Research Guides: HIAD: Higher and Adult Education: Government Resources

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Managed by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences, ERIC is an open digital library and search engine of educational research.

ERIC includes journal articles, reports, fact sheets, conference materials, and more. Some of these are scholarly sources, while others would be considered "grey literature."
Many materials in ERIC are free, though some academic research is linked to but not available in the ERIC library and may be behind a paywall.
Search the University Libraries collection, including the subscription ProQuest version of ERIC, for access to paywalled research.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information.

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

ERIC Advanced Search Strategies
Text overview of ERIC search features.
ERIC YouTube Channel
Video overviews of ERIC, what is included, and how to search.

College Affordability and Transparency Center
Collection of Dept. of Ed data tools relating to the costs and funding of higher education including the College Scorecard, College Navigator, and State Spending Charts.
IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System)
National data reporting system for all colleges, universities, community colleges, and technical and vocational schools. See the data categories collected by the IPEDS.
Data.Census.Gov
Data.Census.Gov is the primary access point for Census Bureau data. Collects a wide variety of demographic data, including postsecondary degree attainment. Help FAQs.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS collects data on pricing, pay, productivity, and employment,, including education and training requirements included in the Occupational Requirements Survey.

GovInfo
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
more...less...
GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.
US Code
Active laws of the United States.

U.S. Department of Education
Federal agency covering all aspects of education in the United States.
Laws & Guidance | Department of Education
Text and Dept. of Ed connections for major federal education legislation.
Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE)
Dept. of Ed office covering policies and initiatives relating to colleges and universities.
Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education (OCTAE)
Dept. of Ed office focused on policy and initiatives around adult education and literacy, career and technical education, and community colleges.

Congress.gov
Official website for both branches of Congress. Track bills and resolutions, see committee activities, and access the full Congressional Record.

For tracking considered legislation before it reaches the full legislature.

Tennessee Higher Education Commission (THEC)
Governs postsecondary education in Tennessee. Includes state policies, data, and reports.

Tennessee General Assembly
All legislators, committees, and considered legislation. Can find legislation with search and browse by index number or by subject.

For tracking considered legislation before it reaches the full legislature.