Research Guides: University Resources by Area: Asian Studies & International Trade

Asian Studies & International Trade

Business Abstracts with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals in accounting, acquisitions & mergers, advertising, banking, building & construction, chemicals & pharmaceuticals, communications, computers, the cosmetics industry, economics, electronics, the entertainment industry, finance, financial services, government regulations, health care, high technology, hospitality & tourism, human resources, industrial relations, insurance, international business, investments, management, marketing, mass media, occupational health & safety, oil & gas, paper & pulp industries, public utilities, publishing, purchasing, real estate, retailing, small business, taxation, technology, and transportation. Coverage: citations & abstracts, 1982- ; full text, 1995-.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides of indstry-based research such as global industry reports in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and China.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Recommended Journals for Asian Studies:

Asian Academy of Management Journal - Provides information about accounting and regulatory issues, auditing & corporate governance issues, business and/or management education, comparative studies between Asian and non-Asian management practices, etc.

Business Source Complete 07/01/2008-present

Business Source Ultimate 07/01/2008-present

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 01/01/1996-present

EBSCO Open Access Journals 01/01/1996-present

South Asian Journal of Management - Publishes research papers, notes, case studies, and book reviews.

Business Source Complete 01/01/2007-present

Business Source Ultimate 01/01/2007-present

Asian Journal of Business and Governance - Academic research, case studies, current reports, commentary, analysis and reviews concerning business in Southeast Asia aimed at the business and public policy communities

Business Insights: Essentials 01/01/2011- 12/31/2013

Gale Academic OneFile 01/01/2011-12/31/2013

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory 01/01/2011-12/31/2013

Recommended Journals for International Trade:

Hemispheres - Addresses a variety of social, economic, political, and legal issues, both contemporary and historical, within the framework of international relations.

International Studies. Interdisciplinary Political and Cultural Journal

JUIS: Journal of Undergraduate International Studies

PORTAL Journal of Multidisciplinary International Studies - Dedicated to providing a space for the work of cultural producers interested in the internationalization of cultures.

Tennessee-China Network
Japan - Country Insights (canada.ca)
China - Country Insights (canada.ca)
Asian Development Bank
Global Entrepreneurship Monitor
International Affairs Resources - The WWW Virtual Library
Export.gov
Business Dictionary

Language Tools

Japanese - Online Japanese Language and Culture Resource

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 67,000 electronic books in all subjects: arts, business, education, health, history, law, recreation, science, social sciences, and more. Search by author, title, keyword, subject, or fulltext. Coverage: varies.
Ingenta Connect This link opens in a new window
Database of current article information taken from more than 17,000 multidisciplinary journals. Contains brief descriptive information.

Asian Free Trade Agreements and WTO Compatibility (eBook) by Shintaro Hamanaka
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Asian Regionalism and Japan by Shintaro Hamanaka
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Case Studies in Asian Management (eBook) by Parissa Haghirian
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
International Trade, Distribution and Development (eBook) by Paul Brenton
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, Sales and Marketing: The essential cultural guide -- from presentations and promotions to communicating and closing
Call Number: HF5389 .M674 2012
Publication Date: 2012

Search U of M's Government Publications collection

In the Drop Down menu, Select "Government Publications Department"

Recommended Government Publication Databases:

DATA.gov This link opens in a new window
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Easily access statistics and produce graphs for millions of statistics in business, entertainment, health, social sciences, and government.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company and industry data for U.S. and international businesses. Includes equity pricing, institutional trades, executive biographies, competitor reports, stock reports, and annual reports. Coverage: past 15 years.
EDGAR This link opens in a new window
Free database of public company filings, 10-K & 10-Q reports from 1994.

Census Data on Asian Americans (USCB)
Asian American Social & Demographic Trends (Pew Research Center)