Research Guides: University Resources by Area: Child Development & Family Studies

Search Almost Everything

Child Development & Family Studies

Recommended Databases:

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Child Care & Early Education Research This link opens in a new window
Online collection of 14,000+ resources related to Childcare and Early Education. Resources include datasets, instruments, literature , reviews, reports, papers, and more. Coverage: varies.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes an international range of English-language periodicals and books in the field of education, including several not included in ERIC. Coverage: Indexing 1929- ; with abstracts, 1994- ; select fulltext, 1996-.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals in addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, communications & mass media, community health & medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology, and urban studies. Coverage: citations & abstracts, 1983- ; full text, 1995-.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 900 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

Recommended Journals:

Adolescence - An international publication dedicated to the physiological, psychological, psychiatric, sociological and educational aspects of the second decade of human life.

Child and Adolescent Social Work Journal - Original articles for clinical social workers. Includes theory, research, and social policy issues.

Child: Care, Health, and Development - Promotes the study of all children, but particularly those handicapped by physical, developmental, emotional, and social problems. Looks at expansion of effective programs of health promotion, care and treatment.

Child Development - Articles of interdisciplinary empirical research, theoretical articles and reviews that have theoretical implications for child developmental research selected through blind review.

Child Welfare

Journal of Adolescent Research- Publishes articles that increase our understanding of individuals, age 11 to 22, in the life span. Adolescent development, education and policy.

Journal of Child and Family Studies

Journal of Early Childhood Research

Journal of Youth and Adolescence - Papers based on experimental evidence and data, theoretical papers, comprehensive review articles and clinical reports aimed at psychiatrists, psychologists, biologists, sociologists, educators and other professionals working with youth and adolescents.

Access selected state and federal health statistics and information:

Child Development: Myths and Misunderstandings
Call Number: HQ772 .M437 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Child Development from Infancy to Adolescence: An Active Learning Approach
Call Number: BF721 .L5226 2016
Publication Date: 2016
A Therapist's Guide to Child Development: The Extraordinarily Normal Years
Call Number: BF721 .T4554 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Preschool Children: Social Skills, Educational Development and Health Disparities
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016