Research Guides: Journalism: Articles & Websites

Articles & Websites

Preliminary Research

Looking for background information for your story? Start here:

CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Access to the CQ Researcher with reports covering current controversial topics from the news; and CQ Weekly with coverage of U.S. Congressional bills, votes, committees, etc.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Collection of pro/con opinions on current events and hot topics.

Article Databases

Communications, Journalism, and Media Studies Databases:

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with scholarly and popular content. Provides access to full-text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Some embargoes. Coverage: 1995- , typically, but varies by resource. Try typing your keyword into the SUBJECT GUIDE SEARCH box to see what related terms the database recommends.
Business Abstracts with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of marketing, mass media, and technology.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Search here to find research in mass media studies, writing, rhetoric, journalism, language, and linguistics.
Humanities Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Includes archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature resources.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals in addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, communications & mass media, community health & medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology, and urban studies. Coverage: citations & abstracts, 1983- ; full text, 1995-.

Journalism Websites

Journalism Websites:

American Journalism Review - News sources and journalism resources from around the world.

Journalist's Toolbox - Lists resources compiled by the Society of Professional Journalists.

MediaShift - The PBS guide to the digital media revolution.

NewsWise - Source of press releases from research organizations, particularly in science and medicine. Designed for practicing journalists, it provides information and contacts for studies and forthcoming publications.

Project for Excellence in Journalism - Research and statistics from the Pew Research Center.

RISJ Digital Report - 2012 Report on digital news consumption in the U.S. and Europe from the Reuters Institute.

State of the News Media 2013 - The annual report of the Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism.

Who Owns the News Media - An interactive database of companies own print, radio, local/network/cable TV, and magazines.

World Association of Newspapers - Tracks news and media trends and promotes freedom of press.

Journalism