Research Guides: History of Women in America: Find Articles

Periodicals

The periodicals below are primarily available through the U of M Libraries' print and electronic collections. Some are available freely on the open web. Click on the titles to access online issues and to locate issues available in print or microform on the 2nd floor of the McWherter Library.

Academic Journals

Popular Magazines

Off our backs

Core Feminist Scholarly Journals

Feminist Review
The major women's studies journal in Britain including articles on contemporary feminist analysis, changing political issues and book reviews.
Feminist Studies
Articles that focus on women's experience and on gender as a category of analysis of a critical, scholarly, speculative and political nature, poetry and art, reports from the women's movement and strategies for change.
Feminist Theory
Sex Roles
Original research articles, theoretical manuscripts and critical reviews concerned with the underlying processes and consequences of gender role socialization, perceptions, and attitudes.
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
An interdisciplinary journal of women and society that addresses diversity issues involving race, class, sexual preference.
WSQ: Women's Studies Quarterly
Four volumes in two issues per year; peer reviewed coverage of interdisciplinary articles on all aspects of international women's studies.

Find Scholarly Articles

Article spotlight

Thompson, Mary Ann and Sara Bolten. "“They Buckled on the Armor of God”: Kentucky Catholic Sister “Nurses” in the 1918 Flu Pandemic." American Catholic Studies, vol. 129 no. 4, 2018, p. 91-105. Project MUSE

Search tips: Search databases by keywords to find articles on topics of interest. For best results, keep your keyword string simple to start. For example: Women in workplace

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of more than 200 scholarly journals in many disciplines, including: African studies, anthropology, education, history, music, literature, philosophy, psychology, sociology, and more. Coverage: varies, typically the past 3-5 years.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR database consists of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in all disciplines. Coverage: varies--going back to first year of publication and coming up to 3-5 years ago. See the Project Muse database for scholarly articles from within the past 3-5 years.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Type the title or author into the search field and select SU Subject from the drop-down menu. Under the heading Limit Your Results, select Book Review in the Document Type box. Click Search to see citations and full text to reviews.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with scholarly and popular content. Provides access to full-text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Some embargoes. Coverage: 1995- , typically, but varies by resource. Try typing your keyword into the SUBJECT GUIDE SEARCH box to see what related terms the database recommends.
Web of Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Search for research across the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Natural/Physical Sciences at the same time. When you find an article that you want, click the green-and-white "article linker" icon to find the fulltext in other databases or in the libraries' print collection.
Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals (and provides some full text) of scholarly journals covering many aspects of Communication & Mass Media Studies
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and books at the same time in all disciplines. Look for a green box next to results to determine if the material is available in full text. If not, request what you find through Interlibrary Loan.

Find more databases

U of M Libraries provides access to many databases. Databases index and often provide full text access to scholarly, popular, and primary source materials.

Most databases allow you to create an individual account to keep track of the materials you find in them, to save your searches, and to help you format citations.

If you need help finding, accessing, or searching a database, Ask a Librarian.

Find newspaper and magazine articles

Search by keyword to find newspaper & magazine articles in publications worldwide. These databases are brought to you by the U of M Libraries.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with scholarly and popular content. Provides access to full-text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Some embargoes. Coverage: 1995- , typically, but varies by resource. Try typing your keyword into the SUBJECT GUIDE SEARCH box to see what related terms the database recommends.

Commercial Appeal
more...less...
Full text access to the last ten years of the Commercial Appeal newspaper.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

History of Women in America