Research Guides: Communication &amp; Mass Media Studies: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

What Are Primary Sources?

Primary sources include first-hand accounts, data, artwork, and other raw materials that you as a researcher can analyze. Exact definitions of what comprises a primary source may change from one discipline to another. Some examples include diaries, op-ed pieces, statistics, government or legal documents, music manuscripts, correspondence, historical newspaper articles, speeches, audio recordings, and interviews.

Databases

General Databases

Gale Primary Resources
Search across all Gale primary source collections.
Salem Press Encyclopedias
Access includes some encyclopedias and some of the "Milestone Documents" series, which contain primary sources.

Specific Databases

African American Communities This link opens in a new window
A diverse range of primary source material which focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas. Predominantly focusing on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York and North Carolina, some of the key topics covered by this collection include; racism, discrimination, desegregation, urban renewal and housing, civil rights movements and protests, community integration and expressions of a unique African American culture conveyed through the work of artists, writers, actors and musicians.
Artcyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Searcher for locating artwork in museums worldwide. Search by artist, title, or museum. Browse by name, medium, subject, nationality, movements. See Image Use Guidelines for permissions.
British History Online This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of many core printed primary and secondary sources in British history from medieval times to the 19th century. Most are open access, with some exceptions.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of historic newspapers from many states. Copyright and permissions information can be found on the Library of Congress' home page. Coverage: 1880-1910.
Everyday Life & Women in America: c.1820-1900 This link opens in a new window
Digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library.
The First World War : Personal Experiences This link opens in a new window
This digital resource brings to life the reality of the First World War for the men and women who experienced it firsthand. Containing digital images of primary source documents from archives around the world -- a wide range of original documents including diaries, letters, personal narratives, trench journals, scrapbooks, objects, and a wealth of visual sources, this resource provides information on personal experiences of war.
Supplementing the primary sources is a wealth of secondary resources including interactive maps, 360° panoramas and walk-throughs of the Sanctuary Wood Trench System, the Memory Wall, In Their Own Words feature, scholarly essays, a slideshow gallery, chronology and glossaries. The resource includes a significant collection of digitally captured objects used during the war period which have been sourced from museums and collections in the Ypres region. Many smaller and medium size objects are presented in 360 degree mode such as helmets, gas masks, hats, shells and grenades.

Primary Sources in Special Collections

A variety of archival documents, photographs, and other materials are available to students and researchers in the University Libraries Special Collections. Some content is also available online!

Contact

Special Collections Department

Phone: 901.678.2210
Email: lib_sc@memphis.edu