Research Guides: Government Publications: Statistics: Data

Regional Federal Depository Library

The University of Memphis Libraries has been a Federal Depository Library since 1966 and a Regional Depository Library since 1989.

Statistics Search Tips and Tricks

FedStats – Your Window Into U.S. Federal Statistics
Don’t know the agency that publishes your statistics? No problem! Just search FedStats. Includes statistics from agencies with expenditures over $500,000. So may not be comprehensive.
USA.gov – Your Online Guide to Government Information and Services
Use the Search box for keywords coupled with the word ‘statistics.’ For example, juvenile delinquents statistics or juvenile delinquents statistics memphis tn

Helpful Hints:

Click on a relevant agency and either browse through the statistical reports or use the search box to search for your topic with keyword. For example, go to https://nces.ed.gov/ and search for dropouts Tennessee

Click on a relevant statistical report and either use the search box or browse the publications

If all else fails use Google to search with keywords in the .gov domain. For example, poverty memphis tn site:.gov or poverty memphis tn site:tn.gov

Datasets

Bureau of Economic Analysis – Interactive Data
This interactive data application allows for all BEA data (national, international, regional, or industry statistics) to be searched with a single search mechanism. Includes the capabilities of printing, saving, exporting, charting, and sharing via social media tools.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Public Data Application Programming Interface (API)
The Bureau of Labor Statistics Public Data API gives the public access to raw data from all the BLS programs
Census Bureau's TheDataWeb: Data Application Programming Interface (API)
Provides access to the Census Bureau public use datasets. Any organization with data published in TheDataWeb, or with their own DataWeb services, can make their data available through the API. Data sponsors have control and expose data in a standardized way. Developers reduce the development learning curve by standardizing the API query language across multiple datasets which allows rapid development of mobile and web applications.
Compendium of National Juvenile Justice Datasets
Data.gov
Provides datasets, tools, and resources for a variety of subjects including agriculture, business, education, finance, and health among others.
DataFerrett
A data analysis and extraction tool which has the capability of customizing federal, state, and local data; developing an unlimited array of complex spreadsheets; and turning them into graphs and maps without any additional software.
To be decommissioned in June 2020.
DataFerret Replacement--Census Bureau Microdata Analysis System (Beta Version)
This new microdata system (in Beta version) will repalce DataFerret.
How-to documentation is available at https://www.census.gov/data/what-is-data-census-gov.html
Health, United States, 2014
An annual report on trends in Health Statistics. Covers trends and current information on selected measures of morbidity, mortality, health care utilization and access, health risk factors, prevention, health insurance, and personal health care expenditures.
HealthData.gov
Makes high value data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all. Innovators are harnessing the power of this data to help consumers get the information they need, help doctors deliver better care, help employers promote health and wellness and help local policymakers make better-informed decisions.
HRSA Data Warehouse
Serves as the enterprise repository for HRSA’s data and makes the data available to the public. It allows users to explore, interact with and export data through charts, maps, reports, analyzer, and locator tools, data downloads and data services, widgets and the data portal.
ICPSR – Find and Analyze Data
Data supporting research in the social sciences, including economics and finance, population studies, sociology, health care, education, politics and governmental studies. Includes data sets provided by governmental and non-governmental agencies, as well as data sets from privately and publicly funded research, opinion polls and other studies. The University of Memphis is a member and has access to all of the available data.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data – Analyze Data Online (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Some datasets are available for online data analysis without having to download the entire collection.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data – Download Data
Computerized sources of data available for downloading and further research. Most of the data is freely available as it is funded government agencies. Register for a free account.
Public Data Application Programming Interface (API)
The Bureau of Labor Statistics Public Data API gives the public access to raw data from all the BLS programs
Statistical Reference Datasets
Provides reference datasets with certified computational results that enable the objective evaluation of statistical software in order to improve its accuracy.