Department of English

From the Modern Language Association of America. Indexes and abstracts chapters in books and articles in periodicals related to language, literature, linguistics and folklore. Coverage: 1926-.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Streaming videos of 250+ definitive performances of the world's leading plays, along with 100+ film documentaries.

Ambrose Video 2.0 is a collection of 37 BBC Shakespeare Plays, provided by the Tennessee Board of Regents. Collection includes: All's Well That Ends Well; Antony & Cleopatra; As You Like It; The Comedy of Errors; Coriolanus; Cymbeline; Hamlet; Henry IV; Henry V; Henry VI; Henry VIII; Julius Caesar; King John; King Lear; Love's Labour's Lost; Macbeth; Measure for Measure; Merchant of Venice; Merry Wives of Windsor; A Midsummer Night's Dream; Much Ado About Nothing; Othello; Pericles; Richard II; Richard III; Romeo & Juliet; Taming of the Shrew; The Tempest; Timon of Athens; Titus Andronicus; Troilus & Cressida; Twelfth Night; Two Gentleman of Verona; The Winter's Tale.

Kanopy offers one of the most unique and compelling collections of film on the planet. The films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, to must-see classics and blockbuster movies. Our sophisticated discovery engine encourages our users to challenge themselves to watch films outside of their comfort area. Kanopy streams more than 26,000 films to 3,000 higher education campuses worldwide, reaching millions of students around the globe. Kanopy knows that students love learning through film and they want to make it easy for libraries to find and acquire the films.
While only faculty members and course instructors can request the purchase of a film license, any student may peruse and watch any film that is already licensed by the University at their leisure.