There are a few ways to search for books and ebooks in the University Libraries collection. One way to begin your search is to use the "Search Almost Everything" box on the left hand side of this page.
A second way to search is using the "Classic Catalog." The Classic Catalog is a bit different from the main search bar. The main search bar will bring up everything in the library's collection, but will also show results from databases, journals, etc. The Classic Catalog, however, searches only the collections owned by the University Libraries and its affiliated local libraries.
Books in the library are given subject terms. These words describe the topic of the book, and books with the same subjects are going to be about similar topics. If you can find one book on your topics, look at its listed subjects and use those to identify new search words. Subjects are also hyperlinked. Clicking on a linked subject will take you to a list of titles that share the same subjects! Some of the examples in the Books by Topic section might help you identify subject terms.
Companion Encyclopedia of Theology by 
Religion and American Culture by
While Americans still profess to be one of the most religious people in the industrialized world, many aspects of American culture have long been secular and materialistic. That is just one of the many paradoxes, contradictions, and surprises in the relationship between Christianity and American culture. In this book George Marsden, a leading historian of American Christianity and award-winning author, tells the story of that relationship in a concise and thought-provoking way. Surveying the history of religion and American culture from the days of the earliest European settlers right up through the elections of 2016, Marsden offers the kind of historically and religiously informed scholarship that has made him one of the nation's most respected and decorated historians. Students in the classroom and history readers of all ages will benefit from engaging with the story Marsden tells.
Thinking about Religion: An Historical Introduction to Theories of Religion by 
Religion, Theory, Critique: Classic and Contemporary Approaches and Methodologies by
Religion, Theory, Critique is an essential tool for learning about theory and method in the study of religion. Leading experts engage with contemporary and classical theories as well as non-Western cultural contexts. Unlike other collections, this anthology emphasizes the dynamic relationship between "religion" as an object of study and different methodological approaches and openly addresses the question of the manifold ways in which "religion," "secular," and "culture" are imagined within different disciplinary horizons. This volume is the first textbook which seeks to engage discussion of classical approaches with contemporary cultural and critical theories. Contributors write on the influence of the natural sciences in the study of religion; the role of European Christianity in modeling theories of religion; religious experience and the interface with cognitive science; the structure and function of religious language; the social-scientific study of religion; ritual in religion; the phenomenology of religion; critical theory and religion; embodiment and religion; the impact of colonialism and modernity; theorizing religion in terms of race and ethnicity; links among religion, nationalism, and globalization; the interplay of gender, sex, and religion; and religion and the environment. Each chapter introduces the topic, identifies key theorists and issues, and respects the pluralistic nature of the scholarship in the field. Altogether, this collection scrutinizes the explicit and implicit assumptions theorists make about religion as an object of analysis.
Methodology in Religious Studies: The Interface with Women's Studies by 
Milestone Documents of World Religions: Exploring Traditions of Faith through Primary Sources by 
Eastern Definitions: A Short Encyclopedia of Religions of the Orient by 
On Buddhism by
Six lectures by eminent Buddhist thinker Keiji Nishitani reflecting on Buddhism for the modern world.
Buddhism in the Public Sphere: Reorienting Global Interdependence by
The core teachings and practices of Buddhism are systematically directed toward developing keen and caring insight into the relational or interdependent nature of all things. Hershock applies Buddhist thought to reflect on the challenges to public good, created by emerging social, economic, and political realities associated with increasingly complex global interdependence. In eight chapters, the key arenas for public policy are addressed: the environment, health, media, trade and development, the interplay of politics and religion, international relations, terror and security, and education. Each chapter explains how a specific issue area has come to be shaped by complex interdependence and offers specific insights into directing the growing interdependence toward greater equity, sustainability, and freedom. Thereby, a sustained meditation on the meaning and means of realizing public good is put forward, which results in a solid Buddhist conception of diversity.nbsp;Hershock argues that concepts of Karma and emptiness are relevant across the full spectrum of policy domains and that Buddhist concepts become increasingly forceful as concerns shift from the local to the global. A remarkablenbsp;book on this fascinating religion, Buddhism in the Public Sphere will be of interest to scholars and students in Buddhist studies and Asian religion in general.
How Buddhism Began: The Conditioned Genesis of the Early Teachings by
Written by one of the world's top scholars in the field of Pali Buddhism, this new and updated edition of How Buddhism Began, discusses various important doctrines and themes in early Buddhism. It takes 'early Buddhism' to be that reflected in the Pali canon, and to some extent assumes that these doctrines reflect the teachings of the Buddha himself. Two themes predominate. Firstly, the author argues that we cannot understand the Buddha unless we understand that he was debating with other religious teachers, notably Brahmins. The other main theme concerns metaphor, allegory and literalism. This accessible, well-written book is mandatory reading for all serious students of Buddhism.
Shinto: A Short History by
Shinto - A Short History provides an introductory outline of the historical development of Shinto from the ancient period of Japanese history until the present day. Shinto does not offer a readily identifiable set of teachings, rituals or beliefs; individual shrines and kami deities have led their own lives, not within the confines of a narrowly defined Shinto, but rather as participants in a religious field that included Buddhist, Taoist, Confucian and folk elements. Thus, this book approaches Shinto as a series of historical 'religious systems' rather than attempting to identify a timeless 'Shinto essence'. This history focuses on three aspects of Shinto practice: the people involved in shrine worship, the institutional networks that ensured continuity, and teachings and rituals. By following the interplay between these aspects in different periods, a pattern of continuity and discontinuity is revealed that challenges received understandings of the history of Shinto. This book does not presuppose prior knowledge of Japanese religion, and is easily accessible for those new to the subject.
A Study of Shinto: The Religion of the Japanese Nation by
This volume investigates and present the salient features of Shinto through a long history of development from its remote past up to the present. It is a historical study of Shinto from a scientific point of view, illustrating the higher aspects of the religion, compile on strict lines of religious comparison.
Fundamentals of Mainstream Buddhism by
Published in association with the distinguished Buddhist Society, London, this book provides a lucid study of the primary tenets of Buddhism. It is directed specifically to those seeking to learn the foundations of Buddhist ideas in a straightforward manner, without becoming involved in conflicting sectarian interpretations. The author draws his material directly from the Buddha's own teachings, known as sutras, as well as from major texts and commentaries recorded in the first centuries after the Buddha's death. Accepted by all Buddhist sects, these have been translated from the original Pali and Sanskrit languages, and form the basis of what the author describes as Mainstream Buddhism. The result is a clear presentation of the Buddha's teachings that the reader can use as a starting point for further study or for actual Buddhist practice.
Understanding Buddhism by
In ancient India, a wealthy prince named Siddhartha beheld human suffering and became determined to try to put a stop to it. Through meditation and self-discipline, he gained enlightenment and attracted a following that over time grew in the new faith-Buddhism. The religion's beginnings are discussed, along with core beliefs, common practices, and challenges for the future.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
From Buddhism in Afghanistan to Zen Buddhism, this book offers an in-depth overview of this fascinating religion.In approximately 700 A-to-Z entries, ""Encyclopedia of Buddhism"" provides easy access to the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, institutions, and movements that helped shape the history of Buddhism and the way it is practiced today. Although the primary focus of the encyclopedia is clearly on Buddhism in all its forms, this easy-to-use resource also provides introductions to Daoism, Shinto, Confucianism, and other religious practices in East and Southeast Asia.The entries include: Anatman; Asoka; Bodhi tree; Buddhism in the United States; Pema Chodron; Christian-Buddhist relations; Dalai Lama; Daoism in China-Taiwan; Eightfold Path; Falun Gong; Feng shui; Hermann Hesse; Japan Buddhist Federation; Karma; Mandala; Nirvana; Questions of King Milinda; Schools of Chinese Buddhism; Stupa; Tea ceremony; Traditional Buddhist ethics; War and violence; and, Zen Buddhism.
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls by 
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by 
The New Testament Background: Selected Documents Edited, with Introductions by 
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by 
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States by
Some scholars believe that the influence of Islam in the United States can be traced back to Thomas Jefferson. Today, Islam and American Muslim populations are growing in importance in this country, and demand for information about them is high, especially in the aftermath of September 11, 2001. This A-to-Z encyclopedia will help students and other readers get a fast grip on pertinent holidays, terms, beliefs, practices, notables, and sects of the Islamic faith and Muslim practitioners in the United States. The accompanying primary documents volume provides 93 crucial articles, speeches, essays, poems, songs, and more to flesh out the encyclopedia entries. This encyclopedia and primary documents set, the first on the topic and for the general reader, is a must-have for every library. The primary focus is contemporary but the entries are historically contextualized, so the fuller picture of origins outside the country and practice now in the United States is clear. Further reading suggestions accompany each entry. The primary documents volume enhances the encyclopedic entries with annotated selections such as an article from an entry on a leading Muslim American magazine or an essay by a Muslim American scholar to illuminate an entry on her. This will be a boon for students doing reports on Islam and for non-Muslims looking to learn about Muslims in an objective, broad way. It is clearly and authoritatively written and compiled by a host of scholars, primarily from Harvard University's Center for Middle Eastern Studies. An introduction, chronology, selected bibliography, set index, and photos round out the set. Sample entries: African Americans; Bush, George W.; Calendar; Dietary Rules; Dress; Gulf War; Hate Crimes; Iranian Hostage Crisis; Media Coverage; The Message International Magazine; Mosques; Music; Muslim Students Association; Nation of Islam; Native Americans; New York City; Poetry; Prisons; Shi'a Communities; Sufism; World Trade Center; Young Professionals. Sample documents: Salah Al-Sawy, The Assembly of Muslim Jurists in America Fatwa Against the Danish Media and Government over the Cartoon Crisis, from The Assembly of Muslim Jurists in America; Michael Wolfe, Michael Wolfe, United States, 1990, from One Thousand Roads to Mecca: Ten Centuries of Travelers Writing about the Muslim Pilgrimage; Waris and Wajid Syed, Top 10 Muslim Hip-Hop Lyrics, from Warbux Records, beliefnet.com
The Emancipation of Europe's Muslims: The State's Role in Minority Integration by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by 
Political Liberalism in Muslim Societies by 
Democracy, Human Rights and Law in Islamic Thought by 
The Fire, the Star and the Cross by 
Gender, Religion and Education in a Chaotic Postmodern World by 
The Jewish Encyclopedia of Moral and Ethical Issues by
The Jewish Encyclopedia of Moral and Ethical Issues delineates the Jewish attitudes on seventy-one subjects from Advertising to Zero Population Growth and includes such topics as Cults, Miracles, Sex, and War.
Encyclopedia of Religious and Philosophical Writings in Late Antiquity by
Offers general readers as well as scholars with introductions to over seven hundred of the main religious and philosophical writings of Greco-Roman paganism, early Judaism, and formative Christianity.
How Judaism Became a Religion by
A new approach to understanding Jewish thought since the eighteenth century Is Judaism a religion, a culture, a nationality--or a mixture of all of these? In How Judaism Became a Religion, Leora Batnitzky boldly argues that this question more than any other has driven modern Jewish thought since the eighteenth century. This wide-ranging and lucid introduction tells the story of how Judaism came to be defined as a religion in the modern period--and why Jewish thinkers have fought as well as championed this idea. Ever since the Enlightenment, Jewish thinkers have debated whether and how Judaism--largely a religion of practice and public adherence to law--can fit into a modern, Protestant conception of religion as an individual and private matter of belief or faith. Batnitzky makes the novel argument that it is this clash between the modern category of religion and Judaism that is responsible for much of the creative tension in modern Jewish thought. Tracing how the idea of Jewish religion has been defended and resisted from the eighteenth century to today, the book discusses many of the major Jewish thinkers of the past three centuries, including Moses Mendelssohn, Abraham Geiger, Hermann Cohen, Martin Buber, Zvi Yehuda Kook, Theodor Herzl, and Mordecai Kaplan. At the same time, it tells the story of modern orthodoxy, the German-Jewish renaissance, Jewish religion after the Holocaust, the emergence of the Jewish individual, the birth of Jewish nationalism, and Jewish religion in America. More than an introduction, How Judaism Became a Religion presents a compelling new perspective on the history of modern Jewish thought.
Judaism: The Genealogy of a Modern Notion by
Judaism makes the bold argument that the very concept of a religion of 'Judaism' is an invention of the Christian church. The intellectual journey of world-renowned Talmud scholar Daniel Boyarin, this book will change the study of "Judaism"--an essential key word in Jewish Studies--as we understand it today. Boyarin argues that although the world treats the word "Judaism" as appropriate for naming an alleged religion of the Jews, it is in fact a Christian theological concept only adopted by Jews with the coming of modernity and the adoption of Christian languages.
Judaism by
Judaism: A Brief Guide to Faith and Practice is a sensitive and comprehensive introduction to Judaism. What is it like to be born into the Jewish community? How does belief in the One God and a universal morality shape the way in which Jews see the world? How does one find meaning in life and the courage to endure suffering? How does one mark joy and forge community ties? By examining these details of Jewish life, readers can see how Jews have defined themselves and their relationship to the Almighty, how they have identified tools for a righteous and purposeful existence, and how they hope to make the world a dwelling place for God.
Judaism in America by
Jews have been a religious and cultural presence in America since the colonial era, and the community of Jews in the United States today--some six million people--continues to make a significant contribution to the American religious landscape. Emphasizing developments in American Judaism in the last quarter century among active participants in Jewish worship, this book provides both a look back into the 350-year history of Judaic life and a well-crafted portrait of a multifaceted tradition today. Combining extensive research into synagogue archival records and secondary sources as well as interviews and observations of worship services at more than a hundred Jewish congregations across the country, Raphael's study distinguishes itself as both a history of the Judaic tradition and a witness to the vitality and variety of contemporary American Judaic life. Beginning with a chapter on beliefs, festivals, and life-cycle events, both traditional and non-traditional, and an explanation of the enormous variation in practice, Raphael then explores Jewish history in America, from the arrival of the first Jews to the present, highlighting the emergence and development of the four branches: Orthodox, Conservative, Reconstructionist, and Reform. After documenting the considerable variety among the branches, the book addresses issues of some controversy, notably spirituality, conversion, homosexuality, Jewish education, synagogue architecture, and the relationship to Israel. Raphael turns next to a discussion of eight American Jews whose thoughts and/or activities made a huge impact on American Judaism. The final chapter focuses on the return to tradition in every branch of Judaism and examines prospects for the future.
Modern Judaism: An Introduction to the Beliefs and Practices of Contemporary Judaism by
Modern Judaism: An Introduction to the Beliefs and Practices of Contemporary Judaism is a modern, up-to-date introduction to Judaism as a culture and as an expression of faith. The book begins with a survey of Jewish history in order to provide a context for the thoughts and practices of Judaism today. Topics covered in the text include: The Basic Principles of Judaism Festivals and Life-cycle Events Jewish Views of the Afterlife The Organization of Today's Jewish Communities The Jewish Home The Relationship Between Judaism and Other Religions The book includes selected texts and basic Hebrew prayers to help readers with important religious rituals both at home and in the synagogue. It also reviews important technical Hebrew vocabulary to provide readers with a better understanding of some of the concepts that stand at the center of rich Jewish traditions. Modern Judaism is an excellent introduction to a centuries old religion and culture, and it thoughtfully expresses how this religion and culture can be, and are, meaningfully expressed in today's society.
Encyclopedia of Judaism by
Encyclopedia of Judaism explores a tradition that has a 2,000-year recorded history and has been a part of the culture of almost every country and society around the globe. Encapsulating all things Jewish - language, laws, literature, arts, theology, ritual, land, culture, and personalities - this authoritative volume offers readers access to Judaism from both a historical and contemporary perspective.
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America, Set by
The Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America harvests the fruits of 25 years of scholarship on the history and current state of women's religious experience in North America. The result of a five-year project led by Rosemary Skinner Keller and Rosemary Radford Ruether and funded by the Lilly Endowment and the Henry Luce Foundation, the encyclopedia marshals the talents of more than 150 scholars to produce the most comprehensive and up-to-date description and analysis of women and religion in North America. The encyclopedia is interreligious, interracial, and multicultural and is aimed at a broad general audience. Instead of hundreds of short entries, this encyclopedia features more than 145 longer essays that enable major themes to be developed more fully. The articles focus on institutions, movements, and ideas. The authors weave biographical sketches into their articles to give them a more personal and humanizing quality, and to recognize the women responsible for the gains made over the centuries. The essays demonstrate that neither the story of women nor the story of religion in North America can be accurately told unless the religious experience of women is integrated into the center of women's and religious history. These well-illustrated volumes will be an essential reference for all of those interested in the role of women in North America's vibrant and complex religious life.
