Many agencies within the federal government collect and disseminate statistical information. This guide presents a selection of frequently requested statistics and data sources by topic.
How are statistics and data different from each other?
The University of Memphis Libraries has been a Federal Depository Library since 1966 and a Regional Depository Library since 1989.
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more. Use the search box to search for topics on each website.
Use the Search box for keywords coupled with the word ‘statistics.’ For example, juvenile delinquents statistics or juvenile delinquents statistics memphis tn
Data supporting research in the social sciences, including economics and finance, population studies, sociology, health care, education, politics and governmental studies. Includes data sets provided by governmental and non-governmental agencies, as well as data sets from privately and publicly funded research, opinion polls and other studies.
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US. Useful for finding the right data for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
ProQuest Statistical Insight are online collections of descriptive abstracts of thousands of statistical publications from Federal agencies, state agencies and private sector organizations, and international intergovernmental organizations
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Includes US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
Easily access statistics and produce graphs for millions of statistics in business, entertainment, health, social sciences, and government.
Produces timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data on the U.S. economy for use by government officials, business people, organizations, households and individuals.
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation’s people and economy. It conducts surveys and publishes--
Decennial Census of Population and Housing
Economic Census (see below)
Census of Governments
American Community Survey (see below) and
Economic Indicators
Under the department of Commerce, the ESA provides timely economic analysis , disseminates national economic indicators, and oversees the U.S. census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis. ESA’s expert economists and analysts produce in-depth reports, fact sheets, and briefings on policy issues and current economic events.
Allows access to vintage versions of economic data available on specific dates in history. Test economic forecasting models and analyze the decisions made by policymakers.
Provides access to data about the U.S., Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. The data come from several censuses and surveys including the American Community Survey, the American Housing Survey, Annual Economic Surveys, Annual Surveys of Governments, Census of Governments, Commodity Flow Survey, the Decennial Census, the Economic Census, the Equal Employment Opportunity Tabulation, the Population Estimates Program, and the Puerto Rico Community Survey.
Clickable list of topics covered by tables in American Factfinder.
An annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. Includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. Useful for studying the economic activity of small areas, analyzing economic changes over time, and as a benchmark for other statistical series between economic censuses.
data.census.gov is the primary access point for Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.
View the archived Webinar at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5aUMspCxJik#
How-to information available at https://www.census.gov/data/what-is-data-census-gov.html
More about the transition to data.census.gov at https://www.census.gov/data/academy/webinars/2019/transition-data-census.html
Conducted every five years, the Economic Census provides a detailed portrait of the nation's economy from the national to the local level. It is conducted in years ending in '2' and '7.' Provides information about number of locations, employment, payroll, total revenue, and product sales by NAICS code for every industry included, for all incorporated and unincorporated cities and towns in the US with 2,500 or more inhabitants or jobs. Numbers are consistent, comparable, and comprehensive across industries and geographic areas.
Business data from the U.S Census Bureau by NAICS Code or title of industry
Tables from the 2012 and previous Economic Census reports.
Provides economic information on the gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics. Economic Indicators 1948-1994 available through FRASER.
U.S., state, and selected metropolitan areas
Freely access and download registration statements, prospectuses, and periodic reports that all public companies are required by the SEC to file on Forms 10-K and 10-Q.
Offers digital access to historical policy documents and data to scholars, economists, analysts, students, and interested observers of the U.S. economy.
Provides access to regional and national financial and economic data. Consists of more than 384,000 economic data time series from 82 national, international, pubic, and private sources.
Map U.S. economic data in FRED at a state, county and metropolitan statistical area level.
A snapshot of each industry drawn from various Bureau of Labor Statistics surveys.
A snapshot of each industry drawn from various Bureau of Labor Statistics surveys.
Annual data include number of firms, number of establishments, employment, and annual payroll for most U.S. businesses. Data are tabulated by geographic area, industry, and enterprise size.
Provides the only comprehensive, regularly collected source of information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status.
Provides the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates in the form of tables and charts. Includes relevant BEA issues and initiatives.
Includes a variety of articles, tables, and data on a range of tax related topics.
Provides statistics for U.S. merchandise imports, exports, and balances.
A searchable database of exports and imports of each state.
Tennessee economic indicators, geography, demographics, housing and income, major manufacturers, state tax rates, and cost of living index
Find data by county or region on education attainment, incentive tiers, personal income per capita, total employment, unemployment rate, total employment by industry, advanced materials, aerospace and defense, appliances and electrical, automotive, business services, chemicals, distribution and logistics, film, music and entertainment, food and beverage, and healthcare and medical devices
Special studies such as economic impact studies, labor studies, and economic development studies on various business and economic topics and issues
Gathers and disseminates statistics on “crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.”
Compiles a large array of statistics and publishes a variety of reports under the aegis of the Uniform Crime Reporting Program such as Crime in the United States, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, Hate Crime Statistics, and the National Incident-Based Reporting System.
The Federal Bureau of Investigation regularly publishes crime statistics and reports on crime trends.
“The research and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice”, NIJ is “dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through science.” Main areas of research and statistics are corrections, courts, crimes and prevention, drugs and crime, forensic sciences, law enforcement, tribal crime and justice, and victims and victimization.
“Provides national leadership, coordination, and resources to prevent and respond to juvenile delinquency and victimization.”
The digital front door to UCR data, this interactive online tool from the FBI enables us to more easily understand and use the massive amounts of data collected. May view data in the form of charts and graphs.
This tool allows the Uniform Crime Report data to be searched by nation, state, and individual law enforcement agency.
National and state-level year end counts of persons sentenced to death and executed.
Brought out annually, this publication records the rate of violent and property crimes at the national, state, and individual law enforcement agency levels (for those providing 12 month data). Includes arrest, clearance, and police employee data. Online reports available from 1995 onwards.
Provides statistics of the nature and prevalence of cyber intrusions against businesses in the United States.
"The Hate Crime Statistics Act (28 U.S.C. § 534) defines hate crimes as 'crimes that manifest evidence of prejudice based on race, gender or gender identity, religion, disability, sexual orientation, or ethnicity.' The National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) measures crimes perceived by victims to be motivated by an offender’s bias against them for belonging to or being associated with a group largely identified by these characteristics."
Includes statistics on crime motivated by bias against race, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity/national origin, or disability. Reports on the number of incidents, offenses, victims and offenders. Online reports available from 1996.
Provides data on law enforcement officers killed and assaulted in the line of duty. Online reports available from 1996.
NACJD makes publications authored by researchers using their data available through a search function.
Provides justice and drug related statistics and reports on crime, victim assistance, and public safety. Very useful for researchers. Searchable database.
“Identifies with precision when and where crime takes place, what form it takes, and the characteristics of its victim and perpetrators.” Online reports available from 2011.
The FBI is working with the major law enforcement agency organizations to develop a repository for use-of-force information and will periodically release statistics to the public
Recidivism patterns of various offenders, including persons released on probation and discharged from prison.
From University of Albany's School of Criminal Justice. Taps published and unpublished sources and covers many criminal justice topics in the United States
Data covers juvenile crime, victimization and youth in the criminal justice system. Provides statistical answers to questions posed by policy makers , media and the community. Many data tools enable the creation of customized tables.
Available online from 1996 (irregular).
TBI assists local law enforcement in the investigation of crimes and is responsible for compiling numerous statistical and special reports
Look here for TBI Annual Reports, Crime in Tennessee, Crime on Campus, Law Enforcement-Related Deaths, Hate Crime, Domestic Violence, School Crime, Law Enforcement Officers Killed or Assaulted and other specialized reports
Tennessee Department of Corrections Annual Statistical Abstracts
Includes Felon Population Reports, Bed Space Reports, Jail Summary Reports, Juvenile Reports, Death Row Facts and Executions
Search all departments for the City of Memphis
Use the Search Box or click on Public Safety for crime statistics in Memphis
Relative Rate Index, Average Daily Population in Juvenile Court, and Transfers to Adult Court
Annual Reports of the Juvenile Court of Memphis and Shelby County
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation’s people and economy. It conducts surveys and publishes--
Decennial Census of Population and Housing
Economic Census (see below)
Census of Governments
American Community Survey (see below) and
Economic Indicators
data.census.gov is the primary access point for Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.
For video tutorials go to https://www.census.gov/data/academy/data-gems.html
For recorded webinars go to https://www.census.gov/data/academy/webinars.html
View the archived Webinar at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5aUMspCxJik#
How-to information available at https://www.census.gov/data/what-is-data-census-gov.html
More about the transition to data.census.gov at https://www.census.gov/data/academy/webinars/2019/transition-data-census.html
The ACS is a mandatory, ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year. It helps to understand the changes that are taking place in communities and is the premier source for detailed information about the American people and workforce. Includes information such as age, race, income, commute time to work, home value, veteran status, and other important data.
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
A data analysis and extraction tool which has the capability of customizing federal, state, and local data; developing an unlimited array of complex spreadsheets; and turning them into graphs and maps without any additional software.
To be decommissioned in June 2020
Online access to census of population and housing data from 1790-2010.
The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. The last edition published by the U.S. Census Bureau was for 2012. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract. For volumes not available online ask at the Research and Information Services desk for the print version.
The Proquest Statistical Abstracts of the United States 2013 forward is published commercially and is available in the University Libraries. Please ask for it at the RIS Desk.
A supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States with approximately 3,000 statistical time series which cover various periods from 1789-1945.
A compendium which includes more than 8,000 statistical time series which cover periods from 1610-1957.
A two-part compendium which includes more than 12,500 time series providing a statistical history of U.S. social, economic, political, and geographic development.
A convenient Summary of Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the states and metropolitan areas (MAs) of the United States.
A convenient summary of statistics on the social and economic structure of the counties and cities of the United States.
A convenient summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the states and metropolitan areas (Mas) of the United States.
The data is provided by two Census Bureau publications, the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book (SMADB) and the County and City Data Book (CCDB).
Search data.census.gov for demographic information by state, county, city, Zip Codes, Census Tracts, and Census Blocks
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
The statistics, research, and evaluation arm of the U.S. Department of Education
The primary federal agency for collecting and analyzing data related to education
Information on education-related data and research
Fiscal and non-fiscal data about all public schools, public school districts, and state education agencies in the United States.
Online table and regression maker tools featuring 30+ federal education datasets. Create simple tables with charts or complex tables and logistic and linear regressions or complex tables spanning multiple data collection years. Also search 5000+ tables by topic, publication, or source.
Compiles statistical information from K through graduate school from government and private sources. Data are national in scope.
Educational attainment data are available from a variety of Census sources. Brief descriptions help you decide which source would best fit your needs:
American Community Survey (ACS)
Current Population Survey (CPS)
Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)
The Decennial Census
Concise information on a range of educational issues such as assessments, early childhood, elementary and secondary, and post-secondary and beyond.
Establishes, monitors, and updates reliable indicators of school crime and safety covering topics such as victimization, teacher injury, bullying, cyber-bullying, school conditions, fights, weapons, availability and student use of drugs and alcohol, student perceptions of personal safety at school, and criminal incidents at post-secondary institutions.
Largest continuing survey of student knowledge about various subjects reported at the 4th, 8th, and 12th grade levels for the nation, state, and selected school districts. Reported results become part of the Nation’s Report Card.
What our students know and can do in subjects such as math, reading, science, and writing at the 4th, 8th and 12th grade levels reported at the national, state, and selected school district levels. Based on the NAEP surveys (scroll to the bottom of the page to download data table as an Excel or PDF file).
Provides projections of key education statistics such as enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary public and private school, as well as enrollment and degrees conferred at post-secondary degree-granting institutions. Includes national and state level data.
Has the key indicators of the condition of education in the United States.
This system of questionnaires provide statistical data about elementary and secondary schools.
Includes national and state level data presented by a number of characteristics such as race/ethnicity, sex, and economic status.
Includes Tenneessee level statistics on various education topics
Biennial assessment (4th, 8th, 12th grades) at state, school district, and individual school levels
Includes varied statistics about education in Tennessee
Downloadable data released by the Tennessee Department of Education in Excel file format
Within the department of Health and Human Services, the CDC is the nation’s leading public health agency. It is responsible for providing critical data that saves lives and protects people.
The primary agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services responsible for improving health and achieving health equity through access to quality services, a skilled health workforce and innovative programs providing health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable.
As the nation’s primary health statistics agency, NCHS provides accurate, relevant, and timely statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
SAMHSA’s mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America’s communities. The Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality is the government’s primary agency for behavioral health statistics.
Includes data and statistics by topic such as alcohol use, arthritis, cancer, and viral hepatitis. The Tools and Resources section provides easy access to
Provides quick access to statistics on a variety of topics including diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, health care and insurance, births and deaths.
Tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Ability to build your own tables by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
Includes nearly 20 collections of public-use data for U.S.births, deaths, cancer diagnosis, Tuberculosis cases, vaccinations, environmental exposures and population estimates and more. Users may query databases, or access summary statistics, maps, charts, and data extracts.
The Census Bureau provides accurate, detailed, and up-to-date statistics about people and business relating to health in America. Has detailed data for Disability, Expenses and Investments, Fertility, Health Insurance, HIV/AIDS, and Small Area Health Insurance Estimates.
An interactive web application that produces health profiles for all 3,143 counties in the United States. Each profile includes key indicators of health outcomes, which describe the population health status of a county and factors that have the potential to influence health outcomes, such as health care access and quality, health behaviors, social factors and the physical environment.
An annual report on trends in Health Statistics. Covers trends and current information on selected measures of morbidity, mortality, health care utilization and access, health risk factors, prevention, health insurance, and personal health care expenditures.
National health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables are customizable by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
HRSA’s programs provide health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable including people with HIV/AIDS, pregnant women, mothers and their families and those in need of high quality primary health care.
CDC’s vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, ohjective, and useful public health information and recommendations. Data are provisional, based on weekly reports to CDC by state health departments.
Provides statistics and data in the field of occupational safety and health. For data by topic, see the NIOSH Data A-Z Index.
Provides data through contracts between NCHS and vital registration systems operated in the various jurisdictions legally responsible for the registration of vital events – births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths.
A wealth of behavioral health data to inform decision making, policy, measure program impact, and lead to improved quality of services and outcomes for individuals, families, and communities. Data may be accessed by topic (e.g. Alcohol, HIV), type of report (e.g. Emergency Department Data, Mental Health Facilities Data, Client level Data), and geography, among others.
The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results Program collects information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States.
Easy snapshot of each state and tables on a variety of vital statistics topics.
Tons of data and statistics on a variety of health topics. Browse the tables or use the search box to find what you are looking for
Behavioral Risk Factor Survey, Birth Statistics, Death Statistics, Marriage and Divorce Statistics, Men's Health Statistics, Pregnancy Statistics, Vital Statistics, Women's Health Statistics, and more
County level statistics for numerous public health data points. Some comparisons with a peer county
How many appendectomies were performed in Tennessee hospitals? What was the average charge? How long was the average patient hospitalized? Use this system to answer these questions and more.
Use the search box to search health topics
Annual Epidemiology Reports, Annual STD, HIV & AIDS Report, Maternal/Child Health Reports, and others
A cumulative total by year of total bike facilities broken out by type
Principal federal agency responsible for collecting, analyzing and disseminating information measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Data available by nation, regions, states, and many metropolitan areas.
Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey - Hours of Work
Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey - Occupation and Industry
Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey - Summer Work
Index to 100s of tables, charts, and articles on a variety of topics such as absences from work, earnings, disability statistics, foreign born workers, youth labor force statistics, and more.
National labor force statistics by age group, disability, educational attainment, marital status, foreign-born workers, older workers, race and ethnicity, school enrollment, veterans, volunteering, women, and youth.
Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey – Earnings
Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey – Employed Persons
Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey – Full-or Part-Time Status
Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey – Unemployment
Monthly and Annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data for Census regions and divisions, states, counties, metropolitan areas, cities (population 25,000+), and more.
Research from BLS on labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and more.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics Public Data API gives the public access to raw data from all the BLS programs
Varied statistical data from the Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development
Labor Force Profile for the labor force, armed forces, civilian, employed, unemployed and non-labor force categories by state and county and the Unemployment Rate by state and county.
From the Tennessee Labor and Workforce Development Agency and the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development
This interactive data application allows for all BEA data (national, international, regional, or industry statistics) to be searched with a single search mechanism. Includes the capabilities of printing, saving, exporting, charting, and sharing via social media tools.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics Public Data API gives the public access to raw data from all the BLS programs
Provides access to the Census Bureau public use datasets. Any organization with data published in TheDataWeb, or with their own DataWeb services, can make their data available through the API. Data sponsors have control and expose data in a standardized way. Developers reduce the development learning curve by standardizing the API query language across multiple datasets which allows rapid development of mobile and web applications.
Provides datasets, tools, and resources for a variety of subjects including agriculture, business, education, finance, and health among others.
A data analysis and extraction tool which has the capability of customizing federal, state, and local data; developing an unlimited array of complex spreadsheets; and turning them into graphs and maps without any additional software.
To be decommissioned in June 2020.
This new microdata system (in Beta version) will repalce DataFerret.
How-to documentation is available at https://www.census.gov/data/what-is-data-census-gov.html
An annual report on trends in Health Statistics. Covers trends and current information on selected measures of morbidity, mortality, health care utilization and access, health risk factors, prevention, health insurance, and personal health care expenditures.
Makes high value data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all. Innovators are harnessing the power of this data to help consumers get the information they need, help doctors deliver better care, help employers promote health and wellness and help local policymakers make better-informed decisions.
Serves as the enterprise repository for HRSA’s data and makes the data available to the public. It allows users to explore, interact with and export data through charts, maps, reports, analyzer, and locator tools, data downloads and data services, widgets and the data portal.
Data supporting research in the social sciences, including economics and finance, population studies, sociology, health care, education, politics and governmental studies. Includes data sets provided by governmental and non-governmental agencies, as well as data sets from privately and publicly funded research, opinion polls and other studies. The University of Memphis is a member and has access to all of the available data.
Some datasets are available for online data analysis without having to download the entire collection.
Computerized sources of data available for downloading and further research. Most of the data is freely available as it is funded government agencies. Register for a free account.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics Public Data API gives the public access to raw data from all the BLS programs
Provides reference datasets with certified computational results that enable the objective evaluation of statistical software in order to improve its accuracy.
Don’t know the agency that publishes your statistics? No problem! Just search FedStats. Includes statistics from agencies with expenditures over $500,000. So may not be comprehensive.
Use the Search box for keywords coupled with the word ‘statistics.’ For example, juvenile delinquents statistics or juvenile delinquents statistics memphis tn
Helpful Hints:
Click on a relevant agency and either browse through the statistical reports or use the search box to search for your topic with keyword. For example, go to https://nces.ed.gov/ and search for dropouts Tennessee
Click on a relevant statistical report and either use the search box or browse the publications
If all else fails use Google to search with keywords in the .gov domain. For example, poverty memphis tn site:.gov or poverty memphis tn site:tn.gov