To often the contributions of women to science, mathematics, and the arts are overlooked. In reality, we owe women for many of the biggest revolutions in these fields.
This month let's highlight some of their ground breaking work by celebrating women who run on STEAM!
From STEM to STEAM
by
Weave arts activities to STEM instruction, and STEAM ahead to academic success Arts activities enhance the skills critical for achieving STEM success, but how do busy STEM educators integrate the arts into sometimes inflexible STEM curriculum? This new edition of From STEM to STEAM explores emerging research to detail the way. It includes: Classroom-tested strategies, including sample K-12 lessons plans and planning templates. Tools for building a professional development program designed to helps arts and STEM teachers collaborate to create STEAM lessons. Sample planning frameworks for transitioning schools from STEM to STEAM. The main objective of both art and science is discovery. Lead your students to make that connection and STEAM ahead to academic success!
Steam Concepts for Infants and Toddlers
by
STEAM is a development and extension of the original STEM efforts with the goal to support innate creativity and innovation that all children possess. This book serves as a platform for educators to observe and facilitate infants and toddlers natural curiosities around STEAM concepts. The text discusses tangible, rich STEAM learning environments for children from birth through age two and introduces where this learning can go next as children transition into the preschool years.
Advancing Women in Science
by
Many countries have implemented policies to increase the number and quality of scientific researchers as a means to foster innovation and spur economic development and progress. To that end, grounded in a view of women as a rich, yet underutilized knowledge and labor resource, a great deal of recent attention has focused on encouraging women to pursue education and careers in science -- even in countries with longstanding dominant patriarchal regimes. Yet, overall, science remains an area in which girls and women are persistently disadvantaged. This book addresses that situation. It bridges the gap between individual- and societal-level perspectives on women in science in a search for systematic solutions to the challenge of building an inclusive and productive scientific workforce capable of creating the innovation needed for economic growth and societal wellbeing. This book examines both the role of gender as an organizing principle of social life and the relative position of women scientists within national and international labor markets. Weaving together and engaging research on globalization, the social organization of science, and gendered societal relations as key social forces, this book addresses critical issues affecting women's contributions and participation in science. Also, while considering women's representation in science as a whole, examinations of women in the chemical sciences, computing, mathematics and statistics are offered as examples to provide insights into how differing disciplinary cultures, functional tasks and socio-historical conditions can affect the advancement of women in science relative to important variations in educational and occupational realities. Edited by three social scientists recognized for their expertise in science and technology policy, education, workforce participation, and stratification, this book includes contributions from an intellectually diverse group of international scholars and analysts and features compelling cases and initiatives from around the world, with implications for research, industry practice, education and policy development.
Keeping Women in Science
by
Women scientists leave the profession in greater proportions than men and are under-represented in leadership roles. In this book, Kate White looks at the challenges that women face, which often result from discrimination and being positioned as outsiders. She asks the question- Why is it so important to keep women in science research? White's research found a huge generational change between the Baby Boomers, the current science leaders, and Gen Xs and Gen Ys. Younger women and men reject the traditional model of a successful scientist--a single male for whom science is like a religious vocation. Instead, they support new professional models that support work-life balance. The Australian Government's Innovation Agenda asserts that the nation cannot afford to invest in educating women to PhD level and then see them discouraged by barriers or struggle to balance families and careers. Keeping Women in Science explores new models to enable younger women and men to combine successful science research careers with family responsibilities.
Women in Stem Disciplines
by
This book presents the findings of a survey that analyzes a unique set of data in science and technolog and provides a clear and simple synthesis of heterogeneous databases on the gender gap in the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) setting, helping readers understand key trends and developments. The need for more women in innovative fields, particularly with regard to STEM-based innovations, has now been broadly recognized. The book provides insights into both the education and employment of women in STEM. It investigates how the gender gap has evolved among STEM graduates and professionals around the world, drawing on specific data from public and private databases. As such, the book provides readers an understanding of how the so-called 'leaky pipeline' operates, and of how more women than men drop out of STEM studies and jobs by geographical area.
Academic Women in STEM Faculty
by
This volume examines major issues facing successful women in academic science. In doing so, Sue Rosser outlines the persisting and shifting perspectives of women who have achieved seniority and remained in academia during the last fifteen years through survey data from women who received POWRE awards from the NSF. Some evidence suggests that budget cuts and an increasing reliance on technology have impacted higher education and exacerbated gender issues, but until now, little research has focused directly on the lingering effects of these changes.
Success Strategies from Women in STEM
by
Success Strategies from Women in Stem: A Portable Mentor, Second Edition, is a comprehensive and accessible manual containing career advice, mentoring support, and professional development strategies for female scientists in the STEM fields. This updated text contains new and essential chapters on leadership and negotiation, important coverage of career management, networking, social media, communication skills, and more. The work is accompanied by a companion website that contains annotated links, a list of print and electronic resources, self-directed learning objects, frequently asked questions, and more. With an increased focus on international relevance, this comprehensive text contains shared stories and vignettes that will help women pursuing or involved in STEM careers develop the necessary professional and personal skills to overcome obstacles to advancement.
Attracting and Retaining Women in STEM
by
Underrepresentation of women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields is a problem that has persisted over the past three decades and is most severe at the highest levels of the STEM career path. Although national attention has been directed toward increasing the presence of women in STEM, women continue to leave at critical junctures in STEM training and careers at a higher rate than men. This volume of New Directions for Institutional Research takes a comprehensive look at the status of women in STEM and considers related factors, theoretical perspectives, and innovative tools that have the potential to help scholars understand, study, and improve the experiences of women in STEM fields. This is the 152nd volume of New Directions for Institutional Research. Always timely and comprehensive, New Directions for Institutional Research provides planners and administrators in all types of academic institutions with guidelines in such areas as resource coordination, information analysis, program evaluation, and institutional management.
Understanding the Intersections of Race, Gender, and Gifted Education
by
"This book seeks to understand the complexities of talented and high-performing Black girls and women in STEM across the P-20 trajectory. Analogously, this volume aims to understand the intersections between giftedness, its identification, and racial, gender, and academic discipline identity. The dearth of literature on this subject suggests that Black girls and women have unique experiences in gifted programming, in large part because of factors associated with gifted programs in general (Montie, 2013). Key factors affecting Black students, and Black girls in particular, is identification and underrepresentation (Ford, 1995; 2013; Joseph, in press; Joseph et al., in press). These factors can be shaped by interlocking systems of racism, classism, gender bias, and other forms of oppression (Collins & Bilge, 2016; Crenshaw, 1991). Teachers in the P-12 educational system are the first identifiers for gifted programming and look for student characteristics, such as natural leadership, inquisitiveness, and students desire to be in gifted programs (Montie, 2013). Because many Black girls are stereotyped and teachers rarely have deep understanding of cultural differences, Black girls are less likely to be identified for gifted programming. More specifically, Black girls lack of representation in gifted mathematics or STEM programs contradicts research that finds that girls reach several developmental advantages ahead of boys. For example, research has shown that girls talk and read earlier (Silverman, 1986), receive higher grades in elementary school (Callahan, 1979), and drop-out less often (Dowdall & Colangelo, 1982) than boys. Other studies have also shown that Black girls have higher mathematics career aspirations than their White and Latina female peers (Riegle-Crumb, Moore, & RamosWada, 2011); yet, they are rarely represented in gifted math and Advanced Placement (AP) math programs. Furthermore, Ford et al. (1996, 2002) found the underrepresentation of urban, low-income African-American students in gifted education related to low test scores, student and family choice, a lack of teacher referral, and a mismatch between home and school cultures. Some high-performing Black girls and women are participating in programs that nurture and support their racial and gender identities and contribute to them developing into strong and efficacious girls and women who have agency in their lives. This anthology will include studies that illustrate the complexities of intersectionality in various STEM programs, while also demonstrating the increasing access to STEM for females of color is doable"--
Addressing Gender Bias in Science and Technology
by
Understanding and appreciation between genders continues to be a work in progress. As people seek ways to make room for alternative perspectives, research-based solutions have become especially helpful. In this volume, seasoned professors tackle gender bias in the classroom by defining challenges specific to the sciences and discussing ways to dismantle and confront biases. With solutions backed by research, this work will be useful for those working in all science and technology fields.
How to be a smart woman in STEM : #science #technology #engineering #math
by
The author offers strategies for women in STEM to get better results, more often and with less trouble. Her work helps women reach decision-making positions worldwide. Her tools are as effective and practical as a Swiss Army knife 4.0. Her humorous style is direct, bold and spicy. This book is a goldmine of ideas and strategies.
Women in Tech
by
"Jam packed with insights from women in the field," this is an invaluable career guide for the aspiring or experienced female tech professional (Forbes) As the CEO of a startup, Tarah Wheeler is all too familiar with the challenges female tech professionals face on a daily basis. That's why she's teamed up with other high-achieving women within the field--from entrepreneurs and analysts to elite hackers and gamers--to provide a roadmap for women looking to jump-start, or further develop, their tech career. In an effort to dismantle the unconscious social bias against women in the industry, Wheeler interviews professionals like Brianna Wu (founder, Giant Spacekat), Angie Chang (founder, Women 2.0), Keren Elazari (TED speaker and cybersecurity expert), Katie Cunningham (Python educator and developer), and Miah Johnson (senior systems administrator) about the obstacles they have overcome to do what they love. Their inspiring personal stories are interspersed with tech-focused career advice. Readers will learn: * The secrets of salary negotiation * The best format for tech resumes * How to ace a tech interview * The perks of both contracting (W-9) and salaried full-time work * The secrets of mentorship * How to start your own company * And much more BONUS CONTENT: Perfect for its audience of hackers and coders, Women in Tech also contains puzzles and codes throughout--created by Mike Selinker (Lone Shark Games), Gabby Weidling (Lone Shark Games), and cryptographer Ryan "LostboY" Clarke--that are love letters to women in the industry. A distinguished anonymous contributor created the Python code for the cover of the book, which references the mother of computer science, Ada Lovelace. Run the code to see what it does!
50 Billion Dollar Boss
by
This book looks at several successful African American women and chronicles their success, obstacles, challenges, and lessons learned. The authors have first person access to each of these women and break down their stories to help other aspiring entrepreneurs achieve their dreams of starting or owning their own business.
A woman in engineering : memoirs of a trailblazer
by
"Her goal: to become a world-renowned biomedical engineer working with scientific societies to improve the role of women in scientific fields and the way scientists and engineers integrate people and society into their work. By 1979, this goal had become a reality. In her memoirs, acclaimed biomedical engineer Monique Frize recalls the events in her life that taught her to overcome obstacles, become more resilient, recognize the importance of mentors and role models, and remain focused on the future. She also speaks of her appreciation of the critical role played by family and friends in maintaining the strength and determination required to succeed. And, above all, to succeed in a man's world. Frize fondly remembers her youth in Montreal and in Ottawa, and her marked interest for math and science. Her entry into the world of engineering was both romantic--she met her husband--and tragic. She faced prejudice and stereotypes, which she ultimately overcame. She reconciled family and work life, pursuing a challenging and rewarding international career in a very specialized field at a time when this was still very uncommon for a woman. And she relives the tragic Polytechnique massacre. These memoirs are sure to inspire young women who have a dream, and more specifically those who wish to enter sciences and engineering."-- Provided by publisher.
Sexual Harassment of Women
by
Over the last few decades, research, activity, and funding has been devoted to improving the recruitment, retention, and advancement of women in the fields of science, engineering, and medicine. In recent years the diversity of those participating in these fields, particularly the participation of women, has improved and there are significantly more women entering careers and studying science, engineering, and medicine than ever before. However, as women increasingly enter these fields they face biases and barriers and it is not surprising that sexual harassment is one of these barriers. Over thirty years the incidence of sexual harassment in different industries has held steady, yet now more women are in the workforce and in academia, and in the fields of science, engineering, and medicine (as students and faculty) and so more women are experiencing sexual harassment as they work and learn. Over the last several years, revelations of the sexual harassment experienced by women in the workplace and in academic settings have raised urgent questions about the specific impact of this discriminatory behavior on women and the extent to which it is limiting their careers. Sexual Harassment of Women explores the influence of sexual harassment in academia on the career advancement of women in the scientific, technical, and medical workforce. This report reviews the research on the extent to which women in the fields of science, engineering, and medicine are victimized by sexual harassment and examines the existing information on the extent to which sexual harassment in academia negatively impacts the recruitment, retention, and advancement of women pursuing scientific, engineering, technical, and medical careers. It also identifies and analyzes the policies, strategies and practices that have been the most successful in preventing and addressing sexual harassment in these settings.
Alliances for Advancing Academic Women
by
This unique book provides important guidelines and examples of ways STEM (e. g., science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) faculty and administration can collaborate towards goals of recruiting, mentoring, and promoting leadership to academic women faculty. Based on the experiences of faculty across five Florida universities, including one national laboratory, each chapter highlights one aspect of a multi-institutional collaboration on an NSF ADVANCE-PAID grant dedicated to achieving these three goals. Highlighting the importance of coordination, integration, and flexibility, each chapter details strategies and challenges of establishing a multi-site collaboration, assessing climate in STEM departments, addressing differential institutional readiness and infrastructure, and implementing change. The authors suggest ways to build on intrainstitutional strengths through interinstitutional activities, including shared workshops, research, and materials. Separate chapters focus on recruiting women into STEM departments, mentoring women faculty, and providing leadership opportunities to women. A theoretical chapter includes Cultural historical activity theory as a lens for examining the alliances' activities and evaluation data. Other chapters present research on women STEM faculty, contributing insights about STEM women's sense of isolation. Chapters include a reflective metalogue written by a social scientist. The book closes with lessons learned from this collaboration.
The Bold and the Brave: a History of Women in Science and Engineering
by
"The Bold and the Brave" investigates how women have striven throughout history to gain access to education and careers in science and engineering. Author Monique Frize, herself an engineer for over 40 years, introduces the reader to key concepts and debates that contextualize the obstacles women have faced and continue to face in the fields of science and engineering. She focuses on the history of women s education in mathematics and science through the ages, from antiquity to the Enlightenment. While opportunities for women were often purposely limited, she reveals how many women found ways to explore science outside of formal education. The book examines the lives and work of three women Sophie Germain, Mileva Einstein, and Rosalind Franklin that provide excellent examples of how women s contributions to science have been dismissed, ignored or stolen outright. She concludes with an in-depth look at women s participation in science and engineering throughout the twentieth century and the current status of women in science and engineering, which has experienced a decline in recent years. To encourage more young women to pursue careers in science and engineering she advocates re-gendering the fields by integrating feminine and masculine approaches that would ultimately improve scientific and engineering endeavours."
Le Leadership des Femmes en Stim
by
Women and Ideas in Engineering
by
The increasing presence of women within engineering programs is one of today's most dramatic developments in higher education. Long before, however, a group of talented and determined women carved out new paths in the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois. Laura D. Hahn and Angela S. Wolters bring to light the compelling hidden stories of these pioneering figures. When Mary Louisa Page became the College's first female graduate in 1879, she also was the first American woman ever awarded a degree in architecture. Bobbie Johnson's insistence on "a real engineering job" put her on a path to the Apollo and Skylab programs. Grace Wilson, one of the College's first female faculty members, taught and mentored a generation of women. Their stories and many others illuminate the forgotten history of women in engineering. At the same time, the authors offer insights into the experiences of today's women from the College -- a glimpse of a brighter future, one where more women in STEM fields apply their tireless dedication to the innovations that shape a better tomorrow.
Removing Barriers
by
Movement into academic science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields has been slow for women and minorities. Not only are women and minorities underrepresented in STEM careers, there is strong evidence that many academic departments are resistant to addressing the concerns that keep them from entering careers in these fields. In light of recent controversies surrounding these issues, this volume, examining reasons for the persistence of barriers that block the full participation and advancement of underrepresented groups in the sciences and addressing how academic departments and universities can remedy the situation, is particularly timely. As a whole, the volume shows positive examples of institutions and departments that have been transformed by the inclusion of women and recommends a set of best practices for continuing growth in positive directions.
Addressing Gender Bias in Science and Technology
by
Understanding and appreciation between genders continues to be a work in progress. As people seek ways to make room for alternative perspectives, research-based solutions have become especially helpful. In this volume, seasoned professors tackle gender bias in the classroom by defining challenges specific to the sciences and discussing ways to dismantle and confront biases. With solutions backed by research, this work will be useful for those working in all science and technology fields.
Women Artists
by
Linda Nochlin is one of the most accessible, provocative, and innovative art historians of our time. In 1971 she published her essay "Why Have There Been No Great Women Artists?"--a dramatic feminist call-to-arms that called traditional art historical practices into question and led to a major revision of the discipline.Women Artists brings together twenty-nine essential essays from throughout Nochlin's career, making this the definitive anthology of her writing about women in art. Included are her major thematic texts "Women Artists After the French Revolution" and "Starting from Scratch: The Beginnings of Feminist Art History," as well as the landmark essay and its rejoinder "'Why Have There Been No Great Women Artists?' Thirty Years After." These appear alongside monographic entries focusing on a selection of major women artists including Mary Cassatt, Louise Bourgeois, Cecily Brown, Kiki Smith, Miwa Yanagi, and Sophie Calle.Women Artists also presents two new essays written specifically for this book and an interview with Nochlin investigating the position of women artists today.
Girls and Their Comics
by
In America, comics and comic books have often been associated with adolescent male fantasy--muscle-bound superheroes and scantily clad women. Nonetheless, comics have also been read and enjoyed by girls. While there have been many strong representations of women throughout their history, the comics of today have evolved and matured, becoming a potent medium in which to explore the female experience, particularly that of girlhood and adolescence. In Girls and Their Comics: Finding a Female Voice in Comic Book Narrative, Jacqueline Danziger-Russell contends that comics have a unique place in the representation of female characters. She discusses the overall history of the comic book, paying special attention to girls' comics, showing how such works relate to a female point of view. While examining the concept of visual literacy, Danziger-Russell asserts that comics are an excellent space in which the marginalized voices of girls may be expressed. This volume also includes a chapter on manga (Japanese comics), which explains the genesis of girls' comics in Japan and their popularity with girls in the United States. Including interviews with librarians, comic creators, and girls who read comics and manga, Girls and Their Comics is an important examination of the growing interest in comic books among young females and will appeal to a wide audience, including literary theorists, teachers, librarians, popular culture and women's studies scholars, and comic book historians.
Concise Dictionary of Women Artists
by
This book includes some 200 complete entries from the award-winning Dictionary of Women Artists, as well as a selection of introductory essays from the main volume.
Stealing the Show
by
In the past, few women artists were commissioned to create public works of art. These seven artists received most of the commissions awarded to women between 1958 and 1988, although until now their sizable body of work has been given little attention. Taking into account the purpose of public art - to enhance the environment and communicate with a public often perplexed and sometimes alienated by works of art - Gunda Lambton assesses the appeal and quality of commissioned works by these artists. She highlights the difficulties that many women artists encounter and combines detailed biographies of the artists with an examination of their work. This book will appeal to those interested in art as well as to art historians, urban historians, women's studies specialists, and policy makers.
Women, Art, and Literature in the Iranian Diaspora
by
Does the study of aesthetics have tangible effects in the real world? Does examining the work of diaspora writers and artists change our view of ""the Other""? In this thoughtful book, Ebrahimi argues that an education in the humanities is as essential as one in politics and ethics, critically training the imagination toward greater empathy. Despite the surge in Iranian memoirs, their contributions to debunking an abstract idea of terror and their role in encouraging democratic thinking remain understudied. In examining creative work by women of Iranian descent, Ebrahimi argues that Shirin Neshat, Marjane Satrapi, and Parsua Bashi make the Other familiar and break a cycle of reactionary xenophobia. These authors, instead of relying on indignation, build imaginative bridges in their work that make it impossible to blame one evil, external enemy. Ebrahimi explores both classic and hybrid art forms, including graphic novels and photo-poetry, to advocate for the importance of aesthetics to inform and influence a global community. Drawing on the theories of Rancière, Butler, Arendt, and Levinas, Ebrahimi identifies the ways in which these works give a human face to the Other, creating the space and language to imagine a new political and ethical landscape.
New Media Futures
by
Trailblazing women working in digital arts media and education established the Midwest as an international center for the artistic and digital revolution in the 1980s and beyond. Foundational events at the University of Illinois and the School of the Art Institute of Chicago created an authentic, community-driven atmosphere of creative expression, innovation, and interdisciplinary collaboration that crossed gender lines and introduced artistically informed approaches to advanced research. Interweaving historical research with interviews and full-color illustrations, New Media Futures captures the spirit and contributions of twenty-two women working within emergent media as diverse as digital games, virtual reality, medicine, supercomputing visualization, and browser-based art. The editors and contributors give voice as creators integral to the development of these new media and place their works at the forefront of social change and artistic inquiry. What emerges is the dramatic story of how these Midwestern explorations in the digital arts produced a web of fascinating relationships. These fruitful collaborations helped usher in the digital age that propelled social media. Contributors: Carolina Cruz-Niera, Colleen Bushell, Nan Goggin, Mary Rasmussen, Dana Plepys, Maxine Brown, Martyl Langsdorf, Joan Truckenbrod, Barbara Sykes, Abina Manning, Annette Barbier, Margaret Dolinsky, Tiffany Holmes, Claudia Hart, Brenda Laurel, Copper Giloth, Jane Veeder, Sally Rosenthal, Lucy Petrovic, Donna J. Cox, Ellen Sandor, and Janine Fron.
Desire Change
by
In the resistance to the violence of gender-based oppression, vibrant - but often ignored - worlds have emerged, full of nuance, humour, and beauty. Correcting an absence of writing about contemporary feminist work by Canadian artists, Desire Change considers the resurgence of feminist art, thought, and practice in the past decade by examining artworks that respond to themes of diversity and desire. Essays by historians, artists, and curators present an overview of a range of artistic practices including performance, installation, video, textiles, and photography. Contributors address the desire for change through three central frames: how feminist art has significantly contributed to the complex understanding of gender as it intersects with sexuality and race; the necessary critique of patriarchy and institutions as they relate to colonization within the Canadian nation-state; and the ways in which contemporary critiques are formed and expressed. Heavily illustrated with representative works, Desire Change raises both the stakes and the concerns of contemporary feminist art, with an understanding that feminism is always and necessarily plural.
Feminisms and Contemporary Art in Indonesia
by
While Indonesian contemporary art is currently on the rise on the international art scene, there hasn't yet been an in-depth study of the works of Indonesian women artists and the feminist strategies they employ within the art world. This book fills that gap, presenting the first comprehensive study of feminisms and contemporary arts in Indonesia, using feminist readings to analyze the works of Indonesian women artists historically and today, illuminating the sociocultural contexts in which they have worked and offering a nuanced understanding of local feminisms in the nation.
A Feeling for the Organism
by
The Mind Has No Sex?
by
Women Artists at the Millennium
by
I Died for Beauty
by
The Bold and the Brave
by
The Madame Curie Complex
by
Philosophy of Science after Feminism
by
Women Artists in History
by
After the Revolution
by
The Diary of Frida Kahlo
by
Almost Astronauts
by
To Space and Back
by
Dictionary of Women Artists
by
The Tangled Field
by
Rosalind Franklin and DNA
by
In the Shadow of Man
by
