Click here to access resources at the Health Sciences Library!
Health Sciences Library
Park Avenue Campus
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: 901.678.3193
Fall/Spring Hours
Monday - Thursday -- 8:00am-8:00pm
Friday -- 8:00am-4:30pm
Saturday -- closed
Sunday -- closed
Exceptions:
Labor Day -- closed
Fall Break -- closed
Thanksgiving Day & Friday following -- closed
Summer Hours
Monday - Friday -- 8:00am-4:30pm
Saturday -- closed
Sunday -- closed
Exceptions:
Memorial Day - closed
July 4 - closed
The Health Sciences Library (also known as Baptist Memorial Health Care Library) is housed on the second floor of the Community Health Building, which is located at 4055 North Park Loop, on the University of Memphis Park Avenue Campus.
The collection includes books, journals, and media focusing on nursing, audiology, and speech-language pathology. Related areas of interest in the collection include special education, linguistics, laryngology, otology, neurology, psychology, and sociology. The collection contains approximately 7,000 volumes of books and 241 journal titles.
Journals and reference materials may only be used in the library. Reserve materials may only be used by University of Memphis faculty, staff, and students.
There are sixteen TAF computer workstations available in the library for faculty, staff, and student use. These workstations provide access to the library catalog and University Libraries electronic resources holdings.
A document scanner is available for faculty, staff, and student use.
Printing is available to University of Memphis faculty, staff, and students through iPrint and University of Memphis Print Services.
Three group study rooms are available to University of Memphis faculty, staff, and students. Group study rooms can be reserved at: https://www.memphis.edu/libraries/reservations/.
Library staff are available to answer library-related questions and instruct patrons in using library resources.
The Health Sciences Library is a branch of the University of Memphis Libraries. All policies are in accordance with University of Memphis Libraries Policies.
University of Memphis Libraries Policies: https://www.memphis.edu/libraries/about/policies/index.php.
Recommended Databases:
Recommended Peer-Reviewed Journals:
American Journal of Public Health - Articles of original research, research methods, program evaluations, analytic reviews, including health policy analysis and reports on health policy.
Health Services Research - Original, empirical studies of important health services issues and problems, major policy issues, alternatives and implications aimed at health services researchers, policy makers and practitioners in the health sector.
Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health - Peer reviewed articles for professionals in the fields of family planning, population studies & maternal & child health on a variety of subjects including contraceptive practices &r research, adolescent pregnancy, abortion & legal issues.
Health: An Interdisciplinary Journal for the Social Study of Health, Illness, and Medicine - A broad-ranging interdisciplinary approach to the study of health and social science.
SAGE Premier All Access Collection 01/01/1999 - present
Journal of Medical Case Reports - Covers meta-analyses of published case reports, research addressing the use of case reports and the importance of case reporting in the medical literature and retrospective studies.
Encyclopedia of School Health by 
Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations by 
Modeling Behavior in Complex Public Health Systems (eBook)Access selected state and federal health statistics and information:
Data & Statistics - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
