The University of Memphis Libraries has been a Federal Depository Library since 1966 and a Regional Depository Library since 1989.
Statistics Search Tips and Tricks
Click on a relevant agency and either browse through the statistical reports or use the search box to search for your topic with keywords. For example, go to https://nces.ed.gov/ and search for dropouts Tennessee
Click on a relevant statistical report and either use the search box or browse the publications
If all else fails use Google to search with keywords in the .gov domain. For example: poverty memphis site:.gov or poverty memphis site:.tn.gov or poverty memphis site:.shelbycountytn.gov or poverty memphis site:.memphistn.gov
Statistics Databases (U of M) – Require Authentication
Data supporting research in the social sciences, including economics and finance, population studies, sociology, health care, education, politics and governmental studies. Includes data sets provided by governmental and non-governmental agencies, as well as data sets from privately and publicly funded research, opinion polls and other studies.
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US. Useful for finding the right data for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
From the classroom to the boardroom, thousands of organizations trust PolicyMap to find the right data for their research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
ProQuest Statistical Insight are online collections of descriptive abstracts of thousands of statistical publications from Federal agencies, state agencies and private sector organizations, and international intergovernmental organizations
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Includes US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
Compiles a large array of statistics and publishes a variety of reports under the aegis of the Uniform Crime Reporting Program such as Crime in the United States, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, Hate Crime Statistics, and the National Incident-Based Reporting System.
“The research and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice”, NIJ is “dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through science.” Main areas of research and statistics are corrections, courts, crimes and prevention, drugs and crime, forensic sciences, law enforcement, tribal crime and justice, and victims and victimization.
The digital front door to UCR data, this interactive online tool from the FBI enables us to more easily understand and use the massive amounts of data collected. May view data in the form of charts and graphs.
Brought out annually, this publication records the rate of violent and property crimes at the national, state, and individual law enforcement agency levels (for those providing 12 month data). Includes arrest, clearance, and police employee data. Online reports available from 1995 onwards.
"The Hate Crime Statistics Act (28 U.S.C. § 534) defines hate crimes as 'crimes that manifest evidence of prejudice based on race, gender or gender identity, religion, disability, sexual orientation, or ethnicity.' The National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) measures crimes perceived by victims to be motivated by an offender’s bias against them for belonging to or being associated with a group largely identified by these characteristics."
Includes statistics on crime motivated by bias against race, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity/national origin, or disability. Reports on the number of incidents, offenses, victims and offenders. Online reports available from 1996.
Provides justice and drug related statistics and reports on crime, victim assistance, and public safety. Very useful for researchers. Searchable database.
“Identifies with precision when and where crime takes place, what form it takes, and the characteristics of its victim and perpetrators.” Online reports available from 2011.
The FBI is working with the major law enforcement agency organizations to develop a repository for use-of-force information and will periodically release statistics to the public
From University of Albany's School of Criminal Justice. Taps published and unpublished sources and covers many criminal justice topics in the United States
Data covers juvenile crime, victimization and youth in the criminal justice system. Provides statistical answers to questions posed by policy makers , media and the community. Many data tools enable the creation of customized tables.
Look here for TBI Annual Reports, Crime in Tennessee, Crime on Campus, Law Enforcement-Related Deaths, Hate Crime, Domestic Violence, School Crime, Law Enforcement Officers Killed or Assaulted and other specialized reports
Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more. Use the search box to search for topics on each website.
Use the Search box for keywords coupled with the word ‘statistics.’ For example, juvenile delinquents statistics or juvenile delinquents statistics memphis tn
