In order to find the statistics you want, you may have to think about who would collect them; governmental agencies, advocacy associations, and marketing agencies are among groups to consider. If you can find an article that mentions related statistics, check the author's source.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by
Everyone agrees that we're living in the Information Age. How have we shaped the Information Age, and how has it shaped us? The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research.
And That's the Way It Isn't by
Reprints, excerpts & summaries of 48 studies documenting the liberal political bias in reporting by major U.S. media outlets. Divided into ten chapters by subject area, with "Key findings" & an "Overview" for each study discussed. Illustrated with over 100 graphs & tables. Foreword by Jeane Kirkpatrick, former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations. "Settles once & for all the question of media bias in America," said former Reagan speechwriter Mona Charen. "Fresh intelligence on one of the most boring industries in America from some of the liveliest media critics in the Republic. Highly recommended," wrote R. Emmett Tyrrell Jr., Editor of The American Spectator. "And That's the Way It Isn't contains all the facts & figures, means & modes needed by journalism teachers to regain their confidence & roles as media critics vital for the cultural health of America," said H. Joachim Maitre, Dean of the Boston University College of Communication. ABC radio commentator Paul Harvey declared: "It's one heck of a book." Published by the Media Research Center, 113 S. West St., Alexandria, VA. 22314. Call (703) 683-9733 or 800-346-2427.
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
Journalism permeates our lives and shapes our thoughts in ways we've long taken for granted. Whether we listen to National Public Radio in the morning, view the lead story on the Today show, read the morning newspaper headlines, stay up-to-the-minute with Internet news, browse grocery store tabloids, receive Time magazine in our mailbox, or watch the nightly news on television, journalism pervades our daily activities. The six-volume Encyclopedia of Journalism covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics. The set contains more than 350 signed entries under the direction of leading journalism scholar Christopher H. Sterling of The George Washington University. In the A-to-Z volumes 1 through 4, both scholars and journalists contribute articles that span the field's wide spectrum of topics, from design, editing, advertising, and marketing to libel, censorship, First Amendment rights, and bias to digital manipulation, media hoaxes, political cartoonists, and secrecy and leaks. Also covered are recently emerging media such as podcasting, blogs, and chat rooms. The last two volumes contain a thorough listing of journalism awards and prizes, a lengthy section on journalism freedom around the world, an annotated bibliography, and key documents.
Journalism by
Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature is a critically annotated bibliographic guide to print and electronic sources in print and broadcast journalism. The first edition was published in 1990; the second in 1997. It has been described as one of the critical reference sources in journalism today, and it is a key bibliographic guide to the literature. Choice magazine called it a benchmark publication for which there are no comparable sources. The format is similar to the second edition. What makes this edition significantly different is the separation of Commercial Databases and Internet Resources. Commercial Databases includes standard fee-based resources. The new chapter on Internet sources features Web-based resources not included in the commercial databases chapter as well as portals, other online files, listservs, newsgroups, and Web logs/blogs. All chapters have been revised, and there are significant revisions in Directories, Yearbooks, and Collections; Miscellaneous Sources; Core Periodicals; Societies and Associations; and Research Centers and Archives. The second edition has 789 entries. The third edition contains almost 1,000 entries. James Carey of Columbia University, who provided the foreword for the first two editions, has updated his foreword for this edition.
The Associated Press Stylebook 2009 by
The style of the Associated Press is the gold standard of news writing. WithThe AP Stylebook in hand, you can learn to write with the clarity and professionalism for which the Associated Press is famous. Fully revised and updated, this new edition contains more than 3,000 A to Z entries--including more than 200 new ones--detailing the AP's rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation and word and numeral usage. New entries include anti-spyware, high-definition, iPhone, outsourcing, podcast, text messaging, social networking, snail mail, WMDand Wikipedia. You'll also find answers to such widespread questions as: * How should bankruptcy and mergers and acquisitions be covered? * When should the names of government bodies or businesses be spelled out and when should they be abbreviated? * What are the general definitions of the major religious movements? * Which companies do the big media conglomerates own? * Who are all the members of the British Commonwealth? * What constitutes "fair use"? * How should box scores for baseball games be filed, and how should sports terms like minicamp and wild card be used * What exactly does the Freedom of Information Act cover? With invaluable additional sections on the unique guidelines for business and sports reporting and on how you can guard against libel and copyright infringement,The AP Stylebook is the one reference that all writers, editors and students cannot afford to be without.
Broadcast Newswriting by
This book is filled with tips about words. No matter where you look you'll find examples of what to do and what to avoid. Nobody made up these examples. Nobody could. They come from actual scripts that were broadcast, prepared by news writing professionals.
Writing about Business by
Drawing upon the experience of some 40 journalists, all alumni of the Knight-Bagehot Fellowship in Economics and Business Journalism at Columbia University, this book is a complete guide to writing about business and economics.
The Copyeditor's Handbook by
The Copyeditor's Handbook is a lively, practical manual for newcomers to publishing and for experienced editors who want to fine-tune their skills or broaden their understanding of the craft. Addressed to copyeditors in book publishing and corporate communications, this thoughtful handbook explains what copyeditors do, what they look for when they edit a manuscript, and how they develop the editorial judgment needed to make sound decisions. This book may be used for self-instruction or as a textbook in copyediting classes. The fifteen practice exercises--ranging from sets of sentences to 900-word articles--are accompanied by answer keys and detailed line-by-line explanations. Readers will also welcome the glossary of copyediting jargon, glossary of grammar terms, and a checklist for analyzing the idiosyncrasies of a publisher's "house style." All editors will want to keep this handy reference right next to their copy of The Chicago Manual of Style, Words into Type, or the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Best practices for television journalists : a handbook for reporters, producers, videographers, news directors and other broadcast professionals on how to be fair to the public by
A handbook of best practices for television and broadcast journalists, encouraging practices that the public will see as being fair, thereby helping assure that television news gathering remains free.
Making the Newsmakers by
This study of journalism training analyzes training programs in 70 countries and lists 600 training institutions around the world. This first worldwide survey of communication training since 1958 was sponsored by UNESCO. In analyzing different programs, the study examines such areas as the type of institution in which training is given, the kinds of courses offered, entrance requirements, the number of students, qualifications of educators, diplomas or degrees awarded and the placement of graduates. It also explores different press concepts as they relate to training and identifies the specific needs arising from each system. In particular, it notes the massive changes that have taken place in Eastern and Central Europe and speculates what kind of system will emerge in that region. After analyzing the programs in the seven regions of the world, the study identifies the principal challenges facing communication training in both the developing world and the industrialized nations. It concludes that, while differences are likely to remain for a long time to come, there is at least the possibility that journalism and journalism training will become more homogeneous in the future. This volume, both a scholarly work and a directory, will become the standard reference on communication training.
Working with Numbers and Statistics by
Working With Numbers and Statistics: A Handbook for Journalists will bolster math skills and improve math confidence for journalists at all skill levels. Authors Charles Livingston and Paul Voakes developed this resource book to improve journalistic writing and reporting, enabling journalists to: *make accurate, reliable computations, which in turn enables one to make relevant comparisons, put facts into perspective, and lend important context to stories; *recognize inaccurate presentations, whether willfully spun or just carelessly relayed; *ask appropriate questions about numerical matters; *translate complicated numbers for viewers and readers in ways they can readily understand; *understand computer-assisted reporting; and *write livelier, more precise pieces through the use of numbers. The math is presented in a journalistic context throughout, enabling readers to see how the procedures will come into play in their work. Working With Numbers and Statistics is designed as a reference work for journalism students developing their writing and reporting skills. It will also serve professionals as a useful tool to improve their understanding and use of numbers in news stories.