Research Guides: Communication Sciences and Disorders Information Resources: Home

Welcome!

This guide is geared specifically towards programs in the School of Communication Sciences and Disorders. This page covers basic databases and resources that cover a variety of business & economics topics, as well as links to other valuable guides. Use the tabs on the left hand side of the guide to discover research tips, books & ebooks, videos, and information and resources.

Search the Online Catalog

University Libraries

About University Libraries
The University Libraries is a leader in managing and providing access to information services and resources that support teaching, learning, and research for the University of Memphis community.

Health Sciences Library

Picture by John Swearengen (2017)

Facilities
The Baptist Memorial Health Care Library (also known as Health Sciences Library ) is housed on the second floor of the Community Health Building, which is located at 4055 North Park Loop, on the University of Memphis Park Avenue Campus.

The collection includes books, journals, and media focusing on nursing, audiology, and speech-language pathology. Related areas of interest in the collection include special education, linguistics, laryngology, otology, neurology, psychology, and sociology. The collection contains approximately 7,000 volumes of books and 395 journal titles.

Journals and reference materials may only be used in the library. Reserve materials may only be used by University of Memphis faculty, staff, and students. This is our website: http://www.memphis.edu/libraries/hslibrary/.

Cognitive Communication Disorders by Michael L. Kimbarow
ISBN: 9781635501568
Publication Date: 2019-08-31
The third edition of Cognitive Communication Disorders remains a vital resource for graduate courses that address cognitively based communication disorders. Students, instructors, and clinicians will benefit from the text's comprehensive discussion of cognitive processes and deficits, including attention, memory, executive functions, right hemisphere brain damage, dementia, combat-related mild traumatic brain injury and traumatic brain injury and the impact that deficits in these cognitive domains may have on language and communication. New to the Third Edition, A new chapter covering Primary Progressive Aphasia, An expanded chapter on mild cognitive impairment (MCI) addressing concussion related communication disorders, Updated and expanded information on assessment of disordered cognitive processes, Case studies to illustrate principles of clinical management of cognitive communication disorders. Access to a PluralPlus companion website with PowerPoint lecture slides for each chapter, Through contributions from a renowned group of contributors, this text provides a comprehensive review of theoretical and applied research on cognitive communication disorders. The contributors include Margaret Lehman Blake, Carole R. Roth, Fofi Constantinidou, Heather Dial, Maya Henry Jessica Brown, Kathryn Hardin, Nidhi Mahendra, Mary H. Purdy, Sarah E. Wallace, and Sarah N. Villard. Book jacket.

Books

The Health Sciences Library's collection includes approximately 7,000 volumes of books. This is a very small sample. For more titles, please search the catalog:

http://sierra.memphis.edu/

Communication Alternatives in Autism by Edlyn Vallejo Peña (Editor)
ISBN: 9781476678917
Publication Date: 2019-09-06
Ten autistic self-advocates share their experiences with alternative forms of communication such as rapid prompting method (RPM) and facilitated communication (FC), both highly controversial. Their narratives document the complexities that autistic individuals navigate--in both educational and community settings--when choosing to use approaches that utilize letter boards and keyboards. While the controversies remain--RPM requires further scientific study, and FC is subject to criticism about confirmation bias--these individuals share powerful stories in the context of aiming for disability rights. The book concludes with a chapter about best practices for educators, particularly for schools and colleges that have students who use these communication methods.
Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders by Paul Fogle
ISBN: 9781284121810
Publication Date: 2019-11-06
Fully revised and updated, Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Second Edition is an accessible and engaging introductory resource for students new to communication sciences and disorders. This text covers foundational information about speech disorders in both children and adults, while numerous case scenarios and personal stories paint a vivid picture of speech-language pathology. A robust, full color art program illustrates key concepts with detailed anatomical images, photos, and helpful charts and tables. Additionally, this text addresses multicultural issues as well as the emotional and social effects of each disorder on the individual and family, providing students with a comprehensive overview of the profession. KEY SECOND EDITION UPDATES* NEW Videos depicting a variety of disorders in a real clinical setting, including assessment and therapy* Numerous 2015-2017 references to national and international journals, with an emphasis on evidence-based practice* Expanded chapter on Motor Speech Disorders in Children (Childhood Apraxia of Speech and Childhood Dysarthria)* NEW chapter on Attention Deficit / Hyperactivity Disorders and Auditory Processing Disorders* NEW chapter on Autism Spectrum Disorders and Developmental Disabilities* NEW chapter on Traumatic Brain Injury in Children* NEW chapter on Cognitive-Linguistic Disorders in Adults* Expanded chapter on Swallowing Disorders / Dysphagia* NEW chapter on Essentials of Counseling for Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsDYNAMIC TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONIncludes Navigate 2 Advantage Access with:- Comprehensive and Interactive eBook- Videos depicting each disorder- Student practice activities- Robust Instructor Resources:o Test Bank with Chapter Quizzes, Midterm and Final Examso Lecture Outlineso Slides in PowerPoint Formato Gradebook and Reporting Analytic
Handbook of Communication Disorders by Amalia Bar-On (Editor); Dorit Ravid (Editor); Elitzur Dattner (Editor)
ISBN: 9781614516859
Publication Date: 2018-05-07
The domain of Communication Disorders has grown exponentially in the last two decades and has come to encompass much more than audiology, speech impediments and early language impairment. The realization that most developmental and learning disorders are language-based or language-related has brought insights from theoretical and empirical linguistics and its clinical applications to the forefront of Communication Disorders science. The current handbook takes an integrated psycholinguistic, neurolinguistic, and sociolinguistic perspective on Communication Disorders by targeting the interface between language and cognition as the context for understanding disrupted abilities and behaviors and providing solutions for treatment and therapy. Researchers and practitioners will be able to find in this handbook state-of-the-art information on typical and atypical development of language and communication (dis)abilities across the human lifespan from infancy to the aging brain, covering all major clinical disorders and conditions in various social and communicative contexts, such as spoken and written language and discourse, literacy issues, bilingualism, and socio-economic status.
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children by M. N. Hegde; Frances Pomaville
ISBN: 9781635502664
Publication Date: 2021-07-01
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children: Resources and Protocols, Fourth Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of the full range of communication disorders in children, including nonverbal or minimally verbal children. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional texts with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource.This bestselling and trusted text: Includes an extensive discussion of issues in using standardized tests along with detailed information on psychometric principles and offers a detailed discussion of alternative assessment approaches that minimize the problems inherent to standardized testsDescribes a new, comprehensive, and integrated assessment approach that derives its strengths from the traditional as well as several alternative approachesAddresses the multicultural issues in assessing communication disorders in children and integrates culturally responsive assessment procedures into the assessment protocols Contains two chapters for each disorder: one on resources that offers scholarly and research background and one on resources that describe practical procedures and protocols that save the clinician's preparation time Includes access to a PluralPlus companion website which allows clinicians to view, modify, and print the assessment protocols for their personal useNew to the Fourth Edition: Lecture slides for instructors on the PluralPlus companion websiteA new section on the assessment of voice in transgender and gender diverse adolescentsA new section on selective mutism in bilingual children, included in alternative and integrated assessment of ethnoculturally diverse childrenAll normative tables placed in relevant chapter appendices for quick access The content has been updated throughout to reflect the current state of researchUpdated diagnostic features of all childhood communication disordersAll protocols streamlined and edited for precision (in book and on website)Updated resources for commonly used assessment instruments and standardized tests, now available on the companion websiteAll defined and key terms are now bolded Simplified writing style and reduced redundancy for increased readability and comprehension
Clinical Research in Communication Disorders by M. N. Hegde; Anthony P. Salvatore
ISBN: 9781635501872
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
Telerehabilitation in Communication Disorders and Mental Health by Sanjeev Kumar Gupta (Editor)
ISBN: 9789353882778
Publication Date: 2020-09-21
The increasing influence of digital media on all aspects of life, especially the use of Internet and smartphone, has not left even the field of healthcare practice untouched. Telerehabilitation, implying the use of telecommunications in rehabilitation activities, is being used widely in the treatment of communication and mental health disorders. The use of telerehabilitation services makes rehabilitation more feasible, fast, time-saving and cost-effective for people who face constraints in physically presenting themselves to healthcare providers due to extent of retardation, illness or commuting issues. It is thus a boon for the people who stay in remote areas and have no access to healthcare professionals in close vicinity. Therefore, research is underway on the optimal means to deliver telerehabilitation services both locally and globally and is now seen as a critical activity in healthcare.
Research in Communication Sciences and DIsorders by Lauren K. Nelson; Jaimie L. Gilbert
ISBN: 9781635502053
Publication Date: 2020-11-01
"Research in Communication Sciences and Disorders: Methods for Systematic Inquiry, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive yet comprehendible text meant for instructors and students of research methods in the field of communication sciences and disorders. This forward-thinking book reflects the movement toward evidence-based practice in speech-language pathology and audiology"--

Suggested databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete covers nursing, allied health, biomedical and consumer health journals, publications of the American Nursing Association, and the National League for Nursing. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. Full text is included for nursing journals, newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.
To learn how to use CINAHL Complete, watch our video series.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes an international range of English-language periodicals and books in the field of education, including several not included in ERIC. Coverage: Indexing 1929- ; with abstracts, 1994- ; select fulltext, 1996-.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Open access version of ERIC, indexing journal and non-journal literature in the field of education; includes books, journal articles, ERIC Digests, policy papers, conference papers, technical reports. Coverage: 1966- .
SciVerse This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of the Elsevier publications in Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science, Earth Science, Energy, Engineering, Immunology & Microbiology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine & Dentistry, Neuroscience, Nursing, Pharmacology, Physics & Astronomy, and Veterinary Science. Also available: Arts & Humanities, Business, Economics, and Social Science. Coverage: varies--citations back to first year of publication; full text, subscribed titles, 1999-.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Coverage: 1973 - current
Web of Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Search platform for Current Contents Connect®; Web of Science (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index. and the Conference Citation Indexes), which can all be searched simultaneously. Journal Citation Reports® on the Web (Science Edition and Social Sciences Edition and ISI Essential Science Indicators also available with separate search.

Health Sciences Librarian and Associate Professor

Irma Singarella

Email Me

Contact:

Health Sciences Library
Community Health Building, Room 2002
4055 North Park Loop
Memphis TN 38152

901-678-3829

Subjects: Communication Sciences and Disorders, Nursing & Health Studies, Public Health

Mission of the School

The School of Communication Sciences and Disorders strives to make fundamental contributions to the sciences of communication and its disorders and provides students with a foundation that promotes critical thinking and problem solving. At the master's and professional doctorate levels, emphasis rests on providing students a theoretical and scientific foundation with applied aspects of communication disorders that together prepare graduates for clinical service, leadership careers within the professions, and further graduate study. At the PhD level, the program emphasizes research and prepares students for post-doctoral study and/or academic positions within the discipline. The School is a resource to professionals and, in conjunction with the Memphis Speech and Hearing Center, provides high quality clinical services to the community. http://www.memphis.edu/csd/about/mission.php

Resources from the National Library of Medicine

Resources from the National Library of Medicine:

https://www.nlm.nih.gov/

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Offers reliable and up-to-date information for patients and their families and friends for free. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, it provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.

Locator Plus
LocatorPlus® is the National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) online catalog.
more...less...
LocatorPlus is continuously updated and includes:
over 1.4 million catalog records for books, audiovisuals, journals, computer files, and other materials in the Library's collections
holdings information for journals and other materials links from catalog records to Internet resources, including online journals
circulation status information for materials, including those on-order or in-process at the Library.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides MEDLINE access, along with OLDMEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE (citations in-process), and citations outside the scope of MEDLINE provided by journal publishers. Interconnects with other NCBI databases and resources. Articles from many medical journals are free after a 6-12 month embargo. Linkouts to fulltext provided at publishers' discretion. Coverage: OLDMEDLINE, 1950- 1965; MEDLINE, 1966-.

Journals

A sample of the University Libraries' Journal Titles

Acoustics Today

Acta Oto-laryngologica

Acta Otolaryngologica Supplemement

Acustica

AMA Archives of Otolaryngology

American Annals of the Deaf

American Journal of Audiology

American Journal of Otolaryngology

American Journal of Otology

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology

Annals of Otology, Rhinology & Laringology

Aphasiology

Applied Psycholinguistics

Archives of Otolaryngology

Archives of Otolaryngology-Head &Neck Surgery

ASHA

ASHA: A Journal of the American Speech,Language, Hearing Association

Audiological Medicine

Audiologische Akustik Audiological Acoustics

Audiology: Official Organ of the International Society of London

Augmentative and Alternative Communication: AAC

Australian and New Zealand Journal of Audiology: Journal of the Audiological Society of Australia and New Zeland Audiological Society

Australian Journal of Audiology

Brain and Cognition

Brain and Language

British Journal of Audiology

British Journal of Disorders of Communication

Child Language Teaching and Therapy

Clinics in Communication Disorders

Communication Disorders quarterly

Contemporary Issues in Communication Science and Disorders

European Journal of Disorders of Communication the Journal of the College of Speech and Language Therapists, London

International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders

The Japanese Journal of Communication Disorders

Journal of Childhood Communication Disorders

Journal of Communication Disorders

Journal of Multilingual Communication Disorders

Journal of Rehabilitation Research and Development

The Journal of Speech and Language Pathology and Applied Behavior Analysis

Language and Speech

Perspectives on Administration and Supervision

Perspectives on Augmentative and Alternative Communication

Perspectives on Aural Rehabilitation and Its Instrumentation

Perspectives on Communication Disorders and Sciences in Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Populations

Perspectives on Fluency and Fluency Disorders

Perspectives on Gerontology

Perspectives on Global Issues in Communication Sciences and Related Disorders

Perspectives on Hearing and Hearing Disorders in Childhood

Perspectives on Hearing and Hearing Disorders: Research And Diagnostics

Perspectives on Issues in Higher Education

Perspectives on Neurophysiology and Neurogenic Speech and Language Disorders

Perspective on Speech Science and Orofacial disorders

Perspectives on Swallowing and Swallowing Disorders (Dysphagia)

Perspectives on School- Based Issues

Perspective on Telepractice

Perspectives on Voice and Voice Disorders

The South African Journal of Communication Disorders

Library Staff

Rose Moore, Library Assistant III
rmmoore@memphis.edu
(901) 678-3193

John Swearengen, Library Assistant III
jmswrngn@memphis.edu
(901) 678-3193