"Color is a power which directly influences the soul."
~Wassily Kandinsky~
Coloring the Universe by
With a fleet of telescopes in space and giant observatories on the ground, professional astronomers produce hundreds of spectacular images of space every year. These colorful pictures have become infused into popular culture and can found everywhere, from advertising to television shows to memes. But they also invite questions: Is this what outer space really looks like? Are the colors real? And how do these images get from the stars to our screens? Coloring the Universe uses accessible language to describe how these giant telescopes work, what scientists learn with them, and how they are used to make color images. It talks about how otherwise un-seeable rays, such as radio waves, infrared light, X-rays, and gamma rays, are turned into recognizable colors. And it is filled with fantastic images taken in far-away pockets of the universe. Informative and beautiful, Coloring the Universe will give space fans of all levels an insider's look at how scientists bring deep space into brilliant focus.
250 Brief, Creative and Practical Art Therapy Techniques by
Creative, fun & fast therapeutic warm-ups! When a client walks into the therapy room they don't know what to expect-feeling anxious, unsure and perhaps fearful. Brief, art therapy warm-ups are the perfect way to break the ice and get clients feeling comfortable, less inhibited, and motivated to participate in individual or group therapy. These unique 250 art exercises increase self-esteem, self-awareness and a feeling of success in artistic expression and communication, allowing clients to engage in therapeutic exercises without judgment. Using simple materials like paper, pencils and markers, these techniques can be immediately implemented in your practice. Art techniques based in: Mindfulness CBT Self-Compassion Useful for clients dealing with: Anxiety Stress Low self-esteem Relationship issues Life changes
Art Therapy and Creative Coping Techniques for Older Adults by
Art and the therapeutic uses of art provide older adults with valuable ways in which to express and share their feelings, needs and fears, and with a resource for coping with life's major changes. This practical book is filled with step-by-step exercises for art therapists and other professionals to use in work with older adults, either individually or in groups. The author provides brief, imaginative warm-ups, which encourage participants to become more at ease expressing themselves creatively. She offers ideas for engaging and innovative creative projects across a range of media, including art, music, movement, poetry and creative writing, all of which can be adapted, personalised or combined to meet the particular needs of individual participants. Points to consider when working with this client group are explored, and case study examples, with participants' artwork, are included throughout. Appropriate for use with all relatively able older adults, including those with depression, anxiety or in the early stages of dementia, this will be an invaluable tool for art therapists as well as counsellors, psychotherapists, social workers and carers.
Child Art Therapy by
An innovative guide to the practice of art therapy Since 1978, Judith Aron Rubin's Child Art Therapy has become the classic text for conducting art therapy with children. Twenty-five years later, the book still stands as the reference for mental health professionals who incorporate art into their practice. Now, with the publication of this fully updated and revised Twenty-Fifth Anniversary Edition, which includes a DVD that illustrates art therapy techniques in actual therapy settings, this pioneering guide is available to train, inform, and inspire a new generation of art therapists and those seeking to introduce art therapy into their clinical practice. The text illustrates how to: Set the conditions for creative growth, assess progress, and set goals for therapy Use art in individual, group, and family situations, including parent-child pairings, mothers' groups, and adolescent groups Work with healthy children and those with disabilities Guide parents through art and play Talk about art work and encourage art production Decode nonverbal messages contained in art and the art-making process Use scribbles, drawings, stories, poems, masks, and other methods to facilitate expression Understand why and how art therapy works Along with the useful techniques and activities described, numerous case studies taken from Rubin's years of practice add a vital dimension to the text, exploring how art therapy works in the real world of children's experience. Original artwork from clients and the author illuminate the material throughout. Written by an internationally recognized art therapist, Child Art Therapy, Twenty-Fifth Anniversary Edition is a comprehensive guide for learning about, practicing, and refining child art therapy.
Studio Art Therapy by
Arguing that the profession of art therapy has its roots in the studio environment, Catherine Moon proposes that it is now time to reclaim these roots, and make art once again central to art therapy. She suggests that there has been a tendency for art therapy not merely to interact with and be enriched by other perspectives - psychological, social, anthropological and transpersonal - but to be subsumed by them. For this reason she makes a clear distinction between using art in one's practice of therapy, and working from an art-based model. This book presents a model of art therapy where the products and processes of art constitute the core of the model, rather than serving as the impetus for adaptations of other theories of counselling or therapy. It addresses how an arts-based approach can inform the therapist in all aspects of practice, from the conception of the work and the attempt to understand client needs to interacting with clients and communicating with others about the profession of art therapy.
Integrated into the book are stories about the work of art therapists, art therapy students and those who seek help in art therapy, presenting the theory behind studio art therapy and bringing it to life. Moon believes that the arts have something unique to offer to the therapeutic process which distinguish the arts therapies from other therapeutic professions. This book is a comprehensive and engaging exploration of the possibilities inherent in the therapeutic use of the arts.
Clayworks in Art Therapy by
Clay is universally recognized as a medium of creative expression, and it also has great potential for therapeutic application. These two properties of clay are celebrated together in a book that explores the history, theory and techniques of claywork in eliciting therapeutic outcomes. Vignettes and case material explain and expand the text, which interweaves an appreciation of clay in art with many practical suggestions for its use in therapy. By according equal status to aesthetic outcomes and artistic integrity, the author offers a new and holistic approach to claywork. Practitioners and educators in the fields of therapy and art will find his book to be an essential source of information and ideas.
Crafting History by
What constitutes an archive in architecture? What forms does it take? What epistemology does it perform? What kind of craft is archiving? Crafting History provides answers and offers insights on the ontological granularity of the archive and its relationship with architecture as a complex enterprise that starts and ends much beyond the act of building or the life of a creator. In this book we learn how objects are processed and catalogued, how a classification scheme is produced, how models and drawings are preserved, and how born-digital material battles time and technology obsolescence. We follow the work of conservators, librarians, cataloguers, digital archivists, museum technicians, curators, and architects, and we capture archiving in its mundane and practical course. Based on ethnographic observation at the Canadian Centre for Architecture and interviews with a range of practitioners, including Álvaro Siza and Peter Eisenman, Albena Yaneva traces archiving through the daily work and care of all its participants, scrutinizing their variable ontology, scale, and politics. Yaneva addresses the strategies practicing architects employ to envisage an archive-based future and tells a story about how architectural collections are crafted so as to form the epistemological basis of architectural history.
Wood and Wood Joints by
Building with wood as an ecologically viable material is a tradition with a long history. In the most typical method, elements are connected by using wood joints which do not require the assistance of adhesives or metal connectors. By looking at several hundred examples from Japan, China and 18 European countries, this book describes in great detail the history of timber architecture in terms of its technical, aesthetic and ecological dimensions. This thorough study is a mine of information to specialists in this field; it opens up to the craftsman of today what has become an almost forgotten world and provides a fascinating account for the general reader. The new introduction to the third edition reviews developments since the first publication of this book in 1997.
Acrylic Fusion by
This unique reference book is designed to excite and motivate you to push beyond traditional techniques and to explore new approaches to painting. Acrylic Fusion frees you from traditional approaches to painting by exposing you to a diverse range of alternative techniques, unconventional processes, and the integration of unique materials that stimulate creativity and encourage experimentation. It's a must-have resource aimed at artists who make paintings, but it is also a great reference for any crafters, makers, and DIYers who use paint in their work, whether they make art journals, design greeting cards, or refinish furniture because the techniques can easily be adapted for many different kinds of projects and applications.
Amateur Telescope Making in the Internet Age by
Building an astronomical telescope offers the amateur astronomer an exciting challenge, with the possibility of ending up with a far bigger and better telescope than could have been afforded otherwise. In the past, the starting point has always been the grinding and polishing of at least the primary mirror, a difficult and immensely time-consuming process. But now that the Internet has brought us together in a global village, purchasing off-the-shelf goods such as parabolic mirrors, eyepieces, lenses, and telescope tubes, is possible. There are also a vast number of used mirrors and lenses out there, and it is now possible to track them down almost anywhere in the world. Online stores and auction houses have facilitated commerce regarding all sorts of useful optical components at a reasonable price.This is a book about making telescopes from available parts. It provides guidance on where to look and what to look for in selecting items useful for telescope making and explains how to assemble these components to produce an excellent instrument on a tight budget. At one time, many amateurs made their own telescopes from home-made parts. In today's rushed world, that has almost become a lost art. The Internet offers a wonderful alternative to either buying a pricey scope fully assembled or making your own from scratch.
Wild yet Tasty by
Eastern Kentucky is home to a number of breathtaking natural attractions. Over half a million visitors each year are drawn to its scenic beauty, abundant hiking trails, and exceptional rock climbing. The region also holds some of the most diverse ecosystems in the world, from forest and mountain terrain to caves and ravines. This dramatic mixture of microclimates creates a natural abundance, including numerous edible plants, not found elsewhere in the region. Many are unfamiliar with these fascinating florae species, but Wild Yet Tasty by Dan Dourson and Judy Dourson provides a wealth of information about these comestible, natural treasures. This compact guide provides a useful introduction to the most commonly found and easily identified species, ranging from well-known edibles like morels, blackberries, and persimmons to ones that are not as commonly eaten, such as toothwort, common greenbrier, and redbud. Included are detailed line drawings and descriptions to help with identification, habitat information, specifics on what parts are eatable, and suggestions for the best time to harvest. A glossary of terms and tips for preparing wild food make this guide an invaluable resource for hikers, climbers, and campers visiting the region.
Exploring the Southern Appalachian Grassy Balds by
A field guide to the unique ecosystems and mountain trails in Virginia, North Carolina, and Tennessee "Treeless wonders" of the Southern Appalachians, grassy balds have long baffled scientists and enchanted outdoor enthusiasts. They exist as open spaces, often grassy meadows, found on or near the summits of mountains that are technically below the tree line. Are they artificial, the result of climate change, or something else entirely? While no one knows for sure, their natural beauty is undeniable. This book tells the story of these unique ecosystems and offers enthusiasts a guide to nineteen representative hiking trails across three states: Virginia, North Carolina, and Tennessee. Each season on the balds ushers in something special: 360-degree views on clear, crisp days in winter, a blanket of wildflowers across the mountaintops in spring, Catawba rhododendron and flame azaleas in early summer, and blueberries galore in the fall. But these unusual places are also under threat. The balds with their adjacent habitats host more than thirty plant and animal species that are endangered or threatened with many rapidly succumbing to new tree growth. Unique among hiking guides, this book is divided into two parts. Part 1 focuses on the balds collectively, with chapters on Native American legends and origin theories, European settlement and the effects of grazing, and efforts to preserve and maintain the balds in the face of environmental disruption. One chapter highlights the flora and fauna of the balds. Part 2 describes the hikes, each offering a unique experience, from the majestic wild ponies of Mount Rogers to the amazing pioneer history of Hooper Bald. This is the first guidebook to focus exclusively on the southern Appalachian grassy balds. The trails are organized into five geographic areas, with complete descriptions, maps, photos, and historical tidbits. At once a reference work and field guide, this book will encourage outdoor enthusiasts not only to experience the balds but to gain new appreciation for efforts to preserve and maintain these natural wonders.
Exploring Wild Alabama by
Exploring Wild Alabama is an exceptionally detailed guide to the most beautiful natural destinations in the state. From the rocky outcrops of the Appalachian plateaus to the sugar-white beaches of the Gulf Coast's Orange Beach and Dauphin Island, Alabama offers a wealth of remarkable sites to explore by car or canoe, bicycle or motorcycle, or on foot. Intrepid explorers Kenneth M. Wills and L. J. Davenport divide Alabama into eleven geographic regions that feature state parks and preserves, national monuments and forests, wildlife management areas, Nature Conservancy and Forever Wild properties, botanical gardens and arboreta, as well as falls, caverns, and rock cliffs. Exploring Wild Alabama provides detailed site entries to one hundred and fifty destinations. Each section is beautifully illustrated with color photographs and area maps. Exploring Wild Alabama includes a large state map and numerous local topographic maps to help readers locate each site. Individual site entries include · written directions to each site and GPS coordinates; · engaging notes about the ecology, landscape features, and local species of plants and animals of the sites; and · international recreation symbols for hiking, fishing, boating, camping, hunting, and other fun outdoor activities. Wills and Davenport guide travelers to Alabama jewels such as Sand Mountain's Chitwood Barrens, which harbors the rare Green Pitcher Plant and other exotic botanical species; Blowing Springs Cave in Lauderdale County, named for the cool air and the clear spring flowing out of the cave opening; Jackson Prairies in the Lime Hills region; and Booker's Mill in Conecuh County, offering diverse habitats and historic structures. Long a favorite destination for outdoor sports enthusiasts, Alabama is fast becoming a major "ecotourism" destination, with thousands of travelers discovering the state's unsung natural treasures. Exploring Wild Alabama will be used and trusted by anyone who loves the outdoors--birders, botanists, cave explorers, cyclists, hunters, fishermen, rock climbers, canoeists, teachers, and other outdoor enthusiasts.
Music Therapy with Military and Veteran Populations by
Combining essential information, professional insights, and lived experiences, this book offers a unique overview of the use of music therapy with active-duty service members, veterans, and other military-connected populations in the United States. Contributors include music therapists specializing with the military, as well as military personnel, veterans, and their families, providing an in-depth review of the impact that music therapy can have within this community. Detailing the historical evolution of the approach within a military context, the book explores the integration of music therapy into traditional treatment programs for service members and veterans particularly those with TBI and PTSD. Chapters cover the use of music therapy in both individual and group settings, and the opportunities to facilitate therapy via virtual platforms. Throughout, it emphasises the importance of music in military culture, highlighting the benefits of this approach with military communities. Personal accounts from military families are also included, as well as discussion on continued clinical and research innovation within the field. The first book to address this growing practice, it will inspire, inform and empower therapists and professionals working with and supporting military populations.
Art Therapy by
Art therapists have long theorized about the healing properties of visual expression through various media and have articulated the importance of media choices based on individual client needs for self-expression and healing. Art Therapy is a tool that can favor social, educational and cultural integration for disadvantaged children and minority communities. Artistic activities promote tolerance, dialogue, respect for diversity and interaction among others. The field of art therapy is based on a few basic assumptions that only recently have achieved some degree of research-based support. The first chapter of this book examines three assumptions that underlie the field of art therapy and their relations to art therapy theory and practice. The second chapter reviews the model of the Expressive Therapies Continuum (ETC), and illustrates its use in assessment and treatment planning with case examples. The following chapters introduce aesthetics as it informs art therapy intervention; present the concept of ritual and explores the possibility of creating spontaneous rituals as a central axis in art therapy, in drama therapy and in nature therapy in particular; explores art therapy programs for building peace territories in schools in Ecuador; provide a literature review relevant to the use of visual journaling with military veterans; studies art therapy for mobilizing personal resources in the elderly; describes the Videoinsight® Method and it's applications in the psychotherapeutic setting, in distress prevention and in promoting well-being and early recovery during rehabilitation following surgery; and provides an overview of the application of LEGO® block creations as a medium for art therapy.
63 Ready-To-Use Maker Projects by
This new compilation from editor and maker Kroski spotlights a multitude of creative projects that you can tailor for your own library. Librarians and makers from across the country present projects as fun as an upcycled fashion show, as practical as Bluetooth speakers, and as mischievous as a catapult. Included are projects for artists, sewers, videographers, coders, and engineers. The handy reference format will help you quickly identify the estimated costs, materials, and equipment; and because several projects don't even require a dedicated makerspace, every library can join in. Inside you'll find how-to guidance for projects like a foam rocket launcher; stop-motion animation with 3D print characters; found-object robots; glowing ghost marionettes; Arduino eTextiles; magnetic slime; yarn painting; fidget flannels; an LED brooch; and cardboard sculpture. With takeaways like origami tea lights or a t-shirt tote bag, your patrons will be sure to remember how much fun your library can be.
Costume, Makeup, and Hair by
Movie buffs and film scholars alike often overlook the importance of makeup artists, hair stylists, and costumers. With precious few but notable exceptions, creative workers in these fields have received little public recognition, even when their artistry goes on to inspire worldwide fashion trends. From the acclaimed Behind the Silver Screen series, Costume, Makeup, and Hair charts the development of these three crafts in the American film industry from the 1890s to the present. Each chapter examines a different era in film history, revealing how the arts of cinematic costume, makeup, and hair, have continually adapted to new conditions, making the transitions from stage to screen, from monochrome to color, and from analog to digital. Together, the book's contributors give us a remarkable glimpse into how these crafts foster creative collaboration and improvisation, often fashioning striking looks and ingenious effects out of limited materials. Costume, Makeup, and Hair not only considers these crafts in relation to a wide range of film genres, from sci-fi spectacles to period dramas, but also examines the role they have played in the larger marketplace for fashion and beauty products. Drawing on rare archival materials and lavish color illustrations, this volume provides readers with both a groundbreaking history of film industry labor and an appreciation of cinematic costume, makeup, and hairstyling as distinct art forms.
Winter in the Wilderness by
Camping or backpacking in winter is appealing for many who enjoy the serenity of wilderness settings without the crowds and bustle of the summer season. But as rewarding as they can be, these outings require special preparation and a different set of skills than are necessary at other times of the year. Snowfall can quickly cover one's tracks and make orientation difficult. Hypothermia is insidious, and rapidly changing weather conditions can become treacherous, even life-threatening.In addition to those who are exploring the outdoors recreationally, there are also those who find themselves in unexpected winter survival situations. Each year, people become stranded in wilderness areas, and in most cases they are not equipped to face the challenge of spending an indefinite amount of time outside. Without sufficient gear or knowledge of how to improvise without it, injury or death is often the result. The development of some basic skills, however, can help avert such unfortunate outcomes.As the founder of the renowned nature awareness program Primitive Pursuits, Dave Hall has been practicing survival skills for more than twenty years and has amassed a comprehensive understanding of winter survival. By refining these skills, Dave has reached a point of understanding that is without peer. Through detailed explanations, illustrations, and personal anecdotes, Winter in the Wilderness imparts Dave's knowledge to readers, who will learn to meet their most basic needs: making fire, creating shelter, obtaining safe drinking water, navigating terrain, and procuring sustenance.Winter in the Wilderness is a handbook for those who want to explore cold-weather camping and those who might find themselves in need of this critical information during an unexpected winter's night out. Whether used for pleasure or for survival, Winter in the Wilderness emphasizes the benefits of enriching and deepening our connection with the outdoors.
Teen Craft Projects 2 by
From the authors of the enormously popular Hipster Librarian's Guide to Teen Craft Projects comes an all-new selection of innovative ideas. These projects have been chosen especially to engage tweens and teens--and have been field-tested by YA librarian Amy Alessio's Teen Corps, students in grades 6-12 at the Schaumburg Township (IL) Public Library. For maximum fun, this bookIncludes a variety of crafts that make use of recycled and repurposed materialsLists the tools and equipment needed for each project, followed by step-by-step instructions and photographsAssigns a difficulty level, ideal group size, and suggests a timeframe for each activityOffers several "Quick-fire" options to fit crafting into shorter time slotsWith numerous projects easy enough to be assembled in the library either by groups or someone working alone, this book will get YA librarians, educators, and their students whipping up creative crafts in no time!
Materials and Media in Art Therapy by
In art making, materials and media are the intermediaries between private ideas, thoughts and feelings, and their external manifestation in a tangible, sensual form. Thus, materials provide the core components of the exchange that occurs between art therapists and clients. This book focuses on the sensory-based, tangible vocabulary of materials and media and its relevance to art therapy. It provides a historical account of the theory and use of materials and media in art therapy, as well as an examination of the interface between art therapy, contemporary art materials and practices, and social/critical theory. Contributing authors provide examples of how art therapists have transgressed conventional material boundaries and expanded both thinking and practice in the field. The chapters discuss traditional as well as innovative media, such as body adornments, mail and video art, and comic books. Accompanying support material contains media clips, as well as 69 color images.
Creativity and Art by
Margaret Boden presents a series of essays in which she explores the nature of creativity in a wide range of art forms. Creativity in general is the generation of novel, surprising, and valuable ideas (conceptual, theoretical, musical, literary, or visual). Boden identifies three forms of creativity: combinational, exploratory, and transformational. These elicit differing forms of surprise, and are defined by the different kinds of psychological process that generatethe new ideas. Boden examines creativity not only in traditional fine art, but also in craftworks, and some less orthodox approaches--namely, conceptual art and several types of computer art. Her Introduction draws out the conceptual links between the various case-studies, showing how they express acoherent view of creativity in art.
Activities for Adults with Learning Disabilities by
This valuable resource for people working with adults with learning disabilities provides over 60 sessions of fun and engaging activities that aim to entertain and stimulate the minds of people with learning disabilities. The sessions are divided into different types of activity including cookery, arts and crafts, drama and dance, and outside events. A comprehensive collection of varied and enjoyable activities, this practical book also contains useful tips to ensure that sessions run smoothly. All the activities are tried and tested by experienced practitioners and include a key advising the level of help required, wheelchair user suitability and any related health and safety issues involved. Ideal for use in social clubs or residential homes, this is an essential resource for professionals and volunteers working with adults with learning disabilities.
Creative Coping Skills for Children by
Everyone has different needs when it comes to coping with life's stressors, and children are no different. Some need quiet and soothing activities to calm them down, whereas others require more physical activity or intense sensory input to relax their minds and bodies. This resource comprises a collection of fun, flexible, tried-and-tested activities and make-it-yourself workbooks for parents and professionals to help a child in need of extra emotional support find the coping skills that fit them best. Each activity lists the materials required and includes clear directions for how to do it. There is something for every child: whether they are dynamic and creative or more cerebral and literal. Projects include making wish fairies, dream catchers, and mandalas; managing unstructured time with activities such as creating comics, dioramas and tongue twisters; and simple ideas for instant soothing, such as taking deep breaths, blowing bubbles, making silly faces, and playing music. Creative Coping Skills for Children also includes specific interventions for anxious or grieving children such as making worry dolls and memory shrines. This book is full of fun, easy, creative project ideas for parents of children aged 3-12, teachers, counselors, play therapists, social workers, and all professionals working with children.
25 Latino Craft Projects by
The easy-to-organize projects in this book are organized around important Latino holidays and are inspired by artesenías (Latino folk art) traditions that have been passed down from generation to generation. And, because each project is tied to literature, kids get the reading bug early!
The Questions Dictionary of Art by
This fully illustrated new reference guide for Key Stage 2 and Key Stage 3 children provides comprehensive definitions of words and concepts used in the teaching of art. Clearly worded, The Questions Dictionary of Art will shed light on what can often be a confusing vocabulary, and is fully cross-referenced. The book has been designed for both individual and group work and the layout allows teachers to photocopy the entries for mounting on to A4 card or for use in displays. Its content has been chosen to include words within the capabilities of pupils in the primary and early secondary years of schooling. All words are relevant to the teaching and learning of art in the National Curriculum. This dictionary will make a valuable addition to any classroom's collection of basic reference books and to every school's library of books on the subject of art. The dictionary can also be used for language teaching and the literacy hour and is also a useful tool for stimulating discussion.
The Mother Word by 
Banksy Locations and Tours by 
Banksy Locations and Tours by 
The music of color by 
Kerry James Marshall by 
Lisa Yuskavage: Wilderness by Hobbies : an introduction to crafts, collections, nature study, and other life-long pursuits by 
The Complete Potter's Companion by 
Group Tube-A-Loon Book by 
All Your Base Are Belong to Us by 
Blood, Sweat, and Pixels by The technique of craft teaching by New free style : arts and crafts : Art Nouveau, secession by 
Contemporary Art Therapy for Adolescents by 
