The University of Memphis Libraries has been a Federal Depository Library since 1966 and a Regional Depository Library since 1989.
Statistics Search Tips and Tricks
Click on a relevant agency and either browse through the statistical reports or use the search box to search for your topic with keywords. For example, go to https://nces.ed.gov/ and search for dropouts Tennessee
Click on a relevant statistical report and either use the search box or browse the publications
If all else fails use Google to search with keywords in the .gov domain. For example: poverty memphis site:.gov or poverty memphis site:.tn.gov or poverty memphis site:.shelbycountytn.gov or poverty memphis site:.memphistn.gov
Data supporting research in the social sciences, including economics and finance, population studies, sociology, health care, education, politics and governmental studies. Includes data sets provided by governmental and non-governmental agencies, as well as data sets from privately and publicly funded research, opinion polls and other studies.
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US. Useful for finding the right data for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
From the classroom to the boardroom, thousands of organizations trust PolicyMap to find the right data for their research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
ProQuest Statistical Insight are online collections of descriptive abstracts of thousands of statistical publications from Federal agencies, state agencies and private sector organizations, and international intergovernmental organizations
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Includes US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
Produces timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data on the U.S. economy for use by government officials, business people, organizations, households and individuals.
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation’s people and economy. It conducts surveys and publishes--
Decennial Census of Population and Housing
Economic Census (see below)
Census of Governments
American Community Survey (see below) and
Economic Indicators
Under the department of Commerce, the ESA provides timely economic analysis , disseminates national economic indicators, and oversees the U.S. census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis. ESA’s expert economists and analysts produce in-depth reports, fact sheets, and briefings on policy issues and current economic events.
Allows access to vintage versions of economic data available on specific dates in history. Test economic forecasting models and analyze the decisions made by policymakers.
Provides access to data about the U.S., Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. The data come from several censuses and surveys including the American Community Survey, the American Housing Survey, Annual Economic Surveys, Annual Surveys of Governments, Census of Governments, Commodity Flow Survey, the Decennial Census, the Economic Census, the Equal Employment Opportunity Tabulation, the Population Estimates Program, and the Puerto Rico Community Survey.
An annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. Includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. Useful for studying the economic activity of small areas, analyzing economic changes over time, and as a benchmark for other statistical series between economic censuses.
data.census.gov is the primary access point for Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.
View the archived Webinar at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5aUMspCxJik#
How-to information available at https://www.census.gov/data/what-is-data-census-gov.html
More about the transition to data.census.gov at https://www.census.gov/data/academy/webinars/2019/transition-data-census.html
Conducted every five years, the Economic Census provides a detailed portrait of the nation's economy from the national to the local level. It is conducted in years ending in '2' and '7.' Provides information about number of locations, employment, payroll, total revenue, and product sales by NAICS code for every industry included, for all incorporated and unincorporated cities and towns in the US with 2,500 or more inhabitants or jobs. Numbers are consistent, comparable, and comprehensive across industries and geographic areas.
Provides economic information on the gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics. Economic Indicators 1948-1994 available through FRASER.
Freely access and download registration statements, prospectuses, and periodic reports that all public companies are required by the SEC to file on Forms 10-K and 10-Q.
Offers digital access to historical policy documents and data to scholars, economists, analysts, students, and interested observers of the U.S. economy.
Provides access to regional and national financial and economic data. Consists of more than 384,000 economic data time series from 82 national, international, pubic, and private sources.
Annual data include number of firms, number of establishments, employment, and annual payroll for most U.S. businesses. Data are tabulated by geographic area, industry, and enterprise size.
Provides the only comprehensive, regularly collected source of information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status.
Provides the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates in the form of tables and charts. Includes relevant BEA issues and initiatives.
Find data by county or region on education attainment, incentive tiers, personal income per capita, total employment, unemployment rate, total employment by industry, advanced materials, aerospace and defense, appliances and electrical, automotive, business services, chemicals, distribution and logistics, film, music and entertainment, food and beverage, and healthcare and medical devices
Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more. Use the search box to search for topics on each website.
Use the Search box for keywords coupled with the word ‘statistics.’ For example, juvenile delinquents statistics or juvenile delinquents statistics memphis tn
