This guide is geared specifically toward the visual arts, including Architecture,Art & Art History, and Museum Studies. Use the tabs on the left hand side of the guide to discover research tips, books & ebooks, information and resources for specific courses, images, and more.
Use databases to search for images, articles, books, and more!
Covers periodicals in the fine and decorative arts along with non-Western art, new and contemporary art, crafts, costume, textiles, and such traditional areas as art research, art history, architecture, and archaeology. Includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and more. Coverage: indexing, 1929- ; abstracts, 1994- ; full text, 1997-present.
Indexes 55 years of contemporary art history. Covers publications in English, plus French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Includes periodicals as well as important yearbooks and select museum bulletins. Coverage: 1929-1984
Indexes the international literature on fine arts - painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture. Decorative and applied arts - crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art also included. Coverage: 1973-.
Provides full text for more than 2,800 business publications. Sources include academic journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers, industry and product reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, and more. Addresses all subject areas related to business. Coverage 1965-, or first published issue, some as far back as 1922.
This comprehensive index from the renowned Frick Art Reference Library of The Frick Collection provides a unique selection of art history periodicals. Journals covered in this index were published in a broad selection of languages that include English, French, Italian, German, Russian, Spanish, Dutch, and Scandinavian. Articles selected for indexing from these periodicals focus on art history and works of art. Originally produced on catalog cards, the index features access points important for research, including artists, artworks, private and public collections, exhibitions, and reproductions.
The bibliography provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 ; Visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields; Scholarship from at least 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues; Very international coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications (principally German, French, Italian and Spanish) .
The JSTOR database consists of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in all disciplines. Coverage: varies--going back to first year of publication and coming up to 3-5 years ago. See the Project Muse database for scholarly articles from within the past 3-5 years.
As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
Getty Research Institute Search Tools and DatabasesIncludes Library Catalog, GRI CatalogPLUS, Collection Inventories and Finding Aids, Abstracts of International Conservation Literature (AATA), Digital Collections, Article and Research Databases, Collecting and Provenance Research, Photo Study Collection, Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
ArtcyclopediaSearcher for locating artwork in museums worldwide. Search by artist, title, or museum. Browse by name, medium, subject, nationality, movements. See Image Use Guidelines for permissions.
AAT: Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online (Getty Research Institute)The AAT is a structured vocabulary of more than 125,000 terms, scope notes, and other information for describing fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture. The coverage of the AAT ranges from Antiquity to the present, and the scope is global.
Getty VocabulariesThe Getty vocabularies contain structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts and other material culture, archival materials, visual surrogates, and bibliographic materials. Accessible free of charge for limited online use.
Includes The Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)®, The Cultural Objects Name Authority (CONA) ™, The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN)®, The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)®