Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NURS 8211: Qualitative Methodology

This guide provides access to diverse resources about qualitative research methodologies.

Welcome!

Welcome to the library research guide for NURS 8211: Qualitative Methodology. This guide will direct you to some of the library research resources we have in our collection, suggest databases that will help you locate journals and articles, and point to some websites, videos, and tutorials you may find useful. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

NURS 8211 Qualitative Methodology: Course Description

Course Description

This course focuses on the study of qualitative research methods and qualitative inquiry used in nursing and the health sciences. Emphasis is placed on grounded theory, phenomenology, ethnography, historical, narrative inquiry, action research, and case study. Provides students with the opportunity to understand the epistemological foundations and philosophical underpinnings of qualitative research methods and study designs. Qualitative approaches to data collection methods, analysis strategies and reporting data will be examined and applied.

Prerequisites
NURS 8211, NURS 8112, NURS 8113, NURS 8213, NURS 8313

This is a web-based course which includes but is not limited to regularly scheduled modules on a variety of topics related to qualitative research methods in nursing. Assignments are posted by course week(s). Selecting teaching strategies include required readings, films, database searches, and written discussions. 

Course Outcomes


At the end of this course the student will be able to:

  1. Explore the guiding principles of qualitative research.
  2. Examine qualitative research designs in nursing.
  3. Articulate the benefits and limitations of qualitative research designs.
  4. Evaluate rigor in qualitative studies and sampling designs.
  5. Analyze major types of data collection and analyses strategies in qualitative research.
  6. Apply the process to develop a qualitative research proposal.

 

Faculty

Contact Your Instructors


Marie E. Gill, PhD, MS, RN

       Office location: Community Health Building 3566

       Office Phone: 901.678.3106

       E-mail: mgill@memphis.edu

       Office hours: Flexible [Send an email request or Canvas calendar for appointment]

Victoriya Pleshkan, PhD, APRN, FNP-C

       Office location: Community Health Building 3548

       Office Phone: 901.678.3090

       E-mail: vyplshkn@memphis.edu

       Office hours: Flexible [Send an email request or Canvas calendar for appointment]

University Libraries

University Libraries' Services