Research Guides: Herff College of Engineering: Home

Welcome!

This guide is created specifically for the Herff College of Engineering. Use the tabs on the left to browse resources, tools, and research tips selected by UofM Librarians for the study of engineering and related subjects.

University of Memphis Engineering Department

The Herff College of Engineering has an impact in a myriad of ways including healthcare improvements, clean drinking water, medical devices, electricity generation/ smart grid technologies, earthquake-safe structures, transportation and logistics, additive manufacturing, and even tissue regeneration. In addition to improving lives around the globe, the college also impacts the individual lives of the students by preparing them for successful and rewarding careers.

Through exploring the website students will learn about the nearly 20 degree programs and the many exciting activities and services that enrich or smooth the path to an engineering degree.

Search the Online Catalog

General Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
American Society of Civil Engineers Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). Coverage 1995-.
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers periodicals in aeronautics, applied mathematics, AI, atmospheric science, chemical engineering, chemistry, construction, engineering, energy, fire prevention, food industry, geology, information technology, marine technology, metallurgy, mineralogy, neural networks, oceanography, optical & neural computing, petroleum & gas, physics, plastics, robotics, space science, textiles, transportation, and waste management. Coverage: indexing, 1913-; abstracts, 1993-; select full text, 1997-.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This is the electronic version of the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, including all volumes in each of the 15 sections of the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, as well as the Index. It contains 13,000+ standards addressing areas such as metals, petroleum, construction, rubber, the environment and more.
Chemical & Engineering News This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Explore indexes and abstracts IEEE publications, transactions, magazines, letters, proceedings, and standards. Subjects covered include electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. The UofM has fulltext rights to articles in the ASPP periodicals from recent years. Coverage: citations, 1952- ; fulltext (limited to IEEE periodicals only), 1999- .
Referex Civil and Environmental Engineering This link opens in a new window
Titles formerly found in Referex are now available in ScienceDirect
Referex Mechanical Engineering and Materials This link opens in a new window
Titles formerly found in Referex are now available in ScienceDirect
SciVerse This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of the Elsevier publications in Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science, Earth Science, Energy, Engineering, Immunology & Microbiology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine & Dentistry, Neuroscience, Nursing, Pharmacology, Physics & Astronomy, and Veterinary Science. Also available: Arts & Humanities, Business, Economics, and Social Science. Coverage: varies--citations back to first year of publication; full text, subscribed titles, 1999-.