Research Guides: HIAD: Higher and Adult Education: Welcome

Welcome to the Higher and Adult Education Guide

This guide will help you with your library research while you are in the graduate HIAD program at the University of Memphis. It will direct you to some of the books and other resources we have in our collection, suggest databases that will help you locate specific journals and articles, and point to some useful web sites. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us using the Get Help box on every page.

Search Almost Everything

Databases

Major Databases

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes an international range of English-language periodicals and books in the field of education, including several not included in ERIC. Coverage: Indexing 1929- ; with abstracts, 1994- ; select fulltext, 1996-.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus provides abstracts and citation tracking of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. It features tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Researchers who use Web of Science will find Scopus indexes the same fields but with broader coverage. Users needing the Scopus ID" (for example, to use the "Papers by mekentosj" citation software), please use C000040240."
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
The University of Memphis maintains domain access to The Chronicle. Anyone who has, or creates, a free Chronicle account using the "memphis.edu" email domain, has additional access points: 1) From their iPad -- Download The Chronicle’s iPad editions at no cost from http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id4149016. 2) From a smart phone or tablet using the device’s Web browser. 3) From any computer, from any location in the world -- Direct access to Chronicle.com from any remote location without having to go through a proxy server.

Secondary Databases

Good supplements, especially for certain topic areas.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Business Abstracts with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals in accounting, acquisitions & mergers, advertising, banking, building & construction, chemicals & pharmaceuticals, communications, computers, the cosmetics industry, economics, electronics, the entertainment industry, finance, financial services, government regulations, health care, high technology, hospitality & tourism, human resources, industrial relations, insurance, international business, investments, management, marketing, mass media, occupational health & safety, oil & gas, paper & pulp industries, public utilities, publishing, purchasing, real estate, retailing, small business, taxation, technology, and transportation. Coverage: citations & abstracts, 1982- ; full text, 1995-.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR database consists of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in all disciplines. Coverage: varies--going back to first year of publication and coming up to 3-5 years ago. See the Project Muse database for scholarly articles from within the past 3-5 years.
Library Literature and Information Science Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Indexes English and foreign language material in the field of library and information science. Includes journals--100 in full text--, books, pamphlets, proceedings. Search as part of the Wilson Omnifile either as a single database (select "LIBRARY & INFORMATION SCI" from the drop down list) or in combination with any or all of the other 10 Wilson databases. Coverage: 1984- ; with full text, 1996-present.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations to and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in psychology, plus psychological aspects in related disciplines (medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law). Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1632-present.

Advanced Search Strategies: PsychInfo from University Libraries on Vimeo.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals in addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, communications & mass media, community health & medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology, and urban studies. Coverage: citations & abstracts, 1983- ; full text, 1995-.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles. Coverage: 1952-Present

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad connect you to scholarly articles behind paywalls when they appear on Google Scholar, PubMed, Wikipedia, and many journal publisher websites through the University Libraries. LibKey Nomad works both on and off campus.

LibKey Nomad is available on these browsers:

Chrome
Safari
Edge
Firefox
Brave
Vivaldi

Guide to Setting Up LibKey Nomad

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar links researchers to thousands of available scholarly articles. By linking your Google Scholar account to your University of Memphis library account, you can also use your Scholar account to see if articles behind paywalls are available to you through University Libraries.

Other Useful Guides

Citation Management and Generation
by Carl Hess Last Updated Oct 28, 2024 5427 views this year
Dissertation Writers Resources
by April Hobbs Last Updated Jul 7, 2023 360 views this year
Empirical Research: Defining, Identifying, & Finding
by Carl Hess Last Updated Apr 2, 2024 11088 views this year
Government Publications: Statistics
by Perveen Rustomfram Last Updated Jan 8, 2024 287 views this year
Scholarly Communications
by Kenneth Haggerty Last Updated Feb 21, 2024 7612 views this year