HIAD: Higher and Adult Education

The dissertation is a tough mountain to climb; half of all doctoral students never make it to the top. To overcome the practical, emotional, and psychological obstacles along the way, you'll need the right tools and a knowledgeable guide. This informative and inspirational book readies you for each step of the dissertation process, including choosing a topic, selecting the committee, getting acclimated to academic writing, preparing for your oral defense, and publishing your research.

Are you struggling with your dissertation? Have you started too late and now you're panicking? Help is here! Your Dissertation in Education is a straight-forward, plain English guide to doing and writing your project. It will take you from start to finish, with practical and friendly advice on every page. This second edition includes: - A new Foundations section with the concepts and tools you need to get started - An expanded guide to methodology and writing about methods - A new chapter on mixed methods An essential companion on your dissertation journey, this book is ideal for students across education, including teacher training, early childhood and education studies.

The first three chapters of Action Research: Models, Methods, and Examples covers the history, foundations, and basics of conducting action research projects. In those chapters you will learn about the origins of action research as well as about the different methods and models of action research - from the original approaches used by Kurt Lewin and his students in the 1940s and 1950s to the diversity of current approaches to AR that are used to develop both solutions to real world problems and to construct a better understanding of important issues and concern in communities, schools, businesses, and organizations. The nine chapters in the second part of the book illustrate the many ways action research is practiced today. Those chapters illustrate the use of action research methods to accomplish everything from individual personal professional development to changing policies and practices in large organizations and systems.

Educational Research in Higher Education presents latest research theories and modern-day examples of design research in higher education. The chapters represent an extensive assortment of interpretations and examples of how today's new design researchers conceptualize this growing methodology across areas as varied as classroom teaching methodologies, instructional innovations, educational technology, equality studies, environmental education, etc. This book is planned as a guide for master and doctoral students, novel researchers, crossover and professional researchers from field's other than but related to higher education, who are interested in supporting new design research.

An engaging and informative text on educational research and statistics, this book tries to utilize outcomes of research for the benefit of humanity. The text examines how research is conducted across the major traditions of educational research (quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods). It is designed for graduate students who want to pursue statistics, and it will help them to write their thesis. The book fulfills a need for a systematic account of research concepts and the use of statistics for advanced students. The fact is that research involves interrelated activities and educators practice research following a general sequence of procedures. This book is demarcated into sections that reflect each step in the process of doing a study.

This handbook serves to act as a reference for educational researchers and practitioners who desire to acquire knowledge and skills in quantitative methods for data analysis or to obtain deeper insights from published works. Written by experienced researchers and educators, each chapter in this handbook covers a methodological topic with attention paid to the theory, procedures, and the challenges on the use of that particular methodology.

The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive overview of the field of qualitative research. It is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. The contributors represent some of the most influential and innovative researchersin the field as well as emerging scholars. This handbook provides a broad introduction to the field of qualitative research to those with little to no background in the subject, while simultaneously providing substantive contributions to the field that will be of interest to even the most experienced researchers. It serves as a user-friendly teaching tool suitable for a range of undergraduate or graduate courses, as well as individuals working on their thesis or other research projects. With a focus on methodological instruction, this volume offers both a retrospective and prospective view of the field.

In this book the authors take the opportunity to explore these themes in an holistic and integrated way in order to develop a sense of methodological coherence for the practitioner researcher at doctoral level. In doing so, the authors argue for what is possible, suggesting that universities should critically examine practitioner doctorates to accommodate new forms of knowledge formation. As an invaluable guide through doctoral research, this book will be essential reading for both doctoral researchers and supervisors alike, as well as practitioner researchers working in professional settings more generally and those engaging in policy debates about doctoral research.

Qualitative Research is the essential guide to understanding, designing, conducting, and presenting a qualitative research study. This fourth edition features new material covering mixed methods, action research, arts-based research, online data sources, and the latest in data analysis, including data analysis software packages as well as narrative and poetic analysis strategies. A new section offers multiple ways of presenting qualitative research findings. The reader-friendly, jargon-free style makes this book accessible to both novice and experienced researchers, emphasizing the role of a theoretical framework in designing a study while providing practical guidance.

This useful guide educates students in the preparation of literature reviews for term projects, theses, and dissertations. The authors provide numerous examples from published reviews that illustrate the guidelines discussed throughout the book. 　 New to the seventh edition: 　 Each chapter breaks down the larger holistic review of literature exercise into a series of smaller, manageable steps. Practical instructions for navigating today's digital libraries. Comprehensive discussions about digital tools, including bibliographic and plagiarism detection software. Chapter activities that reflect the book's updated content. New model literature reviews.

From daunting to doable in six steps Graduate students who turn in exceptional literature reviews are recognized as excellent critical thinkers, as well as masters of academic argumentation, research writing and writing academic papers. But literature searches and composing the review itself can be intimidating and frustrating.  The six-step process pioneered by this book has made the task flowing and seamless for masters and doctoral candidates in Education and related fields.

Illustrates all the steps in preparing qualitative and quantitative literature reviews. Emphasizes topic selection, locating literature, and avoiding major pitfalls in evaluating and synthesizing literature. Shows how to improve literature reviews through the judicious inclusion of statistical results found in the literature. Provides easy-to-follow advice on how to avoid misrepresenting the results of published research in literature reviews. The numerous examples throughout the text and the nine model literature reviews clarify the process of following the guidelines for writing solid, state-of-the-art literature reviews.

This book provides introductory materials on research methods and report writing that aim at guiding students and researchers towards effective research and reporting of their findings. Unlike the many volumes on research that are mostly theoretical, this book originated in the classroom and grew out of the students' own needs to design and conduct satisfactory research in order to meet academic requirements. It is also designed to help experienced researchers in their research ventures. In fulfilling this purpose, the author uses simple, straightforward language. He also provides appropriate examples and illustrations to enable the reader to grasp the basic concepts of research. The book will prove a useful guide for students and researchers in social sciences and humanities who wish to transform research theory into real and feasible research projects.

Designed for students who will be writing research proposals, reports, theses, and dissertations. The 15 chapters cover 191 guidelines for effective scientific writing. The guidelines are fully illustrated with easy-to-follow examples. The guidelines describe the types of information that should be included, how this information should be expressed, and where various types of information should be placed within a research report. End-of-chapter questions help students master the writing process.

Like the sound of the proverbial tree falling in a forest with no human audience, research that is not ultimately published is ‘unheard' and forever lost. Moreover, published research that is not reported well may not stand a chance in today's competitive academic world. Those whose first language is not English bear a double burden in trying to make themselves heard and understood. Writing Readable Research tries to help users create texts that are easy to read, interesting, and dynamic, yet conform to current standards of English, to criteria of the fields of social science, and to conventions of society in general. This book gives attention to all the layers of scientific writing, from nitty-gritty problems in grammar and punctuation to sensitive interpersonal issues such as criticism of other authors and advancing one's own claims.

Infused with multidisciplinary examples, humor, and a healthy dose of irreverence, Fallon helps emerging researchers successfully navigate the intellectual and emotional challenges of writing quantitative research reports. After reinforcing foundations in methodology, statistics, and writing in the first section of the book, emerging researchers work through a series of questions to construct their research report. The final section contains sample papers generated by undergraduates illustrating three major forms of quantitative research--primary data collection, secondary data analysis, and content analysis. Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is appropriate for research methods classes in communication, criminology or criminal justice, economics, education, political science, psychological science, social work, and sociology. Individual students and novice researchers can also read the book as a supplement to any course or research experience that requires writing up quantitative data.