The University Libraries collections including books, journals, and databases provide a wide array of resources for beginner and in-depth research. Look for resources on a research paper topic by accessing the Library's online catalog using a keyword search. Browsing the collection by call number can be a useful strategy for identifying a books on a subject. Materials on topics may also be obtained by using the social sciences reference materials the library owns.
A variety of databases provide articles, dissertations, and primary sources on social work topics.
Please feel free to ask for assistance by contacting me or by using the varied avenues of seeking help available at Ask a Librarian.
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by The Encyclopedia of Social Work by 
The Social Work Dictionary by 
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care by 
Dictionary of Social Work by 
The Social Work Student's Research Handbook by 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by 
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th Edition by 
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association Sixth Edition by 
The Columbia Guide to Social Work Writing by 
Professional Writing for Social Work Practice by 
Professional writing skills for social workers by Social Work Documentation: a guide to strengthening your case recording by The University Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification System. Books in print format on Social Work and Social Welfare can be found on the third floor of McWherter Library and also at the Lambuth Library. Below are some of the specific call number ranges for Social Welfare.
HV 40-69..........Social service. Social Work. Charity. organization and practice
HV 544.5..........International social work
HV 701-1420.5..........Children
HV 1442-1448..........Women
HV 1450-1494..........Aged
HV 4005-4013..........Immigrants
Browsing the stacks in these areas may be one way of finding books.
For more precise searching, put in your search terms in the search box below and filter search results by books, ebooks, DVDs, articles or other formats. Use exact call numbers and locations to find the materials you are seeking.
Or may also use Catalog Classic in the box below to search for books, DVDs, and other formats (excluding articles) on your topic with a keyword search.
Reference
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TR®, DSM-5, DSM-IV-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Cases From DSM-IV-TR® Casebook and Its Treatment Companion, and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing. See video introduction at http://www.appi.org/eContent/Pages/PsychiatryOnlineDemo.aspx
Streaming Media
Provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling--over 500 hours and more than 500 videos. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, and interviews. Many videos include supplementary materials for classroom use, and continuing education credits are available for a number of titles.
Frequently Used
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 900 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Citations to and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in psychology, plus psychological aspects in related disciplines (medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law). Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1632-present.
EBSCO Discovery Service provides users with an easy, yet powerful means of accessing all of an institution's information resources through a single search. This is achieved by harvesting metadata from both internal (library) and external (database vendors) sources, and creating a pre-indexed service of unprecedented size and speed. (All federated databases are listed individually in Databases Search as well.)
Others
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles. Coverage: 1952-Present
SAGE Premier provides access to 650 SAGE journal titles in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine with backfile to 1999.
Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that includes access to journal articles , eBooks, and reference sources. The University of Memphis Libraries has full-text, subscriber access to journal titles and eBooks which display an unlocked symbol for the applicable years. The database also includes abstracts of additional journal articles and reference sources, summary information for online books, and citations to Current Protocols laboratory manuals. WHEN SEARCHING LOOK FOR THE SYMBOL OF THE OPEN PADLOCK TO IDENTIFY CONTENT WE CAN ACCESS. For those journals with abstract-only access, you may place an article request through Interlibrary Loan.
Provides MEDLINE access, along with OLDMEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE (citations in-process), and citations outside the scope of MEDLINE provided by journal publishers. Interconnects with other NCBI databases and resources. Articles from many medical journals are free after a 6-12 month embargo. Linkouts to fulltext provided at publishers' discretion. Coverage: OLDMEDLINE, 1950- 1965; MEDLINE, 1966-.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. Databases include: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database (HTA); and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).
Statistics
ProQuest Statistical Insight are online collections of descriptive abstracts of thousands of statistical publications from Federal agencies, state agencies and private sector organizations, and international intergovernmental organizations
Easily access statistics and produce graphs for millions of statistics in business, entertainment, health, social sciences, and government.
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. An invaluable repository of information, the site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000. More than a just data source, Social Explorer offers a high level of functionality and control. Users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations. The site is updated three times annually with new data - the 2010 US Census will be available shortly after its release - and new features will be continually added. A full and complete reference of historical census data, Social Explorer is an end-to-end solution that meets the needs of researchers and scholars without sacrificing ease of use for non-experts.
Dissertations
Includes citations and full-text files of dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Citations and abstracts of dissertations submitted by The U of M and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database. 24 page previews of U of M dissertations published after 1996 with free downloads in fulltext. (For references to older material, use Dissertation Abstracts or WorldCat Dissertations and Theses.) Coverage: 1996-present.
UofM repository for theses and dissertations 2010-present.
Indexes all cataloged dissertations, theses and published material based on theses and dissertations to the present.
Poverty in the United States 2017 (Congressional Research Service)
Poverty (Census Bureau)
Improving Work & Other Welfare Reform Goals
Innovations in Child Welfare Waivers
Welfare Reform: Women & Poverty
Improving the Child Welfare System
Social Security: Major Decisions since 1935
Timeline of Major Child Welfare Legislation
Disability Statistics (Cornell University)
Health Statistics (Centers for Disease Control)
Health Insurance Coverage (United States Census)
Immigration Statistics (U.S. Department of Homeland Security)
Income & Poverty in the United States (United States Census)
Mental Health Data (National Institute of Mental Health)
Social Security Facts & Figures (Social Security Administration)
Statistical Abstracts of the United States (Upto 2012) (United States Census)
CDC WONDER (Public Health Data-CDC)
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Administration for Children & Families
Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services
U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development
Social Security Administration
Tennessee Department of Human Services
Tennessee Department of Health
Tennessee Department of Children Services
Tennessee Health Services & Development Agency
Tennessee Commission on Children & Youth
RefWorks is a citation management software which helps you store, create a repository of articles, and cite references in a paper.
You can find detailed help on Refworks from the research guide.
To set up a session please contact me
Provides guidance with creating in-text citations and reference lists in APA format
Citation Resources from the University Libraries
Provides help with several citation styles
Free writing assistance is available at the Center for Writing and Communication. Stop by to get feedback on any writing assignment for any class. Be sure to bring a research paper, essay, or essay exam *and* the original assignment sheet with you. Schedule an appointment or just come on by (Library Learning Commons).