Research Guides: Communication &amp; Mass Media Studies: Newspapers

Newspapers

Historical Newspapers

Finding, using, and understanding primary sources is a key to research; newspapers are excellent primary sources. Use the guide below to learn about using historical newspapers in your research.

Historical Newspapers
by Gerald Chaudron Last Updated Sep 21, 2023 2082 views this year

Newspaper Databases

Use the databases below to search tons of newspapers, all at once!

Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window
OneFile News is a full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. A one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. With OneFile News, you can search more than 1,800 titles of national, international, state and local newspapers (including Commercial Appeal 1996-2012).
National Newspaper Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes America's top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, and The Washington Post. Includes all NYT articles, news reports, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, product evaluations, biographical pieces, poetry, recipes, columns, cartoons and illustrations, and reviews. (Excluded: weather charts, stock market tables, crossword puzzles, and horoscopes.) Also includes national and international news stories written by the staff writers of the Washington Post and the Los Angeles Times. Selective indexing of other types of articles. Coverage: 1977-.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to hundreds of newspapers. Also includes popular news magazines, detailed special reports on current events, and hot topics. Coverage: varies by paper.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Access Specific Newspapers

Search the library's catalog to find out if a specific journal title (newspapers or journals) is available in print, on microform, or online. Several titles are available in multiple formats. Please ask for help if you can't determine whether or not we have what you need!