Research Guides: Government Publications: Statistics: Health

Regional Federal Depository Library

The University of Memphis Libraries has been a Federal Depository Library since 1966 and a Regional Depository Library since 1989.

Statistics Seaerch Tips and Tricks

Click on a relevant agency and either browse through the statistical reports or use the search box to search for your topic with keywords. For example, go to https://nces.ed.gov/ and search for dropouts Tennessee
Click on a relevant statistical report and either use the search box or browse the publications
If all else fails use Google to search with keywords in the .gov domain. For example: poverty memphis site:.gov or poverty memphis site:.tn.gov or poverty memphis site:.shelbycountytn.gov or poverty memphis site:.memphistn.gov

Relevant Databases--Require Authentication

ICPSR Data Holdings
Data supporting research in the social sciences, including economics and finance, population studies, sociology, health care, education, politics and governmental studies. Includes data sets provided by governmental and non-governmental agencies, as well as data sets from privately and publicly funded research, opinion polls and other studies.

FAQs and Help.
PolicyMap
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US. Useful for finding the right data for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
Proquest Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight are online collections of descriptive abstracts of thousands of statistical publications from Federal agencies, state agencies and private sector organizations, and international intergovernmental organizations
Social Explorer
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Includes US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
Statista
Easily access statistics and produce graphs for millions of statistics in business, entertainment, health, social sciences, and government.

Federal Agencies

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Within the department of Health and Human Services, the CDC is the nation’s leading public health agency. It is responsible for providing critical data that saves lives and protects people.
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
The primary agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services responsible for improving health and achieving health equity through access to quality services, a skilled health workforce and innovative programs providing health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
As the nation’s primary health statistics agency, NCHS provides accurate, relevant, and timely statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA’s mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America’s communities. The Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality is the government’s primary agency for behavioral health statistics.

Resources

CDC - Data and Statistics
Includes data and statistics by topic such as alcohol use, arthritis, cancer, and viral hepatitis. The Tools and Resources section provides easy access to
CDC Faststats
Provides quick access to statistics on a variety of topics including diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, health care and insurance, births and deaths.
CDC Health Data Interactive
Tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Ability to build your own tables by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
CDC Wonder
Includes nearly 20 collections of public-use data for U.S.births, deaths, cancer diagnosis, Tuberculosis cases, vaccinations, environmental exposures and population estimates and more. Users may query databases, or access summary statistics, maps, charts, and data extracts.
Census Bureau – Health Statistics
The Census Bureau provides accurate, detailed, and up-to-date statistics about people and business relating to health in America. Has detailed data for Disability, Expenses and Investments, Fertility, Health Insurance, HIV/AIDS, and Small Area Health Insurance Estimates.
Community Health Status Indicators
An interactive web application that produces health profiles for all 3,143 counties in the United States. Each profile includes key indicators of health outcomes, which describe the population health status of a county and factors that have the potential to influence health outcomes, such as health care access and quality, health behaviors, social factors and the physical environment.
Health, United States
An annual report on trends in Health Statistics. Covers trends and current information on selected measures of morbidity, mortality, health care utilization and access, health risk factors, prevention, health insurance, and personal health care expenditures.
Health Data Interactive
National health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables are customizable by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
Health Resources and Services Administration (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
HRSA’s programs provide health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable including people with HIV/AIDS, pregnant women, mothers and their families and those in need of high quality primary health care.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
CDC’s vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, ohjective, and useful public health information and recommendations. Data are provisional, based on weekly reports to CDC by state health departments.
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) - Data and Statistics Gateway
Provides statistics and data in the field of occupational safety and health. For data by topic, see the NIOSH Data A-Z Index.
National Vital Statistics System
Provides data through contracts between NCHS and vital registration systems operated in the various jurisdictions legally responsible for the registration of vital events – births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths.
Samhsa Data
A wealth of behavioral health data to inform decision making, policy, measure program impact, and lead to improved quality of services and outcomes for individuals, families, and communities. Data may be accessed by topic (e.g. Alcohol, HIV), type of report (e.g. Emergency Department Data, Mental Health Facilities Data, Client level Data), and geography, among others.
SAMHSA Publications
SEER (National Cancer Institute)
The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results Program collects information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States.
Stats of the States
Easy snapshot of each state and tables on a variety of vital statistics topics.

State and Local

Tennessee Department of Health-Statistics
Tons of data and statistics on a variety of health topics. Browse the tables or use the search box to find what you are looking for
Health Data-Tennessee Department of Health
Behavioral Risk Factor Survey, Birth Statistics, Death Statistics, Marriage and Divorce Statistics, Men's Health Statistics, Pregnancy Statistics, Vital Statistics, Women's Health Statistics, and more
Drive Your County to the Top Ten
County level statistics for numerous public health data points. Some comparisons with a peer county
Tennessee Crash Outcome Data Evaluation System
Tennessee Hospital Discharge Data System
How many appendectomies were performed in Tennessee hospitals? What was the average charge? How long was the average patient hospitalized? Use this system to answer these questions and more.
Tenncare Annual Reports
Shelby County Health Department
Use the search box to search health topics
Shelby County Health Department Data Tables and Reports
Annual Epidemiology Reports, Annual STD, HIV & AIDS Report, Maternal/Child Health Reports, and others
Bike Facilities
A cumulative total by year of total bike facilities broken out by type

Gateways to Federal Statistics

Data and Statistics About the United States
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
A-Z List of U.S Government Departments and Agencies
Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more. Use the search box to search for topics on each website.
USA.gov – Your Online Guide to Government Information and Services
Use the Search box for keywords coupled with the word ‘statistics.’ For example, juvenile delinquents statistics or juvenile delinquents statistics memphis tn