Citations to and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in psychology, plus psychological aspects in related disciplines (medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law). Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1632-present.
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to hundreds of subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling--over 500 hours and more than 500 videos. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, and interviews. Many videos include supplementary materials for classroom use, and continuing education credits are available for a number of titles.
This two-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; 40 landmark case studies and experiments; over 30 primary source materials; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information. More than 800 articles -- 150 of those are entirely new and 650 are updated since the last edition. Each article ranges from 25 to 1, 500 words, covering the topics researchers want to know about. In addition to that there are more than 200 photographs, charts and graphs, students will also find Key Terms and Further reading sections, as well as an expanded glossary, an updated organizations appendix and an in-depth two-level index.
Psychologists, researchers, teachers, and students need complete and comprehensive information in the fields of psychology and behavioral science. The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology has been the reference of choice for almost three decades.
This award-winning twelve-volume reference covers every aspect of the ever-fascinating discipline of psychology and represents the most current knowledge in the field, discoveries based in neuroscience, clinical psychology's new interest in evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology.
V. 1. History of psychology; V. 2. Research methods in psychology; V. 3. Behavioral neuroscience; V. 4. Experimental psychology; V. 5. Personality and social psychology; V. 6. Developmental psychology; V. 7. Educational psychology; V. 8. Clinical psychology; V. 9. Health psychology; V. 10. Assessment psychology; V. 11. Forensic psychology; V. 12. Industrial and organizational psychology
The second edition of Haslam and McGarty's best-selling textbook Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology, provides students with a highly readable and comprehensive introduction to conducting research in psychology. The book guides readers through the range of choices involved in design, analysis, and presentation and is supplemented by a range of practical learning features both inside the book and online.
Updated and revised to reflect the new developments in the field, the Handbook of Child Psychology, Sixth Edition contains new chapters on such topics as spirituality, social understanding, and non-verbal communication. V1. Theoretical Models of Human Development; V2. Cognition, Perception, and Language; V3. Social, Emotional, and Personality Development; V4. Child Psychology in Practice
The second edition of this encyclopedia continues to break new ground as an important resource for the study of adolescence. This updated and expanded major reference work advances the field by pushing and creating new boundaries and areas of study that further our understanding of adolescents and their place in society. Adolescence is an essential reference for advanced undergraduate and graduate students as well as researchers, professors, clinicians, and other practitioners across such related disciplines as developmental psychology, criminology and criminal Justice, adolescent psychiatry, child and school psychology, family, and public health.
The APA Handbook of Giftedness and Talent incorporates the most recent thinking and cutting-edge research from a wide range of fields related to gifted education, including developmental and social psychology, the neurosciences, cognitive science, and education. It consists of six sections: 1. History and global perspectives on the gifted field and talent development; 2. Theories and conceptions of giftedness and talent development; 3. Gifted identification and assessment; 4. Gifted education; 5. Psychological considerations in understanding the gifted (e.g., the family, social and emotional considerations, friendships and peer relations); and 6. Special issues facing the gifted (e.g., policy and legal issues; the twice exceptional learner; underachievement and the gifted; ADHD and the gifted; suicide; perfectionism; bullying).
This book presents current research in the field of cognitive psychology. Topics discussed include a new perspective on human consciousness; cognitive rehabilitation in middle-aged Alzheimer patients; cognitive theory of obsessions; the cognitive effects of anxiety on sexual arousal; conceptual combination; TP-theory as a new perspective on cognitive psychology; peripheral responses elicited by motor imagery and preverbal category formation.
Unique in its breadth and detail, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and highly readable guide to a complex and fast-expanding field. The five-volume reference work gathers more than 10,000 entries, including in-depth essays by internationally known experts, and short keynotes explaining essential terms and phrases. In addition, expert editors contribute detailed introductory chapters to each of 43 topic fields ranging from the fundamentals of neuroscience to fascinating developments in the new, inter-disciplinary fields of Computational Neuroscience and Neurophilosophy. Some 1,000 multi-color illustrations enhance and expand the writings.
It's hard to conceive of a topic of more broad and personal interest than the study of the mind. In addition to its traditional investigation by the disciplines of psychology, psychiatry, and neuroscience, the mind has also been a focus of study in the fields of philosophy, economics, anthropology, linguistics, computer science, molecular biology, education, and literature. Researchers from a wide range of disciplines seek answers to such questions as: What is mind? How does it operate? What is consciousness? This Encyclopedia brings together scholars from the entire range of mind-related academic disciplines from across the arts and humanities, social sciences, life sciences, and computer science and engineering to explore the multidimensional nature of the human mind.
This volume provides the most comprehensive and up-to-date compendium of theory and research in the field of human intelligence. Each of the 42 chapters is written by world-renowned experts in their respective fields, and, collectively, they cover the full range of topics of contemporary interest in the study of intelligence.
Sexuality is a fundamental component of human psychological experience, and yet it remains relatively underrepresented in the history of the psychological sciences. The APA Handbook on Sexuality and Psychology marks a turning point in the status of sexuality within the discipline of psychology. This comprehensive, two-volume handbook provides an overarching review of current empirical research on sexuality and a synthesis of the dominant theoretical perspectives that have guided both research and clinical practice.
As a formal field of study, the psychology of women has pushed the boundaries of traditional theory, produced breakthroughs in methodology, and built links to some of the most challenging problems of our time. It remains an intellectually vibrant and socially relevant area, including initiatives that not only have changed the epistemology of knowledge but also have expanded our understanding of ourselves and of the world. Across this two-volume set, chapter authors provide scholarly reviews and in-depth analyses of subjects within their areas of expertise.
The psychology of men and masculinities is a broad, interdisciplinary field devoted to the study of how men's and boys' lives are shaped by biopsychosociocultural influences as well as the constellation of meanings associated with the male biological sex. The use of the term ""masculinities"" reflects the editors' belief that there are diverse meanings associated with being male that vary across time, situations, social groups, and cultures. In the past three decades, there has been an exponential growth in empirical psychological research on men and masculinities, although this emerging body of research has yet to be appropriately summarized, synthesized, and critically evaluated. This APA handbook addresses that lack with a strong focus on psychological science. It tackles the full spectrum of the theoretical, empirical, and practical, not only focusing on the extant literature in traditional areas of men and masculinities, but also highlighting new and emerging scholarship.
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TR®, DSM-5, DSM-IV-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Cases From DSM-IV-TR® Casebook and Its Treatment Companion, and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing. See video introduction at http://www.appi.org/eContent/Pages/PsychiatryOnlineDemo.aspx
The APA Handbook of Psychopathology provides a broad perspective on new scientific developments in the study of mental disorders. In addition to providing an overview of symptoms and classification of disorders, the handbook discusses the history of psychopathology, behavioural genetics, cognitive research methodology, brain imaging, behavioural observation, personality assessment, and developments in social policy, government policy, and legal decisions. V1. Psychopathology : understanding, assessing, and treating adult mental disorders; V2. Child and adolescent psychopathology
The two volume APA Handbook of Trauma Psychology is the most comprehensive guide, text, and reference work on the subject to date. It provides a survey of all the major areas and subtopics of empirical knowledge and practical applications in the field of trauma psychology, written by top experts in the field. Volume 1 is divided into sections on the nature of trauma, its psychological impact, major conceptual frameworks for understanding traumatization, and trauma as viewed from the diverse perspective of various disciplines. Volume 2 covers various applications of trauma psychology, including various modalities of trauma assessment, major treatment approaches across the lifespan, and multi-client and organizational practice.
Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports.
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology. During the past 30 years, the study of racial and ethnic minority issues in psychology has evolved to what can be considered a significant and rapidly growing subfield within psychology. This volume represent a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience.
Consistent with the goals for the APA Handbooks in Psychology™ series, the purpose of the two-volume APA Handbook of Multicultural Psychology is to present the best science and best practice within this cross-cutting perspective of psychology. Volume 1, covering theory and research, comprises chapters concerning conceptual and professional issues, ethnic minority research and methods, individual differences, social and developmental process, and community and organizational perspectives. Volume 2, focusing on applications and training, includes chapters covering historical and professional perspectives; stress, adjustment, and positive psychology; diagnosis and assessment; psychopathology; clinical interventions; applied and preventive psychology; and training and supervision.
Industrial and organizational psychologists help develop strategies that optimize human potential and build better organizations by focusing on the behaviours within specific environmental, technological and social environment of a workplace. Industrial and organizational psychologists contribute to an organization's success by resolving its human problems and improving the performance and well-being of its people. This encyclopedia presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational behaviour.
I/O Psychology is both a science/practice and an applied/basic research discipline. Appropriately, the APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology offers an in-depth examination of the types of behavioral and structural issues that I/O psychologists study every day, from both a theoretical and applied perspective. It explores a natural progression, from how problems are diagnosed to how research is conducted to generate answers to those problems to how interventions are implemented and, finally, to how they are evaluated.
V1. Building and Developing the Organization; V2. Selecting and Developing Members for the Organization; V3. Maintaining, Expanding, and Contracting the Organization
The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is the first resource to present state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from this fascinating field. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. The Encyclopedia is written for students who may be encountering concepts such as social loafing, deindividuation, base rate fallacy, ego depletion and self-handicapping for the first time and want a simple, clear, jargon-free explanation of what they mean.
This handbook provides a broad overview of the field of social psychology and up-to-date coverage of current social psychological topics. It reflects the recent and substantial development of the field, both with regard to theory and empirical research. It is organized into 5 sections: Theoretical Perspectives, Development and Socialization, Personal Processes, Interpersonal Processes, & The Person in Sociocultural Context
The foremost reference resource for academics, researchers, and graduate students in psychology looking for the most current, well-researched, and thorough information in the field of social psychology Represents the full field from neuron to nation This fifth edition brings on board mostly new authors as befits a vigorous, cutting-edge science Features chapters on social neuroscience, mind perception, morality, and social stratification, among other new topics.
The goal of cultural psychology is to explain the ways in which human cultural constructions - for example, rituals, stereotypes, and meanings - organize and direct human acting, feeling, and thinking in different social contexts. A rapidly growing, international field of scholarship, culturalpsychology is ready for an interdisciplinary, primary resource. Linking psychology, anthropology, sociology, archaeology, and history, The Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology is the quintessential volume that unites the variable perspectives from these disciplines.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by 
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology (4th ed.) by 
Handbook of Psychology (2nd ed.) by 
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by 
Handbook of Child Psychology (6th ed.) by 
Encyclopedia of Adolescence by 
APA Handbook of Giftedness and Talent by 
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Psychology by 
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience by 
Encyclopedia of the Mind by 
The Cambridge Handbook of Intelligence by 
APA Handbook of Sexuality and Psychology by 
APA Handbook of the Psychology of Women by 
APA Handbook of Men and Masculinities by 
APA Handbook of Psychopathology by 
APA Handbook of Trauma Psychology by 
Handbook of Psychological Assessment (6th ed.) by 
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by 
APA Handbook of Multicultural Psychology by 
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by 
APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by 
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by 
Handbook of Social Psychology (2nd ed.) by 
Handbook of Social Psychology (5th ed.) by 
The Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology by