Research Guides: Business & Economics: Economics

Economics

Databases

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers a large number of economics academic journals, along with industry reports, country economic profiles, and a large collection of business news sources.
Business Economics & Theory Collection This link opens in a new window
With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find hundreds of full-text journals to support their research.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Full text of economic research in-process from the National Bureau of Economic Research. Search or browse by date or JEL classification. Coverage: 1998-.

Statistical Databases

ICPSR Data Holdings This link opens in a new window
Data supporting research in the social sciences, including economics and finance, population studies, sociology, health care, education, politics and governmental studies. Includes data sets provided by governmental and non-governmental agencies, as well as data sets from privately and publicly funded research, opinion polls and other studies.
FAQs and Help.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
From the classroom to the boardroom, thousands of organizations trust PolicyMap to find the right data for their research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Easily access statistics and produce graphs for millions of statistics in business, entertainment, health, social sciences, and government.

Economics Journals

Government Economic Statistics

The United States government is an incredible source of economic data. Unfortunately, economic statistics are not all in one place but are collected by a variety of agencies. This section covers some of the major sources.

Department of Commerce Resources

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Primary access point for Census Bureau data. Data tracked includes population demographics, workforce demographics, business owner demographics, manufacturing, housing, construction, service sales, and more. Help materials: FAQs, how-to guides, and video tutorials.
Data previously released on American FactFinder are now being released on the U.S. Census Bureau's new dissemination platform, data.census.gov. How-to information is provided here: https://www.census.gov/data/what-is-data-census-gov.html and more about the transition to data.census.gov at https://www.census.gov/data/academy/webinars/2019/transition-data-census.html

A United States Census Bureau resource

Open Access
Bureau of Economic Analysis This link opens in a new window
Data tracked by the BEA includes GDP, consumer spending, personal incomes and savings, corporate profits, industry-level outputs, international trade, prices & inflation, fixed asset investment, and more. BEA help page.

Department of Labor Resources

Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new window
Data tracked by the BLS includes employment & unemployment, pay & benefits, inflation & prices, labor productivity, and consumer spending & time use. BLS help page.

Federal Reserve Resources

FRED Economic Data This link opens in a new window
Downloadable data for 3000+ current U.S. economic time series, including banking, the CPI, employment and population figures, exchange rates, the GDP, interest rates, the PPI, and U.S. trade. FRED help page.
Alfred This link opens in a new window
Archival FRED. Historic runs of U.S. economic series. Includes banking, the CPI, employment and population figures, exchange rates, the GDP, interest rates, the PPI, and U.S. trade. ALFRED help page.
FRASER This link opens in a new window
Use the current and archival files of FRED and ALFRED in conjunction to create uninterrupted data series. Includes sources previously available only in printed form and those currently available electronically. Coverage: varies by series. Help pages: FAQs, Ask a Librarian.

Other Resources

For a more thorough list of government economic statistics, see the Government Publications: Statistics guide.

Government Publications: Statistics
by Perveen Rustomfram Last Updated Jan 8, 2024 287 views this year

Fuel Economy Guide