Research Guides: Communication Sciences and Disorders Information Resources: Find Articles

Find Articles

Recommended Databases

Have a topic that you want to research? You can use the Databases link and search databases specific to your profession. Below are some recommended databases that will help you locate the information you need. Click on the Databases link in the Search UM Libraries box and type in the name of the database. You may also choose to browse the Databases by academic area or category. Within each database you will see a link to the full text or a link to Search for Full Text in Other Databases or a link to order it through InterLibrary Loan if we do not own a copy of the article.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete covers nursing, allied health, biomedical and consumer health journals, publications of the American Nursing Association, and the National League for Nursing. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. Full text is included for nursing journals, newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.
To learn how to use CINAHL Complete, watch our video series.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides MEDLINE access, along with OLDMEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE (citations in-process), and citations outside the scope of MEDLINE provided by journal publishers. Interconnects with other NCBI databases and resources. Articles from many medical journals are free after a 6-12 month embargo. Linkouts to fulltext provided at publishers' discretion. Coverage: OLDMEDLINE, 1950- 1965; MEDLINE, 1966-.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus provides abstracts and citation tracking of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. It features tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Researchers who use Web of Science will find Scopus indexes the same fields but with broader coverage. Users needing the Scopus ID" (for example, to use the "Papers by mekentosj" citation software), please use C000040240."

Database Help

PubMed Tutorial
Want to learn more about PubMed?
CINAHL help
Want to learn more about CINAHL?

Additional Databases

Since the nursing field is interdisciplinary, I am suggesting additional databases that you may find helpful.

ERIC (1966-present)
Indexes thousands of topics in the field of education. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines. (The UofM subscribes to all of the ERIC documents.)

Health & Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Addresses topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes such reference sources as encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Health Reference Center Academic (1980 - present) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nurtrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, ect. The material contained in this database is intended for health consumers rather than health professionals.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and full-text files of dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations to and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in psychology, plus psychological aspects in related disciplines (medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law). Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages.

Advanced Search Strategies: PsychInfo from University Libraries on Vimeo.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of online books in nursing, including a guide to lab tests, a drug handbook, and various major texts for psychiatric, medical-surgical, maternal-newborn nursing, plus nursing diagnoses. Also includes an online version of Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc3000.