As one of the 21 Federal Depository Libraries for the state of Tennessee, Government Publications receives and provides research help for all the publications, maps, and electronic data distributed by the Government Publishing Office. Government Publications is also a depository for Tennessee state documents.
Government publications are available to the faculty, staff, and students of the University of Memphis, as well as the general public during the hours that the Ned R. McWherter Library is open. Reference assistance is available at the Research and Information Services Desk on the first floor. Our Ask a Librarian service provides reference assistance via email, chat, and text. Individual consultations and classroom instruction may also be requested.
All formats of government publications circulate in accordance with the Check-Out Guidelines for the general collection. Some exceptions include reference materials, periodicals, and rare or fragile documents.
To search for online government publications, search here.
The Special Collections Department provides resources in a variety of formats that are distinctive and have intrinsic value to the University of Memphis; examples of such materials include rare books, genealogy materials, archives, local history, and books from local authors.
University of Memphis Special Collections Department also boasts an extensive collection of primary sources related to Memphis, TN including
Location: 126 Ned R. McWherter Library, Room 403, Memphis, TN. 38152
Special Collections is located on the 4th floor of McWherter Library. Access this map for the precise location.
Gerald Chaudron, Department Head, Preservation Librarian, Associate Professor
Office: McWherter Library: RM 404B
Interlibrary Loan is a system that allows libraries to borrow materials from one another on a global scale. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service is available through the ILLiad System of the University Libraries. Currently enrolled University of Memphis students, TN eCampus students, faculty, and staff, may obtain academic research materials needed for use in completing University-related research or academic study which are not available in the collections of the University Libraries. Research related to outside employment, commercial or personal pursuits is not supported nor is it available to alumni. The ILL service is for faculty, staff and enrolled students, only; it does not extend to one’s spouse or children.
Begin using ILL by creating your account at ILLiad Logon. ILLiad is the name of the ILL management software used at the UofM. Enter your University of Memphis Username and Password. You may submit requests for materials using the Request Forms on your account. You may also submit requests through many of the University of Memphis databases.
When your request is available, we will notify you through your University of Memphis e-mail account. Most article requests are filled electronically, and the notification e-mail will give you the directions for downloading the file. Loans may be picked up at the Check-Out Desk on the first floor of McWherter Library with your UofM ID.
Faculty may choose to have their ILL Loans and circulating McWherter Library materials delivered to the administrative offices of their departments. We do not currently provide delivery of articles from our print/microform collection.
Daily, Monday-Friday, items will be checked out to your library/ILL Account and delivered to your department’s administrative office. You are responsible for renewing or returning the delivered materials by their due dates to McWherter. Submit all requests through your ILL Account; you do not need to specify if the material is available at McWherter Library.
To arrange for delivery:
Location: McWherter Library, Room 212
the sandbox. is a learner-centered, collaborative community space located on the 1st floor of the McWherter Library. It is creatorspace for all UofM students, faculty, and staff, that gives users tools and resources to explore at any stage of their academic career, and allows communities to meet and explore hi- and low-tech projects.
Lisa Sikkink (email@example.com),
Casey Parkman (firstname.lastname@example.org)
Location:McWherter Library, Room 103
The University Libraries Instructional Services team is committed to promoting information literacy: the ability to locate, evaluate, and use information to fulfill research and information needs. We welcome opportunities to collaborate with faculty, instructors, academic departments, and other areas of the campus community in such initiatives.
The ML 225 and 226 classrooms are used primarily for library instruction. If you wish to reserve ML 225 or 226 for non-library-instruction purposes, please see our Room Use Policies and follow the contact information indicated there.
If you have further questions or need additional information re: Library Instruction or ML 225/226, please contact Barbara Thomas at email@example.com.
Before you schedule:
Only online consultations are currently available due to COVID-19.
Need a handout or worksheet about your favorite citation style, PICOT, developing a topic, or other key skills? We can do that!
Location: McWherter Library, 1st floor
The Health Sciences Library (also known as Baptist Memorial Health Care Library) is housed on the second floor of the Community Health Building, which is located at 4055 North Park Loop, on the University of Memphis Park Avenue Campus.
The collection includes books, journals, and media focusing on nursing, audiology, and speech-language pathology. Related areas of interest in the collection include special education, linguistics, laryngology, otology, neurology, psychology, and sociology. The collection contains approximately 7,000 volumes of books and 241 journal titles.The collection includes books, journals, and media focusing on nursing, audiology, and speech-language pathology. Related areas of interest in the collection include special education, linguistics, laryngology, otology, neurology, psychology, and sociology. The collection contains approximately 7,000 volumes of books and 241 journal titles.
The Music Library is located in the Rudi E. Scheidt School of Music Building on the first floor in room 115. The Music Library provides listening and viewing stations equipped for playing CDs, LPs, cassettes, VHS tapes, and DVDs. No copying is permitted with any of the equipment; most recordings are available to check out, with varying circulation guidelines for different classes of borrowers.
The Lambuth Library is located in Jackson, TN, on the University of Memphis Lambuth Campus and is a branch of the University of Memphis Libraries; all policies are in accordance with University of Memphis Libraries Policies.
The main level includes the general circulating collection (A-E), Leisure Reading collection, Lambuth History collection, Reference collection, Media collection Course reserves, STEM kits, and other electronic equipment are also located on the main level and are available from the circulation desk. A separate "Space Room" offers an area for patrons of all ages to view books that compliment the UofM Lambuth MD Anderson Planetarium program.
The second level includes the general circulating collection (F-Z), the Juvenile collection, Young Adult collection, four study rooms, and quiet zones for individual study.
UofM faculty, students, and staff have access to other items in the University Libraries collection either electronically or through InterLibrary Loan. InterLibrary Loan is a service that delivers print items directly to the Lambuth Campus from other campus locations. Reference services are provided by the campus librarian and library staff who are available to answer library-related questions and to instruct patrons in using the catalog and other electronic resources.
Address:705 Lambuth Blvd., Jackson, TN 38301
Lisa Reilly, Lambuth Campus Librarian