Research Guides: University Resources by Area: Alcohol & Drug Abuse Services

Need help? Ask a librarian!

Schedule a 1-on-1 research appointment with Bess Robinson
email: merobnsn@memphis.edu
call: 901-678-8214

Alcohol & Drug Abuse Services

Search All Databases

Recommended Databases:

OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Type the title or author into the search field and select SU Subject from the drop-down menu. Under the heading Limit Your Results, select Book Review in the Document Type box. Click Search to see citations and full text to reviews.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations to and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in psychology, plus psychological aspects in related disciplines (medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law). Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1632-present.

Advanced Search Strategies: PsychInfo from University Libraries on Vimeo.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of freely-available biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Browse or search. Coverage: varies by journal.

Search All Journals

Recommended Journals:

Addiction - Original papers, reviews, news, and notes about various forms of addiction

Academic Search Complete 01/01/1993-present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

Academic Search Ultimate 01/01/1993-present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

CINAHL Complete 03/01/2003-present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

ProQuest Biological Science Collection (DRAA) 01/01/1997-11/30/2000

SocINDEX with Full Text 01/01/1993-present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

SPORTDiscus with Full Text 01/01/1993-present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

Wiley Online Library 01/01/1997-present

Addictive Behaviors - Presents original research, theoretical papers and critical reviews in the area of substance abuse.

McWherter Library Microform Serials 01/01/1981-12/31/2009

ProQuest Biological Science Collection (DRAA) 01/01/1995-10/01/2019

ScienceDirect 01/03/200-present

Addiction Research & Theory - Aims to examine the effects of context on the use and misuse of substances, and on the nature of intoxication of all kinds.

Academic Search Complete 01/01/2001- present (Full Text Delay: 18 months)

Academic Search Ultimate 01/01/2001-present(Full Text Delay: 18 months)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition 01/01/2001-present (Full Text Delay: 18 months)

SocINDEX with Full Text 01/01/2001-present (Full Text Delay: 18 months)

Access selected state and federal health statistics and information:

National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
National Survey on Drug Use and Health
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
National Institutes of Health's Principles of Drug Addiction Treatment
National Association of State Alcohol and Drug Abuse Directors
Office of National Drug Control Policy
Global Commission on Drug Policy reports

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 67,000 electronic books in all subjects: arts, business, education, health, history, law, recreation, science, social sciences, and more. Search by author, title, keyword, subject, or fulltext. Coverage: varies.

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior
Call Number: HV5804 .E53 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Encyclopedia of Drug Abuse
Call Number: RC563.4 .G97 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery
Call Number: RC563.4 .E53 2009
Publication Date: 2008