Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Course-Specific Resources

Course-Specific OER

Materials collected for courses involved in the 2021 THEC OER grant.

ENGL 2201/2202

Lumen Learning
Lumens offers comprehensive materials for introductory college courses in math, English, business, and natural sciences.
MERLOT: English
Open educational resources for developing course content and one-off assignments
MIT OpenCourseWare
Most of MIT's courses have been added to this repository as open educational resources. Search by discipline or department.
OASIS
Search OASIS by subject to find thousands of available open education and public domain texts. Filter by publisher or subject tags for a more curated list of resources.
Open Course Library
Collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
Saylor Academy
Free and open online courses at the college and professional levels. For literature instructors, there are only a couple of complete courses available, but specific course content might be selected to incorporate into your classes.

Bibliomania
With over 2000 classic texts in fiction, drama, and poetry, Bibliomania offers users an extensive list of readings to choose from. Instructors can search by genre, by author, or by title to find the text(s). Limited primarily to literature already in open domain, Bibliomania's collection still offers an organized means of finding available texts for literature students and instructors.
Digital Book Index
With access to over 100,000+ digital books, the Digital Book Index contains carefully organized sets of public domain texts based on topic, authors' nationality, and publisher(s).

A Celebration of Women Writers
A Celebration of Women Writers provides users with lists of links to author biographies and the literary texts themselves based on time period, the author's background, Newberry awards, etc. Instructors may notice that the site often redirects to other OER such as HathiTrust, but the level of organization it offers for literature professors seeking texts by female authors is unparalleled elsewhere. User should also be aware that A Celebration of Women Writers references - almost exclusively - older, public domain texts.
Bartleby
Bartleby.com providess users a finite list of public domain texts and open access literary anthologies. Limited in scope compared to some other OER sites, Bartleby's collections are clearly organized and easy to navigate. For instructors who need access to canonized texts by Stephen Crane, Emily Dickinson, or D.H. Lawrence, Bartleby offers an easy-to-use platform.
Bibliomania
With over 2000 classic texts in fiction, drama, and poetry, Bibliomania offers users an extensive list of readings to choose from. Instructors can search by genre, by author, or by title to find the text(s). Limited primarily to literature already in open domain, Bibliomania's collection still offers an organized means of finding available texts for literature students and instructors.
Digital Book Index
With access to over 100,000+ digital books, the Digital Book Index contains carefully organized sets of public domain texts based on topic, authors' nationality, and publisher(s).

eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The eBooks on EBSCOhost database contains thousands of books about a wide variety of world literatures and literary criticism. Once logged into the database, UofM library patrons can use the limiters on the side of the search results page to further refine their results by sub-topic, date of publication, and more. Fully downloadable, EBSCO eBooks can be read as ePubs or PDFs.
eBooks on EBSCOHost can be downloaded to read on your computer or a portable device. You will need to have Adobe Digital Editions on your computer, and also set up an account with EBSCO. To learn how to download books, visit or call the RIS Desk (678-2208), or view a tutorial from EBSCO

Bartleby
Bartleby.com providess users a finite list of public domain texts and open access literary anthologies. Limited in scope compared to some other OER sites, Bartleby's collections are clearly organized and easy to navigate. For instructors who need access to canonized texts by Stephen Crane, Emily Dickinson, or D.H. Lawrence, Bartleby offers an easy-to-use platform.
Bibliomania
With over 2000 classic texts in fiction, drama, and poetry, Bibliomania offers users an extensive list of readings to choose from. Instructors can search by genre, by author, or by title to find the text(s). Limited primarily to literature already in open domain, Bibliomania's collection still offers an organized means of finding available texts for literature students and instructors.

eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The eBooks on EBSCOhost database contains thousands of books about a wide variety of world literatures and literary criticism. Once logged into the database, UofM library patrons can use the limiters on the side of the search results page to further refine their results by sub-topic, date of publication, and more. Fully downloadable, EBSCO eBooks can be read as ePubs or PDFs.
eBooks on EBSCOHost can be downloaded to read on your computer or a portable device. You will need to have Adobe Digital Editions on your computer, and also set up an account with EBSCO. To learn how to download books, visit or call the RIS Desk (678-2208), or view a tutorial from EBSCO

eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The eBooks on EBSCOhost database contains thousands of books about a wide variety of world literatures and literary criticism. Once logged into the database, UofM library patrons can use the limiters on the side of the search results page to further refine their results by sub-topic, date of publication, and more. Fully downloadable, EBSCO eBooks can be read as ePubs or PDFs.
eBooks on EBSCOHost can be downloaded to read on your computer or a portable device. You will need to have Adobe Digital Editions on your computer, and also set up an account with EBSCO. To learn how to download books, visit or call the RIS Desk (678-2208), or view a tutorial from EBSCO
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference works on business, the environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and social science.

Internet Public Library
The IPL provides a wide-ranging list of accessible critical theory resources. To some degree, the IPL's recommendations are arranged by genre and time period, giving users a better idea of where to start searching depending on the type of content they desire.
OAPEN
The Open Access and Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN0 offers free texts from a range of disciplines. Specific to literary studies, books that cover topics in American literature, World literatures, literary themes, and the development of literature are all available for use.
OER Commons
The OER Commons employs an intuitive search box that easily directs users to relevant materials related to their keyword search. Although OER Commons does require registration, membership to the site is free.

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Of primary use to literature instructors is the repository of Southern slave narratives in the ABC-CLIO database. Access via the link above or the University Libraries homepage.

A Celebration of Women Writers
A Celebration of Women Writers provides users with lists of links to author biographies and the literary texts themselves based on time period, the author's background, Newberry awards, etc. Instructors may notice that the site often redirects to other OER such as HathiTrust, but the level of organization it offers for literature professors seeking texts by female authors is unparalleled elsewhere. User should also be aware that A Celebration of Women Writers references - almost exclusively - older, public domain texts.
Digital Book Index
With access to over 100,000+ digital books, the Digital Book Index contains carefully organized sets of public domain texts based on topic, authors' nationality, and publisher(s).

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference works on business, the environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and social science.

Digital Book Index
With access to over 100,000+ digital books, the Digital Book Index contains carefully organized sets of public domain texts based on topic, authors' nationality, and publisher(s).

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference works on business, the environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and social science.

GALILEO: English
This link will direct you straight to GALILEO's English resources, including textbooks and auxiliary materials for literature and composition courses.
Lumen Learning
Please note that Lumen's online courses do not offer your standard, downloaded textbook. Rather, the entirety of course materials are published on web pages associated with the various courses.
OAPEN
The Open Access and Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN0 offers free texts from a range of disciplines. Specific to literary studies, books that cover topics in American literature, World literatures, literary themes, and the development of literature are all available for use.
OASIS
Search OASIS by subject to find thousands of available open education and public domain texts. Filter by publisher or subject tags for a more curated list of resources.
OER Commons
The OER Commons employs an intuitive search box that easily directs users to relevant materials related to their keyword search. Although OER Commons does require registration, membership to the site is free.
Open Textbook Library: Literature, Rhetoric, and Poetry
The Open Textbook Library's resources are available as ebooks, PDFs, and HTML webpages. For instructors of ENGL 2201 & 2201, the OTL's offerings might require an assemblage of readings from various textbooks in order to acquaint students with a survey of literature instead of a specific national or periodic literature.
Teaching Commons
The Teaching Commons website is home to a number of textbooks and other course materials from a wide array of academic disciplines.

ENGL 2201/2201 Addt'l Resources

Because of the ever-growing literary canon and ongoing literary criticism of both historical and contemporary literature, we must recognize that not every preferred text for a literature course may be available as an Open Education Resource. Considerations must be made for texts that are freely and legally available within the public domain - but perhaps might not have been included in an OER textbook - as well as other pieces disseminated by widely available publications such as online literary journals or magazines.

While acknowledging that these types of resources are not standard OER, they do fulfill the larger purpose of offering free/inexpensive course materials for our ENGL 2201/2202 students. As such, we would like to direct instructors' attention to the University Libraries' previously assembled guides to finding critical reviews, as well as a reminder that information pertaining to copyright and public domain that is cited elsewhere within the OER guide.

General Literature Resources
On this page, you will find links to relevant University Libraries' databases, as well as subject headings - essentially keywords - that you and your students can use to research literary topics within the UofM's library resources.
African American Literature
Search here for relevant historical information pertaining to the African American experience in the United States.
How to Find a Book Review
Click here for an thorough overview of how to find book reviews in journals and newspapers and on the internet.
Copyright & Public Domain
To refresh your memory about fair use of public domain and copyrighted literary texts, please consult the images and linked explanations at the bottom of this page.
Local Literary Reviews
For student and instructor access to reviews of local authors and publications, utilize this list of user names and passwords for local newspapers such as The Commercial Appeal and The Jackson Sun.
New York Times
For access to the NYT catalog of literary reviews from 1851 to the present, you can find the information you need here to create a free account.

MATH 1530/1710C

General Resources

The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Open Access search tool that locates resources within collections such as OER Commons, OASIS, MERLOT, OpenStax, etc.
OASIS: Math
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records.
more...less...
OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
MERLOT: Mathematics
Open access resources from across the internet to supplement mathematics teaching and learning.
OER Commons
National Science Digital Library: Mathematics

Textbooks

American Institute of Mathematics
A collection of open access textbooks for mathematics.
BCcampus: OpenEd
Search British Colombia's endeavor to broaden access to OER among institutions of higher ed in the province and abroad.
LibreTexts: Mathematics
Open-access texts to for postsecondary mathematics education.
OER Commons
The OER Commons employs an intuitive search box that easily directs users to relevant materials related to their keyword search. Although OER Commons does require registration, membership to the site is free.
Openstax: Mathematics
Open access and peer reviewed textbooks for mathematics.
Open Textbook Library: Mathematics
The Open Textbook Library's resources are available as ebooks, PDFs, and HTML webpages.
Open Textbook Store: Mathematics
Teaching Commons: Physical Sciences & Mathematics
A collection of high-quality open access materials from colleges and universities, including textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.

Images, Audio, & Video

Openverse
Search and browse reusable images held under Creative Commons licenses or in the public domain.
more...less...
Formerly Creative Commons Search.
Google Images
Google Image search page; filter for reusable images after entering a search by clicking "Tools," and then "Usage Rights."
YouTube
Search for videos under Creative Commons licenses by clicking Filter then Creative Commons under Features.
TED Talks: Math
A collection of TED talks pertaining to topics in Mathematics.
Mathispower4u Tutorials by James Sousa
Videolectures.NET: Mathematics
Listen Notes
Search engine that allows users to search all podcasts available on the internet.

Interactive Resources

Desmos
Free, online collection of math software tools.
MyOpenMath
Free mathematics exercises designed to supplement open access textbooks.
PhET
Free, online STEM simulations.
WISC-Online
Wisc-Online provides learning objects, interactive activities, and other educational resources in various fields. From Veterinary Medicine to Economics and Political Science, it contains a variety of learning objects for students in nearly any discipline.

Books & Journals

arXiv.org
Open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB): Mathematics
Discovery service for peer reviewed open access books and book publishers that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed books.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Mathematics
Collection of over 15,000 peer-reviewed, open-access journals covering areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
E-Books Directory: Mathematics
Collection of freely downloadable e-books, technical papers, documents, user contributed content, articles, reviews and comments.
InTechOpen: Mathematics
Books in the science, technology, and medicine fields.
The National Academies Press: Math, Chemistry and Physics
Database of reports and books from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.

Courses

Academic Earth
Search by discipline in Academic Earth's course tab to find recorded lectures of discreet mathematic concepts.
BNC OER+
Lumen Learning
Course materials that utilize open educational resources, and provide high quality, interactive learning content, online homework, and personalized feedback.
Khan Academy: Math
Khan Academy's resources are 100%, but you must register a user name and password in order to access them.
MIT OpenCourseWare: Mathematics
Online collection of nearly all MIT course content.
Odigia
Open Learning Initiative
OLI courses from Carnegie Mellon and Stanford
Open Course Library
Collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
more...less...
Please note that textbooks needed for OCL courses may not be free to the student(s).
Saylor Academy: Mathematics
Free and open online courses at the college and professional levels. Includes embedded quizzes for student assessment.

Primary Sources

Internet Archive: Mathematics
Software applications, recordings, videos, books, and more.
Google Dataset Search
A search engine that allows users to search for datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.

This guide was created by Dr. Meredith Heath Boulden on behalf of the University of Memphis Libraries and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License unless otherwise noted. This guide is currently maintained by Carl Hess.