There are a few ways to search for books and ebooks in the University Libraries collection. One way to begin your search is to use the "Search Almost Everything" box on the left hand side of this page.
A second way to search is using the "Classic Catalog."The Classic Catalog is a bit different from the main search bar. The main search bar will bring up everything in the library's collection, but will also show results from databases, journals, etc. The Classic Catalog, however, searches only the collections owned by the University Libraries and its affiliated local libraries.
Dictionary of Media and Communications by
Accessible to wide range of readers from student to lay people, this authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. Written by distinguished scholar and author Marcel Danesi, and with an Introduction by Arthur Asa Berger, a leading figure in the world of media and communications, the dictionary also includes terms related to psychology, linguistics, aesthetics, computer science, semiotics, culture theory, anthropology, and more that have relevance in media studies. Each entry includes a definition in simple, clear language; an illustration where applicable; and, historical commentary (who coined a term for example, why, who uses it, etc.). A bibliography, a directory of online resources, and a time-line of media genres add to the dictionary's usefulness and appeal.
Gramophone, Film, Typewriter by
Toward the end of the nineteenth century, the hegemony of the printed word was shattered by the arrival of new media technologies that offered novel ways of communicating and storing data. Previously, writing had operated by way of symbolic mediation--all data had to pass through the needle's eye of the written signifier--but phonography, photography, and cinematography stored physical effects of the real in the shape of sound waves and light. The entire question of referentiality had to be recast in light of these new media technologies; in addition, the use of the typewriter changed the perception of writing from that of a unique expression of a literate individual to that of a sequence of naked material signifiers. Part technological history of the emergent new media in the late nineteenth century, part theoretical discussion of the responses to these media--including texts by Rilke, Kafka, and Heidegger, as well as elaborations by Edison, Bell, Turing, and other innovators--Gramophone, Film, Typewriter analyzes this momentous shift using insights from the work of Foucault, Lacan, and McLuhan. Fusing discourse analysis, structuralist psychoanalysis, and media theory, the author adds a vital historical dimension to the current debates over the relationship between electronic literacy and poststructuralism, and the extent to which we are constituted by our technologies. The book ties the establishment of new discursive practices to the introduction of new media technologies, and it shows how both determine the ways in which psychoanalysis conceives of the psychic apparatus in terms of information machines. Gramophone, Film, Typewriter is, among other things, a continuation as well as a detailed elaboration of the second part of the author's Discourse Networks, 1800/1900 (Stanford, 1990). As such, it bridges the gap between Kittler's discourse analysis of the 1980's and his increasingly computer-oriented work of the 1990's.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by
The Encyclopedia of Communication Theory provides students and researchers with a comprehensive two-volume overview of contemporary communication theory. Reference librarians report that students frequently approach them seeking a source that will provide them with a quick overview of a particular theory or theorist - just enough to help them grasp the general concept or theory and its relation to the discipline as a whole. Communication scholars and teachers also occasionally need a quick reference for theories. Edited by the co-authors of the best-selling textbook on communication theory and drawing on the expertise of an advisory board of 10 international scholars and nearly 200 contributors from 10 countries, this work finally provides such a resource. More than 300 entries address topics related not only to paradigms, traditions, and schools, but also metatheory, methodology, inquiry, and applications and contexts. Entries cover several orientations, including psycho-cognitive; social-interactional; cybernetic and systems; cultural; critical; feminist; philosophical; rhetorical; semiotic, linguistic, and discursive; and non-Western. Concepts relate to interpersonal communication, groups and organizations, and media and mass communication. In sum, this encyclopedia offers the student of communication a sense of the history, development, and current status of the discipline, with an emphasis on the theories that comprise it.
Applied Communication Research Methods by
Applied Communication Research Methods: Getting Started as a Researcher demonstrates how to apply concepts to research problems, issues, projects, and questions that communication practitioners face every day. Recognizing that students engage more directly with research methods when they experience research through hands-on practice, authors Michael Boyle and Mike Schmierbach developed this text to demonstrate the relevance of research in professional roles and communication careers. Along with its distinctive approach to research methods instruction, this text also serves as an enhanced glossary and a superior reference. Students can easily navigate key concepts and terminology, which are linked to practical exercises within the context of the instruction. In-unit activities and features provide numerous opportunities to delve further into topics covered in class, including: Research in Depth - examples of a concept being used in scholarly research Reflect and React - thought-provoking problems and issues that promote reflection and discussion Voices from Industry - Q&As with professionals working in communication industries End-of-unit activities - exercises that reinforce concepts and content Online resources, including sample syllabi, test banks, and more, are available on the companion website: www.routledge.com/cw/boyle.Applied Communication Research Methods is a concise, engaging work that today's students and industry practitioners will embrace and keep on-hand throughout their careers.
A Dictionary of Film Studies by
Written by experts in the field, this dictionary covers all aspects of film studies, including terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism, national, international and transnational cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry organizations andpractices, and key technical terms and concepts in 500 detailed entries. Most entries also feature recommendations for further reading and a large number also have web links. The web links are listed and regularly updated on a companion website that complements the printed book.The dictionary is international in its approach, covering national cinemas, genres, and film movements from around the world such as the Nouvelle Vague, Latin American cinema, the Latsploitation film, Bollywood, Yiddish cinema, the spaghetti western, and World cinema. The most up-to-date dictionaryof its kind available, this is a must-have for all students of film studies and ancillary subjects, as well as an informative read for cinephiles and for anyone with an interest in films and film criticism.
Indie Reframed: Women's filmmaking and contemporary American independent cinema by 
Journalism by
This volume sets out the state-of-the-art in the discipline of journalism at a time in which the practice and profession of journalism is in serious flux.While journalism is still anchored to its history, change is infecting the field. The profession, and the scholars who study it, are reconceptualizing what journalism is in a time when journalists no longer monopolize the means for spreading the news. Here, journalism is explored as a social practice, as an institution, and as memory. The roles, epistemologies, and ethics of the field are evolving. With this in mind, the volume revisits classic theories of journalism, such as gatekeeping and agenda-setting, but also opens up new avenues of theorizing by broadening the scope of inquiry into an expanded journalism ecology, which now includes citizen journalism, documentaries, and lifestyle journalism, and by tapping the insights of other disciplines, such as geography, economics, and psychology.The volume is a go-to map of the field for students and scholars--highlighting emerging issues, enduring themes, revitalized theories, and fresh conceptualizations of journalism.
Journalism : A Career Handbook by
Print journalism is one of the most popular career options amongrecent graduates. But how many of them land that crucial first job andgo on to build a career in print journalism? This book gives you all you need to plan and build your career injournalism, including sections on: - Analysis of the industry: sectorsand structures - Types of print journalism: newspapers, national andregional; magazines; consumer handouts; voluntary sector publishing;web journalism; agency work; photojournalism - Range of jobopportunities; freelance/salaried; in-house/in the field - Routes intojournalism: getting in and getting on - Training and education;resources/contacts.
Journalism by
Traditional news values no longer hold: infotainment has the day. Journalism is in a terminal state of decline. Or so some contemporary commentators would argue. Although there has been a great diversity in format and ownership over time, Conboy demonstrates the surprising continuity of concerns in the history of journalism. Questions of political influence, the impact of advertising, the sensationalisation of news coverage, the ′dumbing down′ of the press, the economic motives of newspaper owners - these are themes that emerge repeatedly over time and again today. In this book, Martin Conboy provides a history of the development of newspapers, periodicals and broadcast journalism which · enables readers to engage critically with contemporary issues within the news media · outlines the connections, as well as the distinctions, across historical periods · spans the introduction of printed news to the arrival of the ′new′ news media · demonstrates how journalism has always been informed by a cultural practices broader and more dynamic than the simple provision of news By situating journalism in its historical context, this book enables students to more fully understand the wide range of practices which constitute contemporary journalism. As such it will be an essential text for students of journalism and the media.
Handbook of Media Management and Economics by
This comprehensive Handbook provides a synthesis of current work and research in media management and economics. The volume has been developed around two primary objectives: assessing the state of knowledge for the key topics in the media management and economics fields; and establishing the research agenda in these areas, ultimately pushing the field in new directions. The Handbook'snbsp;chapters are organized into parts addressing the theoretical components, key issues, analytical tools, and future directions for research. Each chapter offers the current state of theory and scholarship of a specific area of study, and the volume contributors--all well established in their areas of specialty--represent domestic and international scholarship. With its unparalleled breadth of content from expert authors, the Handbook provides background knowledge of the various theoretical dimensions and historical paradigms, and establishes the direction for the next phases of research in this growing arena of study. The Handbook of Media Management and Economics will serve to stimulate future thought and research in the media management and economics disciplines. As such, this volume will be a required reference for students, professors, and industry practitioners for years to come.
Advertising by
In this book, the authors present current research in the study of advertising methods and perceptions and their impact on consumer behaviour. Topics discussed include the use of tourism distribution channels for advertising a religious "imagined community" in Arcadia, Greece; investing in culture and intercultural relations for advertising and sustainable development of the contemporary European city with the framework of international city branding; a social psychological perspective of marketing strategies appealing to the consumers' uniqueness; social media advertising and its important role in representing and influencing consumer choices; cultural characteristics and how they moderate consumer response to positive and negative feeling advertisements; and consumers and brand loyalty.
Advertising: a Very Short Introduction by
John Wanamaker famously observed that "half the money I spend on advertising is wasted; the trouble is, I don't know which half." Indeed, though advertising is pervasive in our society, how it works (if and when it works) is not a question most of us can answer. In this Very Short Introduction, Winston Fletcher, a seasoned advertising veteran with extensive inside knowledge, offers an illuminating look at this billion-dollar business, dispelling some of the myths and misunderstandings surrounding the industry. Fletcher offers a short history of advertising and explains how the industry works and how each of the parties--the advertisers, the media, and the agencies--contribute to the process. He also looks at the financial side of advertising and asks how today's Wanamakers know if they have been successful, or whether their money has in fact been wasted. The book concludes with a discussion of controversial and unacceptable areas of advertising, such as advertising aimed at children and the promotion of products such as cigarettes and alcohol.
How to Create an Idea If You Are Not Ogilvy by
Why are recommendations like "Think outside the box!", "Go around", "Think Different!" the real killers of creative thought? What are the eight proven tools which lead to a winning idea, even for one who does not consider himself a creative person?What is the ideal product and how does it help to sell the real product?What is a powerful approach ad people can borrow from physicists and children?Why is the trial-and-error method a sure way to waste intellectual resources?How do you force competitors to advertise your services?What is functional blindness and how does it reduce human creativity?How can you compel a banker to pay you 10 times more for your job?Why does a true ad man constantly feel like a loser?How does a poetry reading improve response on copywriting?Which useful insights can an advertiser learn from a taxi driver?How has symmetry prevented seeing the obvious solution during seven decades?Which tool is the favorite among advertising men of all countries, times, and nationalities?Alexey Ivanov, one of the best 'advertising men' and copywriters in Russia, gives convincing answers and provides fresh new insights.
Advertising by
Read all about the world of our four-legged friends with the Pebble Dogs set. From Dachshunds to Dalmatians, young readers will learn about the unique traits and basic care of different kinds of dogs. Fun photographs and interesting facts bring these favo
Advertising in Contemporary Consumer Culture by
This is the first scholarly book dedicated to reading the work of contemporary filmmakers and their impact on modern marketing and advertising. Drawing from consumer culture theory, film and media studies, the author presents an expansive analysis of a range of renowned filmmakers who have successfully applied their aesthetic and narrative vision to commercial advertising. It challenges some traditional advertising tropes and sheds light on the changing nature of advertising in the contemporary media context. Utilising Deleuze and Guattari's notion of assemblage, this book addresses themes of spatiality and time, narrative and aesthetics and consumer reception within a new frame of reference that re-contextualises classical concepts of genre, platform and aesthetic categories. These diverse elements are embedded into a larger discussion of the resonance of contemporary advertising for consumer culture and the implications of the hybridity characteristic of convergent media platforms for understanding the potential of advertising in the twenty-first century. It offers a cutting-edge, interdisciplinary perspective for researchers, academics, and practitioners working in marketing communications, advertising, and media studies.
