Provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling--over 500 hours and more than 500 videos. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, and interviews. Many videos include supplementary materials for classroom use, and continuing education credits are available for a number of titles.
Citations and abstracts of dissertations submitted by The U of M and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database. 24 page previews of U of M dissertations published after 1996 with free downloads in fulltext. (For references to older material, use Dissertation Abstracts or WorldCat Dissertations and Theses.) Coverage: 1996-present.
"This article seeks to help authors better understand the purpose, process, and procedures for developing a conceptual
manuscript for publication in counseling journals. The author explains the basis of a conceptual article, discusses how
authors may generate ideas for writing such articles, and describes a process for developing a conceptual article."
"Despite recommendations from the Pubiication Manuai of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.) to include information on statistical power when publishing quantitative results, authors seldom include analysis or discussion of statistical power. The rationale for discussing statistical power is addressed, approaches to using G'Power to report statistical power are presented, and examples for reporting statistical power are provided."
"Research traditions serve as a blueprint or guide for a variety of design decisions throughout qualitative inquiry. This
article presents 6 qualitative research traditions: grounded theory, phenomenology, consensual qualitative research,
ethnography, narratology, and participatory action research. For each tradition, the authors describe its purpose and
key characteristics, outline commonly associated fieldwork activities, describe analytic approaches within the tradition,
and then discuss strengths and challenges of the approach."
"This article is presented as a guide for developing quantitative studies and preparing quantitative manuscripts for
publication in counseling journals. It is intended as an aid for aspiring authors in conceptualizing studies and formulating
valid research designs. Material is presented on choosing variables and measures and on selecting statistical
analyses models. The second section of the article addresses preparation of manuscripts for publication, including
article organization and presentation of data."
"As the world's largest association representing professional counselors in various practice settings, the American Counseling Association stands ready to serve more than 56,000 members with the resources they need to make a difference. From webinars, publications, and journals to Conference education sessions and legislative action alerts, ACA is where counseling professionals turn for powerful, credible content and support."
"The American Mental Health Counselors Association (AMHCA) is the leading national organization for licensed clinical mental health counselors. AMHCA strives to be the go-to organization for LCMHCs for education, advocacy, leadership and collaboration. Our organization provides the backbone of skills and resources needed for clinical mental health counselors to thrive in today's world."
"ARCA is an organization of rehabilitation counseling practitioners, educators, and students who are concerned with improving the lives of people with disabilities. Rehabilitation Counselors are counselors with specialized training and expertise in providing counseling and other services to persons with disability."
"The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) supports school counselors' efforts to help students focus on academic, career and social/emotional development so they achieve success in school and are prepared to lead fulfilling lives as responsible members of society. ASCA provides professional development, publications and other resources, research and advocacy to professional school counselors around the globe."