There are a few ways to search for books and ebooks in the University Libraries collection. One way to begin your search is to use the "Search Almost Everything" box on the left hand side of this page.
A second way to search is using the "Classic Catalog." The Classic Catalog is a bit different from the main search bar. The main search bar will bring up everything in the library's collection, but will also show results from databases, journals, etc. The Classic Catalog, however, searches only the collections owned by the University Libraries and its affiliated local libraries.
All books in the library are given subject terms. These words describe the topic of the book, and books with the same subjects are going to be about similar topics. If you can find one book on your topics, look at its listed subjects and use those to identify new search words. Subjects are also hyperlinked. Clicking on a linked subject will take you to a list of titles that share the same subjects! Some of the examples in the Books by Topic section might help you identify subject terms.
You can also browse subject headings related to visual arts below!
101 Things to Learn in Art School by
Lessons, demonstrations, definitions, and tips on what to expect in art school, what it means to make art, and how to think like an artist. What is the first thing to learn in art school? "Art can be anything." The second thing? "Learn to draw." With 101 Things to Learn in Art School, artist and teacher Kit White delivers and develops such lessons, striking an instructive balance between technical advice and sage concepts. These 101 maxims, meditations, and demonstrations offer both a toolkit of ideas for the art student and a set of guiding principles for the artist. Complementing each of the 101 succinct texts is an equally expressive drawing by the artist, often based on a historical or contemporary work of art, offering a visual correlative to the written thought. "Art can be anything" is illustrated by a drawing of Duchamp's famous urinal; a description of chiaroscuro art is illuminated by an image "after Caravaggio"; a lesson on time and media is accompanied by a view of a Jenny Holzer projection; advice about surviving a critique gains resonance from Piero della Francesca's arrow-pierced Saint Sebastian. 101 Things to Learn in Art School offers advice about the issues artists confront across all artistic media, but this is no simple handbook to making art. It is a guide to understanding art as a description of the world we live in, and it is a guide to using art as a medium for thought. And so this book belongs on the reading list of art students, art teachers, and artists, but it also belongs in the library of everyone who cares about art as a way of understanding life.
Photography Second Edition by
A complete introduction to photography, this book is an essential resource for students across the visual arts. This second edition has been extensively updated, with a greater range of visual examples from master photographers and up-to-date information on digital photography.
The Fundamentals of Creative Photography by
The Fundamentals of Creative Photography offers a comprehensive introduction to the world of applied creative photography. It is concerned with photography in a professional context - images that are to be used in the fulfilment of a brief, rather than those created solely for self-expression. Creativity is important, but must be focused on meeting the client's needs. The book explores the principles that underpin the discipline, guiding the reader though the practical considerations involved in executing the perfect shot. It includes guidance on acquiring and developing new skills, the practice of self-promotion and self-administration, and a discussion of the image workflow.
The New Graphic Design School by 
Architecture by
Architecture offers a thorough introduction to the entire field of architecture, outlining the steps that arenormally taken in becoming a qualified architect, from initial education right through to professional practice, as well as how to apply this architectural training in other fields. Complete with feature spreads on individual projects, Architecture's broad, up-to-date approach unites history, theory, and practice. Subjects covered include how to develop a program with a client; taking an idea from brief to project; types of visual presentation including drawings, models, and computer renderings; project planning andmanagement; the diverse roles within a company; and the future of architectural practice. This book is a must for anyone considering taking an architecture course or just beginning one.
What Is Architectural History? by
What is Architectural History? considers the questions and problems posed by architectural historians since the rise of the discipline in the late nineteenth century. How do historians of architecture organise past time and relate it to the present? How does historical evidence translate into historical narrative? Should architectural history be useful for practicing architects? If so, how? Leach treats the disciplinarity of architectural history as an open question, moving between three key approaches to historical knowledge of architecture: within art history, as an historical specialisation and, most prominently, within architecture. He suggests that the confusions around this question have been productive, ensuring a rich variety of approaches to the project of exploring architecture historically. Read alongside introductory surveys of western and global architectural history, this book will open up questions of perspective, frame, and intent for students of architecture, art history, and history. Graduate students and established architectural historians will find much in this book to fuel discussions over the current state of the field in which they work.
A World History of Architecture by
A magnificently illustrated guide to theglobal history of architecture--updated toinclude the non-western world and worksfrom women The Second Edition of this historical architecturalguide gives you a deeperknowledge and wider perspective of traditions inarchitecture throughout the world--from prehistoricthrough modern structures. Extensively and beautifullyillustrated, the book includes photos, plans, scales forworld-famous structures such as the Parthenon, Versailles,the Brooklyn Bridge, and many others.
Modern Architecture by
In this handsome book, esteemed architectural historian Neil Levine investigates for the first time the complex history of representation—the use and meaning of architectural signifiers—from the 18th through the 20th century. Using the lens of a continuous theoretical argument, Levine provides a detailed survey and critical analysis of major works by a host of modern architects, including #65533;tienne-Louis Boull#65533;e, Nicholas Hawksmoor, Louis Kahn, Henri Labrouste, Augustus Welby Pugin, Karl Friedrich Schinkel, John Soane, Louis Sullivan, Mies van der Rohe, Eug#65533;ne Viollet-le-Duc, and Frank Lloyd Wright. Levine posits that all modern architects, much like visual artists, have had to grapple with issues of representation in their work. Interweaving influential examples from outside the scope of modern architecture, Levine traces the history of representation in architecture, and in writings on architecture, both within each architect’s oeuvre and throughout the centuries discussed. The book features previously unpublished images, many created for this publication, and it addresses a variety of specific cases while offering an original and panoramic view of the history of architecture. Beautifully written and accessible, Modern Architecture is destined to become a classic.
The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture by
The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecturepresents a comprehensive global survey of the most outstanding works of contemporary architecture from around the world to be completed in the last five years. Organized geographically and illustrated with global, regional and sub-regional maps locating each individual building, this monumental tome illustrates more than 1,000 completed buildings and includes some of the most influential projects worldwide as well as many lesser-known buildings. Sections on World Data, Building Data and Architect's Biographies paint a detailed picture of the influences on contemporary architecture today. Every building type is covered - from the largest publicly-funded art museums and airports to private houses - and each project is illustrated with colour photographs, line drawings and an analytical text. Eminent architectural critics, curators, journalists and practitioners from all parts of the globe nominate what they consider to be the most outstanding works of contemporary architecture in their regions and beyond. The resulting 1,050 buildings confirm the far-reaching influence of well-known and respected international practitioners such as Jean Nouvel, Tadao Ando, Renzo Piano, Sir Norman Foster, Rem Koolhaas and Herzog & De Meuron, as well as introducing a host of lesser-known architects whose work provides an illuminating point of comparison with their famous counterparts. This magnificent book provides a unique opportunity to examine contemporary architecture as an evolving global phenomenon with all the cross-cultural influences this suggests, while illustrating the powerful diversity that is generated by climate (from the Arctic circle to the African deserts), culture (from the technologically advanced secularism of western Europe to traditional rural communities) and economics (from the wealthy post-industrial mega-economies to some of the most economically challenged countries of the developing world). The colossal volume is divided into six geographical regions with meticulous maps in each section, providing geographical orientation and an understanding of where contemporary architecture is being commissioned, designed and built. Its composition, scale, range and depth are truly unprecedented. The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architectureis essential reading for all those interested in gaining a true understanding of where the best contemporary architecture is located in the world.
Architecture by
The Empire State Building. Fallingwater. The Walt Disney Concert Hall. Rediscover these American treasures—and discover the engrossing stories of the colorful individuals whose designs made them possible—in Architecture: Celebrating the Past, Designing the Future. This lavishly illustrated, eminently readable book commemorates 150 years of the American Institute of Architects, taking readers behind the scenes for an unprecedented look at the role of architecture and architects in society. Contributors include architect Thom Mayne, scholar James Steele, journalist Paul Goldberger, and many other leading voices. With up-close looks at works by Frank Gehry, Mies van der Rohe, Zaha Hadid, Eero Sarinen, Frank Lloyd Wright, and other masters, Architecture: Celebrating the Past, Designing the Future is a must-have for anyone interested in architecture yesterday, today, and tomorrow.
Intervention Architecture by
Across a range of settings - from the dry river valleys of Yemen to tropical high-rise fabric of Singapore - the projects selected for the 10th cycle of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture match the cutting-edge design with a deep commitment to place. Resolutely contemporary and yet firmly local, they respond to the challenges of their environments with imagination and skill. "Intervention Architecture" brings these works vividly to life through understanding photographs as well as drawings and descriptions. Texts by leading thinkers and practitioners explore the broader issues raised by the projects, from ecological urbanism to cosmopolitanism in architecture.
Digital Culture in Architecture by
Today's explosive developments in digital technology have also affected architecture and the urban landscape. The new possibilities opened up by digital simulation have led to an increasingly strategic approach to planning, an approach based on generating scenarios, which thus represents a radical departure from traditional planning. From the preliminary sketch all the way to the production of individual building components, digital tools offer new possibilities that were still inconceivable just a few years ago. This volume provides a profound introduction to the important role of digital technologies in design and execution. In four chapters, the author systematically examines the influence of digital culture on architecture but also on the urban landscape as well as product design. The relationship of digital architecture to the city is also an important focus.
Art History: the Basics by
Art History: The Basics is a concise and accessible introduction for the general reader and the undergraduate approaching the history of art for the first time at college or university. It will give you answers to questions like: What is art and art history? What are the main methodologies used to understand art? How have ideas about form, sex and gender shaped representation? What connects art with psychoanalysis, semiotics and Marxism? How are globalization and postmodernism changing art and art history? Each chapter introduces key ideas, issues and debates in art history, including information on relevant websites and image archives. Fully illustrated with an international range of artistic examples, Art History: The Basics also includes helpful subject summaries, further ideas for reading in each chapter, and a useful glossary for easy reference.
Art, History and the Historiography of Judaism in Roman Antiquity by
Art, History, and the Historiography of Judaism in Roman Antiquity explores the complex interplay between visual culture, texts, and their interpretations, arguing for an open-ended and self-aware approach to understanding Jewish culture from the first century CE through the rise of Islam. The essays assembled here range from the "thick description" of Josephus's portrayal of Bezalel son of Uri as a Roman architect through the inscriptions of the Dura Europos synagogue, Jewish reflections on Caligula in color, the polychromy of the Jerusalem temple, new-old approaches to the zodiac, and to the Christian destruction of ancient synagogues. Taken together, these essays suggest a humane approach to the history of the Jews in an age of deep and long-lasting transitions--both in antiquity, and in our own time. This book is also available in paperback. "Taken as a whole, Fine's book exhibits the value of bridging disciplines. The historiographical segments integrated throughout this volume offer essential insights that will inform any student of Roman and late antiquity." Yael Wilfand, Hebrew University, Review of Biblical Literature, 2014.
Art by
The last few decades have witnessed an explosion in ideas and theories on art. Art itself has never been more popular, but much recent thinking remains inaccessible and difficult to use. This book assesses the work of leading thinkers (including artists) who are having a major impact on making, criticizing and interpreting art. Each entry, written by a leading international expert, presents a concise, critical appraisal of a thinker and their contribution to thought about art and its place in the wider cultural context. A guide to the key thinkers who shape today's world of art, this book is a vital reference for anyone interested in modern and contemporary art, its history, theory, philosophy and practice. Theodor ADORNO * Roland BARTHES * Georges BATAILLE * Jean BAUDRILLARD * Walter BENJAMIN * Jay BERNSTEIN * Pierre BOURDIEU * Nicholas BOURRIAUD * Benjamin BUCHLOH * Daniel BUREN * Judith BUTLER * Noël CARROLL * Stanley CAVELL * TJ CLARK * Arthur C. DANTO * Gilles DELEUZE * Jacques DERRIDA * George DICKIE * Thierry DE DUVE * James ELKINS * Hal FOSTER * Michel FOUCAULT * Michael FRIED * Dan GRAHAM * Clement GREENBERG * Fredric JAMESON * Mike KELLEY * Mary KELLY * Joseph KOSUTH * Rosalind KRAUSS * Julia KRISTEVA * Barbara KRUGER * Niklaus LUHMANN * Jean-François LYOTARD * Maurice MERLEAU-PONTY * WTJ MITCHELL * Robert MORRIS * Linda NOCHLIN * Adrian PIPER * Griselda POLLOCK * Robert SMITHSON * Jeff WALL * Melanie KLEIN * Albrecht WELLMER * Richard WOLLHEIM
Gardner's Art Through the Ages by
A standard adult history of art that has often been revised since its first publication in 1926.
History of Modern Art by
The prehistory of modern painting -- Realism and impressionism -- Post-Impressionism -- Origins of modern architecture: nineteenth-century pioneers -- Art nouveau: from expressionism to fantasy -- The origins of modern sculpture -- Fauvism -- Expressionism in Germany -- Early twentieth-century sculpture -- Cubism -- The spread of cubism -- Early twentieth-century architecture -- From fantasy to dada and the new objectivity -- The school of Paris between the wars -- Surrealism -- The international style in architecture: the first wave -- International abstraction between the wars -- American art between the wars -- Abstract expressionism and the new American sculpture -- Postwar European painting and sculpture -- Pop art, assemblage, and Europe's new realism -- Sixties abstraction: renascent constructivism, post-painterly abstraction, op art, kinetic sculpture, minimalism -- The international style in architecture: the second wave -- The post-minimal seventies: from conceptual art to public monuments -- The pluralistic seventies: from the new illusionism to pattern, decoration, and new image art -- The appropriating eighties: from neo-expressionism to neo-abstraction -- Post-modernism in architecture.
A Companion to Museum Studies by
A Companion to Museum Studies captures the multidisciplinaryapproach to the study of the development, roles, and significanceof museums in contemporary society. Collects first-rate original essays by leading figures from arange of disciplines and theoretical stances, includinganthropology, art history, history, literature, sociology, culturalstudies, and museum studies Examines the complexity of the museum from cultural, political,curatorial, historical and representational perspectives Covers traditional subjects, such as space, display, buildings,objects and collecting, and more contemporary challenges such asvisiting, commerce, community and experimental exhibitionforms
Museum Administration 2. 0 by
Wondering what a museum director actually does? About to start your first director's job? Looking for guidance in starting up a museum or working with a museum director? Hugh Genoways, Lynne Ireland, and Cinnamon Catlin-Legutko have taken the mystery out and put common sense and good guidance in. Learn about everything from budgets and strategic planning to human resources and facilities management to collections and programming. They also help you tackle legal documents, legal and ethical issues, and challenges for today's 2.0 world. Case studies and exercises throughout help you review and practice what you are learning, and their extensive references will be a welcome resource.
Contemporary Curating and Museum Education by
Museum directors are beginning to question the role of their museums in the production of knowledge and participation, in creating links between the present and the past. Museum education has evolved as a practice in its own right, questioning, expanding, and transforming exhibitions and institutions. How does museum work change if we conceive of curating and education as an integrated practice? In this anthology, international scholars employed at a range of museums address this question. For anyone interested in the future of these institutions, this book explores diverse approaches to translating the "grand designs" of critical museology into practice.
Curatopia by
What is the future of curatorship? Is there a vision for an ideal model, a curatopia, whether in the form of a utopia or dystopia? Or is there a plurality of approaches, amounting to a curatorial heterotopia? This pioneering volume addresses these questions by considering the current state of curatorship. It reviews the different models and approaches operating in museums, galleries and cultural organisations around the world and discusses emerging concerns, challenges and opportunities. The collection explores the ways in which the mutual, asymmetrical relations underpinning global, scientific entanglements of the past can be transformed into more reciprocal, symmetrical forms of cross-cultural curatorship in the present, arguing that this is the most effective way for curatorial practice to remain meaningful. International in scope, the volume covers three regions: Europe, North America and the Pacific.
The Engaging Museum by
This very practical book guides museums on how to create the highest quality experience possible for their visitors. Creating an environment that supports visitor engagement with collections means examining every stage of the visit, from the initial impetus to go to a particular institution, to front-of-house management, interpretive approach and qualitative analysis afterwards. This holistic approach will be immensely helpful to museums in meeting the needs and expectations of visitors and building their audience. This book features: includes chapter introductions and discussion sections supporting case studies to show how ideas are put into practice a lavish selection of tables, figures and plates to support and illustrate the discussion boxes showing ideas, models and planning suggestions to guide development an up-to-date bibliography of landmark research. The Engaging Museum offers a set of principles that can be adapted to any museum in any location and will be a valuable resource for institutions of every shape and size, as well as a vital addition to the reading lists of museum studies students.
Museums and Communities: Curators, Collections and Collaboration by
This edited volume critically engages with contemporary scholarship on museums and their engagement with the communities they purport to serve and represent. Foregrounding new curatorial strategies, it addresses a significant gap in the available literature, exploring some of the complex issues arising from recent approaches to collaboration between museums and their communities.The book unpacks taken-for-granted notions such as scholarship, community, participation and collaboration, which can gloss over the complexity of identities and lead to tokenistic claims of inclusion by museums. Over sixteen chapters, well-respected authors from the US, Australia and Europe offer a timely critique to address what happens when museums put community-minded principles into practice, challenging readers to move beyond shallow notions of political correctness that ignore vital difference in this contested field. Contributors address a wide range of key issues, asking pertinent questions such as how museums negotiate the complexities of integrating collaboration when the target community is a living, fluid, changeable mass of people with their own agendas and agency. When is engagement real as opposed to symbolic, who benefits from and who drives initiatives? What particular challenges and benefits do artist collaborations bring? Recognising the multiple perspectives of community participants is one thing, but how can museums incorporate this successfully into exhibition practice?Students
Museum Collections Management: A handbook by
Collections management'is a relatively new term in the museums and cultural heritage sector, and yet it is fundamental to what museums do and why they exist. The term is sometimes synonymous with database systems for collections information, but in its wider sense, it encompasses all the core activities of collecting, displaying and providing access to museum objects. Caring for collections today requires a wide knowledge of legal and ethical considerations, such as due diligence and immunity from seizure, and of recent developments in the areas of sustainability, security and economics. This timely book addresses the key principles and strategies for looking after culturally significant objects and their associated information as well as the relevant laws and codes of ethics. It then moves on to the practical processes involved, such as classification, contracts and loans. As such, it is a landmark publication and the first comprehensive and practical guide to collections management. Key chapters include: legal and ethical issues; basic practice; documentation; movement and storage; acquisitions and loans; exhibitions and displays; and, access. Procedures are based on international museum practice and presented in a simple step-by-step process that will act as a guide for any transaction. This is backed up by examples of real policies and documents drawn from major museums, together with suggestions for additional resources. This essential guide covers everything a collections manager needs to know, whatever the size and type of collection, and will be of immense value to everyone in the cultural heritage sector, including museum professionals, curators of private collections, museum studies students and anyone responsible for caring for items of cultural significance.
Museum object lessons in the digital age by
Museum Object Lessons for the Digital Age explores the nature of digital objects in museums, asking us to question our assumptions about the material, social and political foundations of digital practices. Through four wide-ranging chapters, each focused on a single object – a box, pen, effigy and cloak – this short, accessible book explores the legacies of earlier museum practices of collection, older forms of media (from dioramas to photography), and theories of how knowledge is produced in museums on a wide range of digital projects. Swooping from Ethnographic to Decorative Arts Collections, from the Google Art Project to bespoke digital experiments, Haidy Geismar explores the object lessons contained in digital form and asks what they can tell us about both the past and the future. Drawing on the author’s extensive experience working with collections across the world, Geismar argues for an understanding of digital media as material, rather than immaterial, and advocates for a more nuanced, ethnographic and historicised view of museum digitisation projects than those usually adopted in the celebratory accounts of new media in museums. By locating the digital as part of a longer history of material engagements, transformations and processes of translation, this book broadens our understanding of the reality effects that digital technologies create, and of how digital media can be mobilised in different parts of the world to very different effects.
Museums and the Shaping of Knowledge by
Museums have been active in shaping knowledge over the last six hundred years. Yet what is their function within today's society? At the present time, when funding is becoming increasingly scarce, difficult questions are being asked about the justification of museums. Museums and the Shaping of Knowledge presents a critical survey of major changes in current assumptions about the nature of museums. Through the examination of case studies, Eilean Hooper-Greenhill reveals a variety of different roles for museums in the production and shaping of knowledge. Today, museums are once again organising their spaces and collections to present themselves as environments for experimental and self-directed learning.
A History of Art Education: Intellectual and Social Currents in Teaching the Visual Arts by
Arthur Efland puts current debate and concerns in a well-researched historical perspective. He examines the institutional settings of art education throughout Western history, the social forces that have shaped it, and the evolution and impact of alternate streams of influence on present practice.A History of Art Education is the first book to treat the visual arts in relation to developments in general education. Particular emphasis is placed on the 19th and 20th centuries and on the social context that has affected our concept of art today. This book will be useful as a main text in history of art education courses, as a supplemental text in courses in art education methods and history of education, and as a valuable resource for students, professors, and researchers.“The book should become a standard reference tool for art educators at all levels of the field.”—The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism“Efland has filled a gap in historical research on art education and made an important contribution to scholarship in the field.”—Studies in Art Education
Current Streams in American Art Education by
This book analyses the modern approaches in American art education from historical and comparative perspectives. It observes the general principles of teaching the fine arts in the USA, exploring the ideas of visual culture studies, modern generational characteristics, and social educational factors as part of the current educational environment. Based on a wide variety of academic and practical sources, the book considers the transformation of the aesthetic experience, the general concept of art education, in the modern multicultural milieu. To illustrate the current streams in contemporary American art pedagogy, it embraces a broad spectrum of references, including the classification of art museums in the USA and museums'school projects.
A to Z of African Americans: African Americans in the The Visual Arts by 
Rethinking Contemporary Art and Multicultural Education by
For over a decade, Contemporary Art and Multicultural Education has served as the guide to multicultural art education, connecting everyday experience, social critique, and creative expression with classroom learning. The much-anticipated Rethinking Contemporary Art and Multicultural Education continues to provide an accessible and practical tool for teachers, while offering new art, essays, and content to account for transitions and changes in both the fields of art and education. A beautifully-illustrated collaboration of over one hundred artists, writers, curators, and educators from in and around the contemporary art world, this volume offers thoughtful and innovative materials that challenge the normative practices of arts education and traditional art history. Rethinking Contemporary Art and Multicultural Education builds upon the pedagogy of the original to present new possibilities and modes of understanding art, culture, and their relationships to students and ourselves. 　 The fully revised second edition provides new theoretical and practical resources for educators and students everywhere, including:　　　　 Educators' perspectives on contemporary art, multicultural education, and teaching in today's classroom Full-color reproductions and writings on over 50 contemporary artists and their works, plus an additional 150 black-and-white images throughout Lesson plans for using art to explore topical issues such as activism and democracy, conflict: local and global, and history and historicism　　　 A companion website offering over 250 color reproductions of artwork from the book, a glossary of terms, and links to the New Museum and G: Class websites---www.routledge.com/textbooks/9780415960854.
Handbook of Research and Policy in Art Education by 
The Beautiful Burial in Roman Egypt by 
