Dissertation Writers Resources

This series of webinars is for UofM students, staff and faculty who are focused on graduate-level research. Register to attend and learn more about the great resources the University Libraries offers you! All registrants will receive a link to the recording following the webinar.

• September 5, 10 am CDT - University Libraries Services & Resources for Graduate Students, GAs and TAs. Recording
• September 17, 9 am CDT - Advanced Search Strategies. Recording
• September 23, 2 pm CDT - Research for Engineering & Physical Sciences - IEEE Xplore. Recording
• September 25, 1 pm CDT - Research for Engineering & Physical Sciences - ASTM Compass. Recording
• October 2, 4 pm CDT - GenAI Research Tool - Scite.ai. Recording
• October 8, 10 am CDT - Education Research with Government Documents.
• October 22, 10 am CDT - Citation Management & Tools - Zotero & Mendeley. Registration
• October 24, 10 am CDT - Research for Health Sciences. Registration
• October 28, 1 pm CDT - Research for Health, Social & Behavioral Sciences - CINAHL Complete and PsycINFO. Registration
• November 4, 2 pm CST - Research Diet: Tracking Journals & Peers. Registration

Recordings, slides, and more.

Ashley Roach-Freiman, Research and Instruction Librarian & Associate Professor, shares University Libraries resource and services that are extremely helpful for graduate students, GAs, and TAs!

This webinar was held on September 5, 2025 @ 10 am CDT.

Suggested citation:

Roach-Freiman, Ashley. "DWR Webinar: University Libraries Services & Resources for Graduate Students, GAs and TAs" (2025). DWR Webinars. 1.

Jessica McClure, Virtual Instruction Librarian & Assistant Professor, demonstrates graduate-level keyword searching and mining, Boolean logic, cross-referencing academic databases, and more!

This webinar was held on September 17, 2025 @ 9 am CDT.

Suggested citation:

McClure, Jessica. "DWR Webinar: Advanced Search Strategies" (2025). DWR Webinars. 2.

Alexandra Plante from IEEE Xplore discusses and demonstrates the IEEE database.

IEEE Xplore indexes and abstracts IEEE publications, transactions, magazines, letters, proceedings, and standards. Subjects covered include electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. 

Mark Reese from ASTM Compass provides an overview of how to use the database, ASTM Compass, and the ASTM Digital Library.

The ASTM Compass platform hosts a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The collection contains ASTM's 13,000 standards in more than 130 industry areas. It covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. This collection is the electronic counterpart of the print publications ASTM International standards and Annual Book of ASTM Standards.

Michael Freisen with Research Solutions demonstrates how to get started and how to best use Scite.ai.