Communication & Mass Media Studies

Indexes journals (and provides some full text) of scholarly journals covering many aspects of Communication & Mass Media Studies

From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information in full-text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Access to the CQ Researcher with reports covering current controversial topics from the news; and CQ Weekly with coverage of U.S. Congressional bills, votes, committees, etc.

The JSTOR database consists of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in all disciplines. Coverage: varies--going back to first year of publication and coming up to 3-5 years ago. See the Project Muse database for scholarly articles from within the past 3-5 years.

Kanopy offers one of the most unique and compelling collections of film on the planet. The films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, to must-see classics and blockbuster movies. Our sophisticated discovery engine encourages our users to challenge themselves to watch films outside of their comfort area. Kanopy streams more than 26,000 films to 3,000 higher education campuses worldwide, reaching millions of students around the globe. Kanopy knows that students love learning through film and they want to make it easy for libraries to find and acquire the films.
While only faculty members and course instructors can request the purchase of a film license, any student may peruse and watch any film that is already licensed by the University at their leisure.

Provides full text access to hundreds of newspapers. Also includes popular news magazines, detailed special reports on current events, and hot topics. Coverage: varies by paper.

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers current social issues, helping students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. It includes a streamlined interface, media-rich topic pages, and curriculum-focused tools that help students explore issues from all perspectives. Resources are divided into topics which contains numerous full text pieces further categorized by the nature of their material: viewpoints (essays), reference, statistics, magazines and newspapers, images, primary documents and web sites.

Indexes periodicals in addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, communications & mass media, community health & medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology, and urban studies. Coverage: citations & abstracts, 1983- ; full text, 1995-.