Skip to main content

Religious Studies: Methodology

Research guide for Religious Studies program at the University of Memphis

Help From the Library

For More Help, Talk to a Librarian



Methodology Resources: Books

Search @ U of M Libraries

Top Databases for Anthropology

Religious Methodology

What is a methodology in religious studies? 


Methodologies in religious studies are the interpretive models on which the analysis of religious phenomena and resources are discussed. Methodologies provide a lense of analysis from which to view the field of religous studies. Within religious studies there are three common methodologies: Philosophy of Religion (Phenomenology), the study of religious communities (Functionalism), and the study of all aspects of the beliefs, practices, and experiences of the followers of a particular religion (Lived Religion). There are many subsets within these fields and other methodologies can be used in combination to study a particular faith. 

This page provides you with resources on methodology in religous studies. 

Additional Resources

Methodology Resources: Databases

Tips for Database Searching

Tutorials for many of the databases are located on the get help page at this link

Many articles in our databases have full text available within the database. For other articles, check the University Libraries' A to Z list of journal holdings to see if full text is available.

If full text is not available, you can use Interlibrary Loan to have the text sent from another library.