Skip to main content
 

COVID-19 Informational Guide

The goal of this guide is to provide access to relevant and timely information about the 2019 Coronavirus (SARS-Cov-2) also known as (2019-nCov) and the infectious disease associated with the disease.

COVID-19

Purpose of the guide

This guide was created by the University Libraries, Health Sciences Library. Our goal is to provide access to relevant and timely information about the 2019 Coronavirus (SARS-Cov-2) also known as (2019-nCov) and the infectious disease associated with the virus (COVID-2019). This guide is a work in progress. More content will be added as information and resources become available.

Coronaviruses (CoV) are a large family of viruses that cause illness ranging from the common cold to more severe diseases such as Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS-CoV) and Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS-CoV). The current strain of coronavirus (COVID-19) is a new strain that has not been previously identified in humans (World Health Organization).

New or Expanded Access to Online Resources

Access to many electronic resources has been expanded due to vendors lifting license restrictions. University Libraries will share updated access information here. Please note, this expanded access is temporary and will not be a permanent addition to the University Libraries' collection. Please contact lib_erm@memphis.edu if you have any questions. 

  • Internet Archive has created the National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later, to meet students’ and readers’ needs while schools and libraries are closed at global scale.This library brings together millions of digitized library books to readers worldwide that are locked out of their libraries.

UofM Library Assistance: Spring 2020

The University Libraries are committed to serving all of our students. This was true before COVID-19 and remains true during the UofM’s transition to online instruction. As always, we are ready to help with your research needs, and we are continually brainstorming innovative ways of making library resources more accessible during this time. We appreciate your patience as we work toward solutions that serve the best interests of our entire campus community.  
 
This LibGuide provides recommendations for modified access to Library assistance and research materials for the duration of the Fall 2020 semester.  

Libraries Homepage

  • Discovery Search Bar – broad keyword searches
    • Includes all materials owned by the University Libraries
    • Includes electronic resources available to U of M community members
    • Includes some materials that may only be available via ILL
  • Search Journals – academic journal subscriptions
  • Search Databases – academic database subscriptions
  • Classic Catalog – materials owned by University Libraries
 

Contact the Library

  • By phone:
    • Reference Desk: (901) 678-2208- For questions related to keyword searches, journals, databases, and all other research-related inquiries. If the phone is not answered and you'd like to leave a message, please do so, and we your call will be returned as soon as possible.
    • Circulation: (901) 678-2205 - For questions regarding due dates, library fines, and requests for resources to be pulled from University Library holdings.
    • ILL: (901) 678-2262- For questions pertaining to loan requests.
    • Government Publications: (901) 678-4455
    • Health Sciences Library: 901) 678-3193
    • Music Library: (901) 678-2330
    • Lambuth Library: (731) 425-1918
  • By email:

Library Chat Login

To access Library Chat, please sign in via the Chat Box above the Discovery Search Bar on the University Libraries’ homepage, OR, scroll to the top of this page. If the text in the Chat Box is green, a University librarian will be available to answer your questions. 

Interlibrary Loan

  • Due to COVID-19, ASERL has decided to stop shipment of physical Interlibrary loan (ILL) transactions via the Lanter courier. Accordingly, University Libraries will also deflect all requests for physical loans. University of Memphis patrons should still request all desired materials via ILL and the office will work to fulfill them digitally. As the name implies, ILL depends on other libraries in the fulfillment of requests. Due to library closures worldwide, we anticipate delays in providing resources to our community. We appreciate your patience.
  • If you are a U of M student or faculty member in need of resources, please use the UofM’s Interlibrary Loan service to make a request for these items.
  • To learn more about how to use University ILL services, consult the ILL's website.

Health Sciences Librarian and Associate Professor

Irma Singarella's picture
Irma Singarella
Contact:
Health Sciences Library
Community Health Building, Room 2002
4055 North Park Loop
Memphis TN 38152
901-678-3829