Communication Sciences and Disorders information resources: Home

This research guide includes some of the resources available for the School of Communication Sciences and Disorders.

University Libraries

Health Sciences Library

Picture by John Swearengen (2017)

Facilities
The Health Sciences Library (also known as Baptist Memorial Health Care Library) is housed on the second floor of the Community Health Building, which is located at 4055 North Park Loop, on the University of Memphis Park Avenue Campus.

The collection includes books, journals, and media focusing on nursing, audiology, and speech-language pathology. Related areas of interest in the collection include special education, linguistics, laryngology, otology, neurology, psychology, and sociology. The collection contains approximately 7,000 volumes of books and 241 journal titles.

Journals and reference materials may only be used in the library. Reserve materials may only be used by University of Memphis faculty, staff, and students.

http://www.memphis.edu/libraries/hslibrary/

 

Books

For more titles, please search the catalog:

http://sierra.memphis.edu/

Suggested databases

Bireme

http://bvsalud.org/

Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences information

The VHL Regional Portal is an integrated space of health information sources that promotes the democratization and expansion of access to scientific and technical information in health in Latin America and the Caribbean (LA&C). It is developed and operated by BIREME in three languages (English, Portuguese and Spanish).

Education Full Text

ttp://sierra.memphis.edu/search~S4?/yeducation/yeducation/1%2C3%2C3%2CB/eresource&FF=yeducation+

full+text&1%2C1%2C/indexsort=-

Indexes an international range of English-language periodicals and books in the field of education, including several not included in ERIC. Coverage: Indexing 1929- ; with abstracts, 1994- ; select full-text, 1996-.

Eric

https://eric.ed.gov/

Indexes an international range of English-language periodicals and books in the field of education, including several not included in ERIC. Coverage: Indexing 1929- ; with abstracts, 1994- ; select full-text, 1996-

 

 

SciVerse

http://catalogquicksearch.memphis.edu/iii/encore/record/C__Re1000001__Sscience%20direct__Lf%3Afacetmediatype%3A.e%3A

.e%3ADatabase%3A%3A__Ff%3Afacetmediatype%3A.e%3A.e%3ADatabase%3A%3A__Orightresult__X4?lang=eng&suite=cobalt

Electronic archive of the Elsevier publications in Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science, Earth Science, Energy, Engineering, Immunology & Microbiology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine & Dentistry, Neuroscience, Nursing, Pharmacology, Physics & Astronomy, and Veterinary Science. Also available: Arts & Humanities, Business, Economics, and Social Science. Coverage: varies--citations back to first year of publication; full text, subscribed titles, 1999-.
The UofM has access to the ScienceDirect Freedom Collection journals; a green key indicates full text availability. Also, selected sets of eBook titles.                                                              

Scopus

https://www.scopus.com/search/form.uri?display=basic

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in   the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and   visualize research.

 

Web of Science

http://apps.webofknowledge.com/WOS_GeneralSearch_input.do?product=WOS&search_mode=GeneralSearch&SID=1BLqRAZ8niRkAKCSoop&preferencesSaved=

With the Web of Science platform, you can access an unrivalled breadth of world-class research literature linked to a rigorously selected core of journals and uniquely discover new information through meticulously captured metadata and citation connections.

The Web of Science platform connects the Web of Science Core Collection to regional citation indexes, patent data, specialized subject indexes, and an index of research data sets, all in all totaling over 33,000 journals, meaning you have the breadth you need to be truly comprehensive in your search.

CINAHL Complete

General Science Full Text

 

And much more...http://www.memphis.edu/libraries/services/index.php#parentHorizontalTab3

Librarian

Irma Quinones's picture
Irma Quinones
Contact:
Health Sciences Library
Community Health Building, Room 2002
4055 North Park Loop
Memphis TN 38152
901-678-3829

Mission of the School

The School of Communication Sciences and Disorders strives to make fundamental contributions to the sciences of communication and its disorders and provides students with a foundation that promotes critical thinking and problem solving. At the master's and professional doctorate levels, emphasis rests on providing students a theoretical and scientific foundation with applied aspects of communication disorders that together prepare graduates for clinical service, leadership careers within the professions, and further graduate study. At the PhD level, the program emphasizes research and prepares students for post-doctoral study and/or academic positions within the discipline. The School is a resource to professionals and, in conjunction with the Memphis Speech and Hearing Center, provides high quality clinical services to the community. http://www.memphis.edu/csd/about/mission.php

Journals

 

A sample of  the University Libraries' Journal Titles

Acoustics Today

Acta Oto-laryngologica

Acta Otolaryngologica Supplemement

Acustica

AMA Archives of Otolaryngology

American Annals of the Deaf

American Journal of Audiology

American Journal of Otolaryngology

American Journal  of Otology

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology

Annals of Otology, Rhinology & Laringology

Aphasiology

Applied Psycholinguistics

Archives of Otolaryngology

Archives of Otolaryngology-Head &Neck Surgery

ASHA

ASHA: A Journal of the American Speech,Language, Hearing Association

Audiological Medicine

Audiologische Akustik Audiological Acoustics

Audiology: Official Organ of the International Society of London

Augmentative and Alternative Communication: AAC

Australian and New Zealand Journal of Audiology: Journal of the Audiological Society of Australia and New Zeland Audiological Society

Australian Journal of Audiology

Brain and Cognition

Brain and Language

British Journal of Audiology

British Journal of Disorders of Communication

Child Language Teaching and Therapy

Clinics in Communication Disorders

Communication Disorders quarterly​  

Contemporary Issues in Communication Science and Disorders

European Journal of Disorders of Communication the Journal of the College of Speech and Language Therapists, London

International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders

The Japanese Journal of Communication Disorders

Journal of Childhood Communication Disorders

Journal of Communication Disorders

Journal of Multilingual Communication Disorders

Journal of Rehabilitation Research and Development

The Journal of Speech and Language Pathology and Applied Behavior Analysis

Language and Speech

Perspectives on Administration and Supervision

Perspectives on Augmentative and Alternative Communication

Perspectives on Aural Rehabilitation and Its Instrumentation

Perspectives  on Communication Disorders and Sciences in Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Populations

Perspectives on Fluency and Fluency Disorders

Perspectives on Gerontology

Perspectives on Global Issues in Communication Sciences and Related Disorders

Perspectives on Hearing and Hearing Disorders in Childhood

Perspectives on Hearing and Hearing Disorders: Research And Diagnostics

Perspectives on Issues in Higher Education

Perspectives on Neurophysiology and Neurogenic Speech and Language Disorders

Perspective on Speech Science and Orofacial disorders

Perspectives on Swallowing and Swallowing Disorders (Dysphagia)

Perspectives on School- Based Issues

Perspective on Telepractice

Perspectives on Voice and Voice Disorders

The South African Journal of Communication Disorders

Library Staff

 
 
Rose Moore, Library Assistant III
rmmoore@memphis.edu
(901) 678-3193  
 
      

 

John Swearengen, Library Assistant III
jmswrngn@memphis.edu
(901) 678-3193