Research Guides: College of Health Sciences: Home

Welcome!

This guide is geared specifically towards programs in the College of Health Sciences. This page covers basic databases and resources that cover a variety of topics in the health sciences, as well as links to other valuable guides. Use the tabs on the left hand side of the guide to discover research tips, books & ebooks, videos, and information and resources for specific fields, including nutrition and dietetics, exercise and sport sciences, health promotion, and physical education.

Search the Online Catalog

Need a Book?

Search:
UofM University Libraries' Catalog: A listing of all the books available in the University Libraries

Try finding books on your subject using key words (such as "sport science " or "exercise"). When you find a relevant book, click on subject headings in the book record that are related to your topic. For more help with searching the catalog, click Catalog Help.

WorldCat: A listing of books available in over 9,000 libraries worldwide

You can find many more books on your research topic by searching for the same subject headings (or key words) in WorldCat. You can request books found in WorldCat through Interlibrary Loan, or visit other Memphis academic libraries and check the books out by presenting your U of M card. For more information, you can Ask a Librarian!

Major Databases for Research

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete covers nursing, allied health, biomedical and consumer health journals, publications of the American Nursing Association, and the National League for Nursing. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. Full text is included for nursing journals, newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.
To learn how to use CINAHL Complete, watch our video series.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals in astronomy, atmospheric science, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, earth science, environment, food & nutrition, genetics, health & medicine, mathematics, microbiology, oceanography, physicsGeneral Science Full Text
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides MEDLINE access, along with OLDMEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE (citations in-process), and citations outside the scope of MEDLINE provided by journal publishers. Interconnects with other NCBI databases and resources. Articles from many medical journals are free after a 6-12 month embargo. Linkouts to fulltext provided at publishers' discretion. Coverage: OLDMEDLINE, 1950- 1965; MEDLINE, 1966-.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of freely-available biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Browse or search. Coverage: varies by journal.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 530 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Subject areas covered include: biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology,coaching & education, and sports medicine. Full text coverage dates back to 1985. Access to full text is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 6,500 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality. Over 1.3 million clinicians in 187 countries and nearly 90% of major academic medical centers in the United States rely on UpToDate to provide the best care. More than 80 research studies confirm widespread usage of UpToDate and the association of its use with improved patient care and hospital performance — including reduced length of stay, fewer adverse complications, and lower mortality.

College of Health Sciences

Get help at the Health Sciences Library

Libraries' Representative

Welcome!

Search the Online Catalog

Need a Book?

Major Databases for Research