Research Guides: Interdisciplinary Programs: Aviation

Databases

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers periodicals in aeronautics, applied mathematics, AI, atmospheric science, chemical engineering, chemistry, construction, engineering, energy, fire prevention, food industry, geology, information technology, marine technology, metallurgy, mineralogy, neural networks, oceanography, optical & neural computing, petroleum & gas, physics, plastics, robotics, space science, textiles, transportation, and waste management. Coverage: indexing, 1913-; abstracts, 1993-; select full text, 1997-.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals in astronomy, atmospheric science, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, earth science, environment, food & nutrition, genetics, health & medicine, mathematics, microbiology, oceanography, and physics.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

Airline Pilots Association (ALPA) Represents and advocates for more than 61,000 pilots at 38 U.S. and Canadian airlines as the world’s largest airline pilot union.
more...less...
Go to Pilot Resources and then Safety and Security for a wide range of aviation safety information.
Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA) Membership and advocacy organization for commercial and private pilots.

Regulates civil aviation in the United States. Part of the Department of Transportation.

Flight Standards Information Management System The Flight Standards Information Management System (FSIMS) is a single-source, web-based, repository of policy and guidance available to all FAA employees.
FAA Aviation Handbooks & Manuals
FAA Accident and Incident Data

Independent Federal agency charged by Congress with investigating every civil aviation accident in the United States.

NTSB Office of Aviation Safety Investigates domestic aviation accidents, foreign aviation accidents involving major U.S. carriers or equipment, and safety issues.
NTSB Publications Includes accident reports, safety studies and alerts, and annual aviation reviews.
NTSB CAROL (Case Analysis and Reporting Online) Search Searches NTSB investigations and recommendations data across all modes.
more...less...
CAROL help

United Nations agency supporting diplomacy and standardization on aviation between its 193 member governments.

ASRS Database The ASRS database is the world's largest repository of voluntary, confidential safety information provided by aviation's frontline personnel, including pilots, controllers, mechanics, flight attendants, and dispatchers.