose-girl (Norway) -- The troll ride (Sweden) -- Annie Norn and the Fin Folk (Orkney) -- The dead man's nightcap (Iceland) -- The herd-boy and the giant (Sweden) -- Yallery Brown (England) -- The black bull of Norroway (Scotland) -- The bold soldier of Antwerp (Flanders) -- The ghost and the money-chest (Iceland) -- The water-sprite and the bear (Germany) -- Eiríkur rescues a woman from the otherworld (Iceland) -- Mr. Miacca (England) -- The three sisters who were entrapped into a mountain (Norway) -- The woman of the sea (Shetland) -- Johnnie in the cradle (Scotland) -- Peter Bull (Denmark) -- The juniper tree (Germany) -- The rich farmer and the poor farmer (Iceland) Toller's neighbours (Denmark) -- Door prayer at evening (Iceland).
Summary Thirty-five folk tales from Scandinavia, Iceland, Germany, Flanders, and the British Isles.
A story, a story; an African tale by
Recounts how most African folk tales came to be called "Spider Stories."
Baba Yaga by
Marusia and a hedgehog outwit Baba Yaga, the witch who eats bad Russian children.
The Friends of ABU ALI by
Retells three more adventures of muddle-headed Abu Ali including "The Bag of Rice," "Cake for Sale," and "The Donkey's Shadow."
The practical princess, and other liberating fairy tales by
Six unusual fairy tales include "The Practical Princess," "Stupid Marco," "The Silver Whistle," "Forgetful Fred," "Petronella," and "Philbert the Fearful".
Beowulf: an Edition by
This magnificent new edition, which includes relevant shorter texts and key illustrations, is designed specifically to help those who, while already enjoying some acquaintance with Old English, come to Beowulf for the first time.
Snow in Midsummer - Tragic Stories from Ancient China by
Six stories adapted from the noted playwright Guan Hanquing.
Tales from the Arabian nights by
King Shahryar and his brother -- The trader and the jinni -- The fisherman and the jinni -- The porter and the three ladies of Baghdad -- Ghanim Bin Ayyub, the distraught, the thrall o' love -- The birds and beasts and the carpenter -- Ali Bin Bakkar and Shams Al-Nahar -- Hatim of the tribe of Tayy -- The sweep and the noble lady -- Ali the Persian -- Abu Mohammed Hight Lazybones -- The man who stole the dish of gold wherein the dog ate -- The ruined man who became rich again through a dream -- The ebony horse -- Alaeddin; or, the wonderful lamp -- Sindbad the seaman and Sindbad the landman -- The lady and her five suitors -- Ali Baba and the forty thieves -- Julnar the sea-born and her son King Badr Basim -- Khalifah the fisherman of Baghdad -- Abu Kir the dyer and Abu Sir the barber -- Maʹaruf the cobbler and his wife Fatimah.
Traditional Chinese tales by
Hsü Yen's strange encounter, or lovers within a lover, by Wu Chün.--The ancient mirror, by Wang Tu.--The white monkey.--The disembodied soul, by Chʹen Hsüan-yu.--The magic pillow, by Shen Chi-chi.--Jonshih, or The fox lady, by Shen Chi-chi.--The dragon's daughter, by Li Ch'ao-wei.--Huo Hsiao yü, by Chiang Fang.--Li Yahsien, a loyal courtesan, by Po Hsing-chien.--The story of Ying Ying, by Yuan Chen.--Hsieh Hsiaowo, or A monkey in the carriage, by Li Kung-tso.--The Kunlun slave, by P'ei Hsing.--Yinniang the swordswoman, by P'ei Hsing.--Predestined marriage, by Li Fu-yen.--Tu Tzu-chun, by Li Fu-yen.--The jade kuanyin.--The judicial murder of Tsui Ning--The flower lover and the fairies.--The oil peddler and the queen of flowers.--The three brothers.--
Russian fairy tales by
A collection of the classic Russian folk and fairy tales.
The Twelve Dancing Princesses, and Other Fairy Tales, by
Alfred David and Mary Elizabeth Meek have compiled a collection of fairy tales that ranges from the Grimm brothers' inimitable recreations of archetypal folktales to the modern prose charm of James Thurber's Many Moons. The appeal of the stories is wide and varied: the refined intelligence of Perrault, the wondrous imagination of Andersen, the descriptive power of Ruskin, the bittersweet melancholy of Wilde. These are but a few of the artists represented in this remarkably inclusive selection of works from Germany, Russia, France, Scandinavia, England, and America. Many are in new translations in the modern idiom and all testify eloquently to the unceasing vitality of this literary genre.
Sweet-Scented Name and Other Fairy Tales and Stories by Burmese and Thai fairy tales by
A collection of humorous folk tales in which good luck is often more valued than intelligence and virtue is not always rewarded.
