There are two ways to search our book collections. First, use the search box in the Search Almost Everything section below. After your search, limit your results to books by going to the Refine Results column. In that column, find the Filter by Format heading and then check the boxes by Books and eBooks. You may need to click Show More to see all options.
The other way is to search the Classic Catalog.
If the University of Memphis Libraries does not own a book you need you have several options:
Ethnographic Fieldwork: A Beginner's Guide by
Ethnographic fieldwork is something which is often presented as mysterious and inexplicable. How do we know certain things after having done fieldwork? Are we sure we know? And what exactly do we know? This book describes ethnographic fieldwork as the gradual accumulation of knowledge about something you don't know much about. We start from ignorance and gradually move towards knowledge, on the basis of practices for which we have theoretical and methodological motivations. Jan Blommaert and Dong Jie draw on their own experiences as fieldworkers in explaining the complexities of ethnographic fieldwork as a knowledge trajectory. They do so in an easily accessible way that makes these complexities easier to understand and to handle before, during and after fieldwork.
21st Century Anthropology: a Reference Handbook by
Request a free 30-day online trial at www.sagepub.com/freetrialVia 100 entries or "mini-chapters," 21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of anthropology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. This two-volume set provides undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that serves their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but in a clear, accessible style, devoid of jargon, unnecessary detail or density.Key Features- Emphasizes key curricular topics, making it useful for students researching for term papers, preparing for GREs, or considering topics for a senior thesis, graduate degree, or career.- Comprehensive, providing full coverage of key subthemes and subfields within the discipline, such as applied anthropology, archaeology and paleontology, sociocultural anthropology, evolution, linguistics, physical and biological anthropology, primate studies, and more.- Offers uniform chapter structure so students can easily locate key information, within these sections: Introduction, Theory, Methods, Applications, Comparison, Future Directions, Summary, Bibliography & Suggestions for Further Reading, and Cross References.- Available in print or electronically at SAGE Reference Online, providing students with convenient, easy access to its contents.
An Introduction to Cultural Anthropology by
This book engages young scholars, teachers and students in a critical dialogue with past and present directions in cultural-historical studies. More particularly, it prepares prospective anthropologists, as well as readers interested in human cultures for understanding basic theoretical and methodological ethnographic principles and pursuing further what has been known as cultural anthropological perspectives. The book discusses key, field-based studies in the discipline and places them in dialogue with related studies in social history, linguistics, philosophy, literature, and photography, among others.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories in Context and Practice by
Student-friendly and comprehensive, Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories in Context and Practice, Second Edition provides an in-depth understanding of the origins, development, and key figures of each major theory and strongly emphasizes the application of these theories in real-world practice. Pedagogical features include opening chapter outlines, "Putting It In Practice" boxes, practitioner reflections, ethical highlights, case examples, as well as chapter summaries, chapter glossaries, and recommended readings and resources. The Second Edition includes a new section on treatment planning in each chapter and increased coverage of multicultural issues. A Study Guide for students is also available (978-0-470-90437-4).
Building Motivational Interviewing Skills, Second Edition by
Many tens of thousands of mental health and health care professionals have used this essential book--now significantly revised with 70% new content reflecting important advances in the field--to develop and sharpen their skills in motivational interviewing (MI). Clear explanations of core MI concepts are accompanied by carefully crafted sample dialogues, exercises, and practice opportunities. Readers build proficiency for moving through the four processes of MI--engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning--using open-ended questions, affirmations, reflective listening, and summaries (OARS), plus information exchange. In a large-size format with lay-flat binding for easy photocopying, the volume includes more than 80 reproducible worksheets. Purchasers get access to a companion website where they can download and print the reproducible materials. New to This Edition *Fully revised and restructured around the new four-process model of MI. *Chapters on exploring values and goals and "finding the horizon." *Additional exercises, now with downloadable worksheets. *Teaches how to tailor OARS skills for each MI process. *Integrates key ideas from positive psychology. Winner (First Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Adult Primary Care Category This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series, edited by Stephen Rollnick, William R. Miller, and Theresa B. Moyers.
Counseling Clients near the End of Life by
I found this book to be a well-written, sensitively presented, and important resource for those engaged in this critical area of work. Thank you, Dr. Werth, for making such a substantial contribution to this field."--Journal of Palliative Care This book offers] over 20 contributors, all with impeccable credentials, covering many perspectives that we need to consider more frequently and in greater depth...There is much that awaits you in this book."--Illness, Crisis, and Loss Counseling Clients Near the End of Life is a marvelous resource for mental health providers who are searching for useful information in areas such as the following: resolving ethical dilemmas; assisting clients in planning for the end of life; counseling caregivers of clients who are near the end of life; and assisting people in dealing with grief. The editor of this work, Dr. James Werth, has done a splendid job of gathering various experts to share their perspectives on end of life care and choices at this time of life--and he has also written an excellent chapter on counseling clients who are dying." Gerald Corey, EdD, ABPP Professor Emeritus of Human Services and Counseling California State University, Fullerton This highly accessible guide to counseling people who are terminally ill and their families fills a critical need in the counseling literature. Written for front-line mental health professionals and counseling graduate students, the text integrates research with practical guidance. It is replete with the experiences of contributing authors who are leaders in counseling terminally ill individuals, real-life case examples, clinical pearls of wisdom, and tables of practice pointers that provide quick access to valuable knowledge. The text offers information that is requisite for all counselors who provide services to persons who are terminally ill and their families. It addresses common issues that influence different types of counseling approaches, such as how the age, ethnicity, or religion of a client affects counselor conceptualizations and actions. The book discusses how to manage symptoms of depression, anxiety, and cognitive impairment near the end of life. It explains how advance directives can be used to assist dying individuals and their loved ones. The counseling needs of family members before and after death are addressed as well as counseling loved ones experiencing complicated grief. The text also examines the particular concerns of counselors regarding self-care and the benefits of working as part of a professional team. Woven throughout are important considerations such as cultural diversity, ethical challenges, laws, and regulations; and advocacy at client and social policy levels. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of additional references for more in-depth study. Key Features: Integrates research with practical and accessible information Provides clinical "pearls" that can be put to use immediately Provides a reader-friendly format that includes real-life case studies and tables with important pointers Describes the counseling experiences of leading practitioners that include examples of successful and unsuccessful interventions Based on a comprehensive framework developed by a Working Group of the American Psychological Association
Handbook of Mindfulness in Education by
This handbook addresses the educational uses of mindfulness in schools. It summarizes the state of the science and describes current and emerging applications and challenges throughout the field. It explores mindfulness concepts in scientific, theoretical, and practical terms and examines training opportunities both as an aspect of teachers' professional development and a means to enhance students' social-emotional and academic skills. Chapters discuss mindfulness and contemplative pedagogy programs that have produced positive student outcomes, including stress relief, self-care, and improved classroom and institutional engagement. Featured topics include: A comprehensive view of mindfulness in the modern era. Contemplative education and the roots of resilience. Mindfulness practice and its effect on students' social-emotional learning. A cognitive neuroscience perspective on mindfulness in education that addresses students' academic and social skills development. Mindfulness training for teachers and administrators. Two universal mindfulness education programs for elementary and middle school students. The Handbook of Mindfulness in Education is a must-have resource for researchers, graduate students, clinicians, and practitioners in psychology, psychiatry, education, and medicine, as well as counseling, social work, and rehabilitation therapy.
Routine Outcome Monitoring in Couple and Family Therapy by 
Secondary Trauma and Burnout in Military Behavioral Health Providers by
This book provides an in-depth look at the complex clinical, individual, and organizational challenges that our clinicians face in treating our returning soldiers struggling with the aftermath of more than a decade of war. The author explores the confluence of factors that make this time in history a perfect storm for military mental health providers. The signature wounds of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars weave a tapestry of emotional turmoil with diffuse brain injury difficulties that challenge the very best clinicians under the best conditions. The author targets different pieces of the puzzle including the prevalence of secondary trauma and burnout, the organizational factors that promote negative clinician well-being, the creation and evaluation of an online social media based intervention for burnout, and a critical review of peer coaching.
Political Science and Changing Politics by
Politics is about conflict, struggle, decision-making, power and influence. But not every conflict and not every situation in which power is exercised is widely regarded as politics. A football coach who decides to leave a player on the bench because he has given him a bit of lip, is exerting power, and there is conflict here, too. However, few people would consider this a political issue. The same applies to a mother who quarrels with her adolescent daughter about going to a house party, a schoolteacher who gives a student detention, and so on. But if we were to limit our understanding of politics to official decisions that are taken by governments, in parliaments or on municipal councils, we would fail to recognise the political meaning of trade unions, lobbyists, protest groups, corporations and other more-or-less organised groups that influence collective decision-making.
Political Philosophy by
Who ought to govern? Why should I obey the law? How should conflict be controlled? What is the proper education for a citizen and a statesman? These questions probe some of the deepest and most enduring problems that every society confronts, regardless of time and place. Today we ask the same crucial questions about law, authority, justice, and freedom that Plato, Aristotle, Machiavelli, Hobbes, Locke, Rousseau, and Tocqueville faced in previous centuries. In this lively and enlightening book, Professor Steven B. Smith introduces the wide terrain of political philosophy through the classic texts of the discipline. Works by the greatest thinkers illuminate the permanent problems of political life, Smith shows, and while we may not accept all their conclusions, it would be a mistake to overlook the relevance of their insights.]]>
