Research Guides: Journalism: Newspapers

Newspapers

Databases

Newspaper Databases

Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window
OneFile News is a full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. A one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. With OneFile News, you can search more than 1,800 titles of national, international, state and local newspapers (including Commercial Appeal 1996-2012).
National Newspaper Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes America's top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, and The Washington Post. Includes all NYT articles, news reports, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, product evaluations, biographical pieces, poetry, recipes, columns, cartoons and illustrations, and reviews. (Excluded: weather charts, stock market tables, crossword puzzles, and horoscopes.) Also includes national and international news stories written by the staff writers of the Washington Post and the Los Angeles Times. Selective indexing of other types of articles. Coverage: 1977-.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Specific Newspapers

Access Specific Newspapers

Search the library's catalog to find out if a specific journal title (newspapers or journals) is available in print, on microform, or online. Several titles are available in multiple formats. Please ask for help if you can't determine whether or not we have what you need!

The New York Times

1857 - present on microfilm
1851-2009 online through Proquest
Current month in print
June 1, 1980 - present online through LexisNexis.

Commercial Appeal

1894 - 2004 on microfilm
Past 30 days available via the publisher's website to U of M students, click for password.

Memphis News-Scimitar

1905-1907 and 1926-1983 on microfilm.

Arkansas Democrat Gazette

1889-1991 on microfilm
current paper in print, library retains current 3 months only.

Atlanta Constitution

1869 -1875 and 1881-2001 on microfilm
1991-November 4, 2001 online through LexisNexis.

In Addition...

In addition to the article databases, you can also discover newspaper articles by searching the print newspaper indexes on the 2nd floor of McWherter. We have print indexes of the following newspapers:

The Chicago Tribune
The Christian Science Monitor
The Los Angeles Times
The New Orleans Times-Picayune
The New York Times
The St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Times (London)
The Wall Street Journal
The Washington Post

We also have indexes for The Commercial Appeal and The Press Scimitar, but they may require librarian assistance. The Commercial Appeal is indexed in A chronological index to Memphis newspapers, 1834 -1924.The Press Scimitar is indexed in card file from 1926-1983 in Special Collections.

Journalism

Find Historical Newspapers