Research Guides: Religious Studies: Methodology

Methodology

Religious Methodology

What is a methodology in religious studies? Methodologies in religious studies are the interpretive models on which the analysis of religious phenomena and resources are discussed. Methodologies provide a lense of analysis from which to view the field of religous studies. Within religious studies there are three common methodologies: Philosophy of Religion (Phenomenology), the study of religious communities (Functionalism), and the study of all aspects of the beliefs, practices, and experiences of the followers of a particular religion (Lived Religion). There are many subsets within these fields and other methodologies can be used in combination to study a particular faith.

This page provides you with resources on methodology in religious studies.

Methodology Resources: Databases

Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
Considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Gale OneFile Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
A subset of Gale OneFile, featuring a selection of more than 250 magazines and academic journals covering religion, philosophy and the related areas of archaeology and anthropology. Traces the impact that religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Coverage: 1980-.;"Access provided by the Tennessee State Library & Archives and Tennshare; part of the Tennessee Electronic Library"
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR database consists of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in all disciplines. Coverage: varies--going back to first year of publication and coming up to 3-5 years ago. See the Project Muse database for scholarly articles from within the past 3-5 years.

Additional Resources

PewResearch Religion & Public Life Project This link opens in a new window
An excellent resource on religion in American life today.
World Religions & Spirituality Project This link opens in a new window
The Pluralism Project This link opens in a new window
Harvard-sponsored project designed to help Americans engage with the realities of religious diversity through research, outreach, and the active dissemination of resources.