Research Guides: Government Publications: Statistics: Demographics/Census

Regional Federal Depository Library

The University of Memphis Libraries has been a Federal Depository Library since 1966 and a Regional Depository Library since 1989.

Statistics Search Tips and Tricks

Click on a relevant agency and either browse through the statistical reports or use the search box to search for your topic with keywords. For example, go to https://nces.ed.gov/ and search for dropouts Tennessee
Click on a relevant statistical report and either use the search box or browse the publications
If all else fails use Google to search with keywords in the .gov domain. For example: poverty memphis site:.gov or poverty memphis site:.tn.gov or poverty memphis site:.shelbycountytn.gov or poverty memphis site:.memphistn.gov

Statistics Databases (U of M) – Require Authentication

ICPSR Data Holdings
Data supporting research in the social sciences, including economics and finance, population studies, sociology, health care, education, politics and governmental studies. Includes data sets provided by governmental and non-governmental agencies, as well as data sets from privately and publicly funded research, opinion polls and other studies.

FAQs and Help.
PolicyMap
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US. Useful for finding the right data for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
Proquest Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight are online collections of descriptive abstracts of thousands of statistical publications from Federal agencies, state agencies and private sector organizations, and international intergovernmental organizations
Social Explorer
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Includes US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
Statista
Easily access statistics and produce graphs for millions of statistics in business, entertainment, health, social sciences, and government.

Federal Agencies

United States Census Bureau
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation’s people and economy. It conducts surveys and publishes--

Decennial Census of Population and Housing
Economic Census (see below)
Census of Governments
American Community Survey (see below) and
Economic Indicators

Resources

data.census.gov
data.census.gov is the primary access point for Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.
For video tutorials go to https://www.census.gov/data/academy/data-gems.html
For recorded webinars go to https://www.census.gov/data/academy/webinars.html
View the archived Webinar at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5aUMspCxJik#

How-to information available at https://www.census.gov/data/what-is-data-census-gov.html

More about the transition to data.census.gov at https://www.census.gov/data/academy/webinars/2019/transition-data-census.html

more... less...

Offers prepackaged data and user-selected data tables and maps from sources such as:

American Community Survey
American Housing Survey
Annual Economic Surveys
Annual Surveys of Governments
Census of Government
Commodity Flow Survey
Decennial Census
Economic Census
Equal Employment Opportunity Tabulation
Population Estimates Program
Puerto Rico Community Survey
American Community Survey
The ACS is a mandatory, ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year. It helps to understand the changes that are taking place in communities and is the premier source for detailed information about the American people and workforce. Includes information such as age, race, income, commute time to work, home value, veteran status, and other important data.
Quickfacts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
DataFerrett
A data analysis and extraction tool which has the capability of customizing federal, state, and local data; developing an unlimited array of complex spreadsheets; and turning them into graphs and maps without any additional software.
To be decommissioned in June 2020

Historical Census Information

Census of Population and Housing 1790-2010
Online access to census of population and housing data from 1790-2010.
Statistical Abstract of the United States – 1870-2012
The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. The last edition published by the U.S. Census Bureau was for 2012. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract. For volumes not available online ask at the Research and Information Services desk for the print version.
The Proquest Statistical Abstracts of the United States 2013 forward is published commercially and is available in the University Libraries. Please ask for it at the RIS Desk.
Historical Statistics of the United States 1789-1957
A supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States with approximately 3,000 statistical time series which cover various periods from 1789-1945.
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial times to 1957
A compendium which includes more than 8,000 statistical time series which cover periods from 1610-1957.
Historical Statistics of the United States, colonial Times to 1970 (Bicentennial Edition)
A two-part compendium which includes more than 12,500 time series providing a statistical history of U.S. social, economic, political, and geographic development.
State and Metropolitan Area data Book: 1997-98
A convenient Summary of Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the states and metropolitan areas (MAs) of the United States.
County and City Data Book: 2000
A convenient summary of statistics on the social and economic structure of the counties and cities of the United States.
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book: 2006
A convenient summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the states and metropolitan areas (Mas) of the United States.
States and Local Areas
The data is provided by two Census Bureau publications, the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book (SMADB) and the County and City Data Book (CCDB).

State and Local

data.census.gov
Search data.census.gov for demographic information by state, county, city, Zip Codes, Census Tracts, and Census Blocks
Quickfacts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

Gateways to Federal Statistics

Data and Statistics About the United States
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
A-Z List of U.S Government Departments and Agencies
Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more. Use the search box to search for topics on each website.
USA.gov – Your Online Guide to Government Information and Services
Use the Search box for keywords coupled with the word ‘statistics.’ For example, juvenile delinquents statistics or juvenile delinquents statistics memphis tn